We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome buffet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles to your Saves list
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Westlake Ave, Westlake, LA 70669   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westlake
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Very good food- lots of Louisiana and Southern cooking and other choices too. Best black-eyed peas, cabbage, and creme brûlée I've ever had. Casino is fun, staff friendly and helpful. An easy stop on I-10 and well worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Sethreaux, thank you for your awesome comments about The Buffet. Our Chef's take great pride in featuring regional and comfort food favorites at a great price. Our $5.99/$7.99/$11.99 Fan Club pricing has been wildly popular and we can't wait for CRAWFISH season to begin in March. Each Wednesday and Thursday dinner buffet during crawfish season, The Buffet offers all you can eat crawfish for $27.99 per person with your Fan Club card. On Friday and Saturday nights during crawfish season, we offer all you can eat crawfish and crab dinner buffet for $29.99 per person with your Fan Club card. Our goal is to make Isle of Capri your favorite place to Stay and Play and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    35
    29
    29
See reviews for
33
72
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the tower in an 8th floor room facing the lake in December. We came to watch the Cadillacs band. Wow! The room was so nice, updated, and clean. We went to Otis & Henry's twice that night to drink and eat. The bartender, Gorden, was so professional and friendly. He made us feel at home. Kudos to Gorden!

Can't say enough about the room. Had a big flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean and updated. Even though it was cold Sunday morning, I sat on the balcony and drank coffee.

The only suggestion would be to have more tables and chairs in the bar where the Cadillacs were playing.

Room Tip: Balcony facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
1234Brian, thank you for your recent visit. I will share your comments with Gordon and the Otis & Henry's team, they are always excited to hear guest feedback that highlights their hard work and dedication. We value your patronage at the Isle and hope you will always feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your visits to the Isle of Capri more enjoyable. Our goal is to make Isle of Capri your favorite place to Stay and Play and we look forward to your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I am mainly rating the hotel. We stayed not in the main building but in the one across the parking lot. The hotel staff is super friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and we had the most comfortable beds! It was very hard to get out of bed the next morning because we were so cozy. I would have given it 5 starts but for the fact that the shower seems to have been built for a small child. I am 5'6" and I had to stoop over to wash my hair. My fiance is almost 6 feet tall, and it was very uncomfortable for him.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and outstanding comments about your stay at the Inn at the Isle. We consider our staff the friendliest in town and it's great to know we provided you and your family with a memorable stay. Our goal is to make the Isle of Capri your favorite place to Stay and Play and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked a tower room for Mardi Gras Ball weekend. Rooms have been renovated recently and are very nice. Unfortunately that's where the good stuff ends. We were gambling in the casino and the dealer at the Roulette table was very rude to our whole party, the bartender would not comp our drinks even though we were gambling all weekend. The food at the buffet and Lucky Wins was terrible. The hotel/casino has so much potential but they do not cater to loyal customers. Will spend our money at other casinos in the future where they treat their customers much better.

Room Tip: Balcony Room in the Tower are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Please accept my apologies for your disappointing visit during Mardi Gras weekend. At the time, did you inform any of our management staff about your concerns? We always try to get immediate feedback from our guests in order to allow us to make amends for any of our shortcomings. We hope you have visited since you posted your comments and had a much better experience. We want all of our guests to have a clean, safe, friendly and fun experience each time they visit.

Paul E. Hutchens
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved the Isle,we stayed there often enjoyed the casino and some of the dining,but after getting booted frm our original room @ tower,to being rebooked@Inn takes the cake,which happen twice,we have decided to take our business elsewhere @Coushatta,which is better with rooms and comps.,and we notice a lot of our friends frm the Isle @ coushatta so it seems we r not the only ones who have left

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your visit. I regret that you experienced challenges with the location and availability of your guest room. Our goal is to make Isle of Capri your favorite place to Stay and Play, not just some time, but all of the time. I am sorry that we fell short of our goal and we will work hard to improve each element of the guest experience.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This past weekend was our second trip to Isle of Capri. The first was over 10 years ago. We stayed over night in the Tower. From check in to check out we had a great time. All of the staff we met were very friendly and all wished us good luck. The hotel room was larger than I was expecting and very clean. The bed and furniture was comfortable.
Had fun in the Casino. We play quarter slots which kept us occupied for hours. There were more nickel and penny slots. I wish there were more quarter slots to choose from.
We were going to eat at the buffet but since it was Friday night seafood was served and the price was at $25.00 per person. We chose to have a club sandwich from upsatairs. The sandwich was enough for two and reasonably prices. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will go again soon.

Room Tip: Get a room farther from the elevator to help eliminate foot traffic. Also the room is less expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your visit this week and your fantastic comments about fabulous hotel rooms and amazing staff. The Buffet does offer a $5.99 breakfast $7.99 lunch and $11.99 dinner buffet during the week just make sure you have your Fan Club card with you. Our seafood buffet on Friday and Saturday nights is $25.99 and offers a wide variety of fresh local seafood and regional specialties.We work hard to ensure that Isle of Capri your favorite place to Stay and Play, we hope to see you back at the Isle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was my first experience at Isle of Capri. The hotel is extremely nice; clean and spacious. My only complaints about the hotel are the pillows, flat and useless like most hotel pillows and I woke up to kids yelling in the hall. There were quite a few children at the hotel considering there is absolutely nothing for them to do. So I cannot figure out why people bring children in the first place.

The casino is kind of low-end and leaves something to be desired. The majority of it is slot machines with only a few tables on 2 of the 3 levels. Although, I must say, the staff was extremely friendly.

We had dinner at the bar and grill. The food was pretty good, service was alright. About 1/4 of the way into our meal the server asked if we wanted desert, but didn't ask once we were done eating. Then she brought the check without asking if we wanted anything else. We wanted another cocktail. The couple at the table next to us both had bent utensils.

We had breakfast at the buffet which was pretty awful. The food was the same stuff hotels usually serve as continental - canned or pre-made and artificial - except in this case they charged for it.

I like to end on a positive so here are a couple: 1. The valet service was quick, 2. We loved our room. We had an amazing view of the lake the room could only be nicer if there was a fridge (you have to pay extra to get one). Also, the room rate was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your visit. We want to make sure that we consistently provide a clean, safe, friendly, and fun experience each time that you visit. Your comments will be reviewed by each department and used as a training tool to improve future guest experiences. I am sorry that you did not have an outstanding stay and hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles

Address: 100 Westlake Ave, Westlake, LA 70669
Location: United States > Louisiana > Westlake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles is your friendly Westlake gaming destination. We offer more than 1,000 slot machines and 40 table games including roulette, craps, blackjack, and poker. Extend your stay as a guest in our hotel. We feature two hotel towers providing upscale and comfortable accommodations. The action includes exciting promotions, delicious dining options, and headliner performances. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Capri Westlake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.