We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9008 Westbank Expressway, Westwego, LA 70094-3734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westwego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bayou Inn for 4 nights in March. Our stay at the Bayou Inn was perfect! The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Our room and the grounds were very clean. Mammie made a great breakfast for us everyday! Chris the General Manager gave us excellent directions/advice on getting into New Orleans. We loved our stay at Bayou Inn and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Melissa,

Thank you for your wonderful review! My team and I are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your New Orleans experience. It truly means a lot to me personally, and to my team when we receive such kind words from guests alike who enjoy their stays with us.

I know we can't be perfect every time to every guest, but it most certainly is our goal and if or when things go wrong we will always listen and do what we can to make sure that our guests are happy and satisfied. So thank you again Melissa for sharing your experience with our future fans, we really can't thank you enough

We look forward to seeing you soon, your room will be ready and Ms. Mammie will have your Breakfast on the Bayou waiting for when you and your family return:)

We'll see you soon,

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    63
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
66
49
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was awesome! The staff was friendly, helpful and overall super nice! The breakfast was excellent. The rooms are beautiful. The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes from downtown New Orleans which was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over St Patrick's weekend. There are too many pluses starting with the price, breakfast and free parking. Our room was clean, clean, clean! And quite comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful too, much better than most hotels.

Yes, it is a bit away from French Quarter, but even when you stay in the French Quarter you have to pay parking, and it can go up to $34. So, we did not see any harm driving to FQ and paying parking for the day. There are restaurants that validate your parking (like Muriel's), you just have to do your homework a bit. And on weekdays, if you are lucky (we lucked out) you can find free parking on the FQ streets. It is rare, but it happens.

Few not-so great points:
* Our room was 213, it is directly above the gas station adjacent to this hotel. So, if you want to go to sleep early (10-11 pm) it is not possible due to the blaring music coming from vehicles freqenting the gas station. Things got quiter around midnight though. So, ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. We did not mind it terribly, because it was only 2 nights.

* The hotel is supposed to be non-smoking. Well our room was smelling of smoke on both days. That was especially bothersome upon entrance, but after a while it was not soo bad. So, we concluded that an un-ruly guest before us must have smoked not obeying the rules. Again, no bg deak due to the above mentioned pluses.

* No elevators, so you have to take your luggage up the stairs. Somewhat narrow, and steep but still manageable.

We loved NOLA, and we would definitely stay in this hotel next time :) Thank you Bayou Inn!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room away from the gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Austin-

Thanks for your AMAZING comments! One thing I truly love about trip advisor reviews and creating new fans is great comments and traveler tips like you wrote. These are things that my team and I couldn't have said better, so thank you.

As you mentioned, we are next to a gas station and some rooms do back up to the actual pumps. This is an unfortunate struggle that I have been working with the gas station managers to try and reduce especially at night as it can disturb our guests.

I do apologize about room 213 not smelling fresh. Another struggle we face being 100% non smoking are guests who choose to not follow the rules. Each guest is charged $150 for a cleaning fee and we clean and deodorize the room to ensure the smell has been lifted. However it appears that in your case we missed the mark and I do sincerely apologize.

My team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip and stay with us Austin, I can assure you great and honest reviews like yours will continue to make my team work even harder to make your future stays even better. We hope to see you back soon!

Christopher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a night before a swamp tour.Good location, very clean with good size rooms,comfy beds,hotel and rooms smelled fantastic and nice desk staff.The only bad thing is the busy road and gas station outside the room was noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thumb Of Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We used this motel as a transition point between New Orleans and Biloxi. Not too far from airport and not too far from downtown N.O.. The price and availability sold us. We arrived late and Keith (sp?) was very courteous. Overall, motel slightly exceeded our expectations - would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was great!
The front desk clerk was so helpful with suggestions for dinner. The breakfast was delicious; everyone found something to hit the spot. Chris, the manager, gave us fantastic tips about how to get around the city for fat Tuesday. The next day, he made a point of checking to see how we fared.
The rooms were clean, the breakfast lady&maid both went out of their way to say hello, the artwork was just crazy enough for New Orleans and not overwhelming, the location was perfect. We had no hidden fees but were charged the full amount on the debit card before we arrived.
I will definitely return to Westwego.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn

Address: 9008 Westbank Expressway, Westwego, LA 70094-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Westwego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westwego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the all new BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn where our guests find a quiet alternative to the busy city hustle and bustle. Located on the Westbank of New Orleans in quaint Westwego, Louisiana, this newly renovated hotel is just within minutes of your New Orleans area destination.The BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn features 67 newly renovated spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with 32” flat screen Samsung Televisions, pillow top mattresses, upgraded bedding, microwave, refrigerator, premier cable television channels featuring HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Our guests get a great start to their day by enjoying their freshly prepared complimentary full hot “Breakfast on the Bayou” served each and every morning. Our sparkling outdoor salt water swimming pool is the perfect place to catch the southern sun or just to wind down and relax. To keep our guests feeling great and connected, our fitness studio and business center are available 24 hours a day. After a long day of shopping or meetings our guests enjoy our weekday Evening Lagniappe Huere, providing complimentary drinks, snacks and conversation, just enough to get your ready to take on tomorrow. Make it a point to join us for Margarita Monday and Wine & Cheese Wednesdays.Our guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn are less than nine miles from the many New Orleans area attractions including the Historic Vieux Carré (French Quarter), the Louisiana Children's Museum, Audubon Nature Institute featuring the Zoo, Butterfly Garden/Insectarium and Entergy IMAX Theater. Loyola University, Tulane, Xavier and LSU University campuses are just a short drive away. Enjoy the convenience of being the closest hotel to the TCP Golf Course of Louisiana, home of the Zurich Classic, and NOLA Motorsports Park, the south’s most talked about new attraction featuring the largest go kart track in the United States, both just 4 minutes from the hotel.Come stay on the bayou and experience the BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn. Our friendly team is awaiting your arrival and ready to provide you with the warmest hotel experience. You’ve tried the rest now try the Best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bayou Hotel Westwego
Best Western Westwego
Westwego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.