We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9008 Westbank Expressway, Westwego, LA 70094-3734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westwego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Byron, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and I just LOVE IT!! It's very clean, everyone on the staff were friendly, and the service is top of the line all the way round. I did not have any problems with check in/check out and the hot breakfast is to die for! I love the fact I'm in New Orleans and can enjoy the "wildness" of my city when I return home however the hotel is tucked away so nicely on the Westbank that I can relax for the next day of events.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Unlanders J,

WOW! My team and I would like to thank you for your amazing review! It's nice to know that our guests are seeing the hard work and changes that we've been making to provide our guests a better experience. If I could sum up into a paragraph of what we have been trying to do, i don't think i could say it any better than you. You nailed it on the head!

We don't want to be that French Quarter, wild and crazy hotel, instead we want to be the quiet, relaxing, affordable hotel with AMAZING service, clean and comfortable (newly renovated)rooms and a killer breakfast! All for a great value of course:)

So thanks again, my team and I eagerly look forward to your next visit, and to all of those who read your wonderful review!

Christopher Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    73
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
78
54
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while touring New Orleans. It is far enough away from the crazyness of the city, yet close enough to reach all attractions. The service was the best we've had on our long trip so far. Every staff member we met, or simply passed in the hall, were all so friendly and cheerful. A special mention about Jamisha at the front desk who went well out of her way to assist us, including making the arrangements for our bus tour of the city. Best Western Bayou, I hope you know that she's a gem. Thank you Jamisha! The hotel and room were nice. Not luxurious, just nice. Clean, but perhaps almost too sanitary as there was always a slight odour of cleaning products in the air, and a slight odour of bleach on the sheets. The breakfast was quite good by hotel standards, and the breakfast staff worked very hard.

Room Tip: See Jamisha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmonee, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Danewflies,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other prospective guests. My team and I understand the impact that your stay has on others and were delighted to read of your positive experience. We're still working diligently on the finishing touches of our renovation, with artwork of New Orleans coming next month!!! I can promise you that we are always looking to improve our guest experiences based on our valued guests feedback such as yours.

Thank you also for highlighting Jamisha, she is a wonderful asset to our team and It gives me great pride to know that she was able to make your stay in New Orleans a memorable one.

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for making us your New Orleans lodging choice, we look forward to seeing you next time!

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel cancelled our reservation the day before our arrival without any kind of reasonable explanation. When I called to speak with the manager, he informed me that the roof had been slightly damaged from a storm and they had to "roll over" the guests who were already there? Made no sense and we had to stay at a hotel 50 miles out of the city due to the late notice. Very inconvenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Ms. Tonya,

Thank you for expressing your concerns regarding this unfortunate instance. Unfortunately as our area experienced an act of god, Hurricane Issac, thousands of residents in our area were and are displaced, this combined with the repairs from the isolated damage we sustained were the reasons in which we were unable to accomodate your reservation. I sincerely apologized when we spoke on the phone, and I'm still with deepest regret that we were unable to accomodate your reservation.

I most certainly do not like it when I have to inform any guest that we're not able to provide them with a service, actually I'm not used to it and it's not who I am. At Best Western Bayou Inn we go out of our way to ensure that our guests expectations are met and exceeded, unfortunately when we don't have control over the situation we are put in, this becomes very very difficult.

Although I can't fix this situation, I will be in contact with you shortly to make it right perhaps in the future. On behalf of my team, we thank you for your comments and hopefully we'll be given the opportunity to prove to you that we truely are sorry.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very clean environment, great location easy access to all the hot attractions, hot breakfast was awesome, very friendly staff very welling to help & always had a very inviting smile!! We felt very comfortable just like a second home!! We will return!! Thanks for making our stay memorable!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This newly renovated motel was quite nice, especially for the price. The staff was incredibly friendly and very accommadating to our needs! It is just a short drive to downtown New Orleans and you will feel very safe staying at this location. The breakfast was excellent for a complimentary breakfast, as well! Hot grits, eggs, bacon, waffles, and pastries! Can't say enough about how nice and friendly the staff were.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Searnette,
Thank you so much for your positive review! We've been working extra hard to ensure that our guests feel, assured and optimistic that they made the right choice in the Best Western Bayou Inn.

Your continued loyalty to Best Western and Trip Advisor are very important to Team Bayou Inn, we thank you and hope to see you back soon!

Thanks for experiencing the rest, and settling on the BEST!

Christopher Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

On our way home from the Florida Panhandle, we planed to stay two nights in New Orleans and go around the French Quarter and shop for sea foods. The hotel location at first glance seemed less than perfect being on the West bank, ended up being just right for our purposes. It was close enough to drive to the where we wanted to go with a Seafood market close by - all without the tourist prices in the French quarter. If there is anything that would sell the hotel, it is the staff which were all smiles and extremely helpful in showing us all the good places to eat and shop. The only drawback was the time we arrived as it was in the middle of a constant downpour, forcing us to cut short our stay by a day as it seemed useless to walk around the Jackson square, the French Market or take the paddle boat tour on the Mississippi due to the heavy rains. Being caught mid morning in the French market parking lot, watching the waters slowly rising, we rushed back past noon to our hotel and decided to go home. The staff was great and allowed us to leave much later than check-out time without additional cost. Avoid New Orleans during the July months I suppose, and we drove back to Texas, braving the low visibility caused by the downpour along highway 49, Wearing sunglasses to help cut down glare during a downpour really does help. We would most likely use the hotel again if we are in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The hotel has only one floor and no real good views. Get a room that overlooks where you parked and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear ZepolL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. My team and I are working very hard to earn such quality reviews from guests just as yourself.

Although the rain tried to dampen your trip, I'm very happy to hear that my team was able to provide you with the help and details you needed to navigate your way through the city, that's what we're here for.

With many lodging choices existing today, my team are happy that you chose us to be your New Orleans area hotel, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Christopher Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

clean rooms. breakfast lady was great so was brea and eli. will return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you Michael G. for giving us a positive review! We've been working very hard on making your Best Western Bayou Inn a more positive experience with new rooms, a new lobby, new landscaping and an overall "guest first" approach. It's our goal to ensure that your assured, settled in and most importantly optimistic while you’re staying with us.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us, we'll see you back on the Bayou soon!

Christopher Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn

Address: 9008 Westbank Expressway, Westwego, LA 70094-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Westwego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westwego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the all new BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn where our guests find a quiet alternative to the busy city hustle and bustle. Located on the Westbank of New Orleans in quaint Westwego, Louisiana, this newly renovated hotel is just within minutes of your New Orleans area destination.The BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn features 67 newly renovated spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with 32” flat screen Samsung Televisions, pillow top mattresses, upgraded bedding, microwave, refrigerator, premier cable television channels featuring HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Our guests get a great start to their day by enjoying their freshly prepared complimentary full hot “Breakfast on the Bayou” served each and every morning. Our sparkling outdoor salt water swimming pool is the perfect place to catch the southern sun or just to wind down and relax. To keep our guests feeling great and connected, our fitness studio and business center are available 24 hours a day. After a long day of shopping or meetings our guests enjoy our weekday Evening Lagniappe Huere, providing complimentary drinks, snacks and conversation, just enough to get your ready to take on tomorrow. Make it a point to join us for Margarita Monday and Wine & Cheese Wednesdays.Our guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn are less than nine miles from the many New Orleans area attractions including the Historic Vieux Carré (French Quarter), the Louisiana Children's Museum, Audubon Nature Institute featuring the Zoo, Butterfly Garden/Insectarium and Entergy IMAX Theater. Loyola University, Tulane, Xavier and LSU University campuses are just a short drive away. Enjoy the convenience of being the closest hotel to the TCP Golf Course of Louisiana, home of the Zurich Classic, and NOLA Motorsports Park, the south’s most talked about new attraction featuring the largest go kart track in the United States, both just 4 minutes from the hotel.Come stay on the bayou and experience the BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn. Our friendly team is awaiting your arrival and ready to provide you with the warmest hotel experience. You’ve tried the rest now try the Best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bayou Hotel Westwego
Best Western Westwego
Westwego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.