We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Thomas Road, West Monroe, LA 71291-7937 (Formerly Shoney's Inn Of West Monroe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in West Monroe
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good location in West Monroe. Near to a ton of restaurants!

Even though it is a motel and right off the highway, there werent many truckers that stayed the night. I've stayed at a motel in Rayville and there were so many truckers it didn't feel very safe at night, but this motel was much better.

The room had an odd smell when I walked in. Other than that everything was fine. Everything was clean and there weren't any bugs.

The staff was also very kind and allowed us a late check-out!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Emily B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely value your comments and please to know that everything was to your expectation. We appreciate your time and business. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Dana P.
Manager
310 Thomas Road
West Monroe, LA 71291
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
3
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very Convenient Location Right Off The Interstate With A Great Variety Of Eating And Shopping Locations. Room Was A Little Small But Very Clean And Comfortable. Rooms Smelled Clean. Beds Were Neatly Made And Comfortable. Staff Was Very Helpful And Nice. ForTheValue Its A Nice Place To Stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Esrs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms and staff. It is always nice to know we have surpass a guest expectations. We do hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dana P.
Manager
310 Thomas Rd.
West Monroe, LA 71291
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room was clean though a little on the small side. We had 2 adults and 2 kids so it was a bit tight. The employees were very nice. Great pool! Overall this motel was a good value. If we ever need to go back to Monroe again we would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Christina B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We love to hear when our guests enjoy all that we have to offer here and we do hope that you can return and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Dana P
Manger
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I noticed a lot of reviews speaking about how great the staff is at America's Best Value Inn. Unfortunately, due to the time we arrived and left, we really didn't have much interaction with staff. Had we had more time to experience their hospitality, I may have rated this 4 Star (Very Good).

We arrived around 6:30 - 7 p.m. My boyfriend went into to check-in, and told them Zach (Last Name) had arrived. He then came out to the car, and said "Are you sure we are at the right place? They don't have a reservation for us." I quickly pulled up the reservation confirmation code, gave it to my boyfriend and he went back in. A minute later he came out, and we were good to go. He said it was under, "Zachary (Last Name)". LOL. Really????

The room seemed clean. Nice little microfridge. The rooms are indeed small, but do the trick. We were right across from the pool, which wasn't very crowded at night. The showers are very small, and if you are taller than 5'7", you will have to squat a little to rinse your hair and face.

I sent my boyfriend and son to breakfast, so I didn't get to see all they had. But, he did come back and say that they had ran out of milk. But, most of their selection was cereal, so running out of milk at prime breakfast time is a little silly.

It was quiet. Didn't hear any rif-raff or noisy guests. HBO. The location is great. Especially if you have come to visit Duck Dynasty. Literally like .4 miles away. One quick turn. Central to store and restaraunts.

All and all, not bad for the price. If you not staying long and don't need a ton of room, it will do the trick!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear jasulli113,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize on the confusion we had about your reservation but glad to know it was all sorted out. Our modest size rooms do offer microwaves and refridgerators along with a complimentary breakfast and free wi-fi. We are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay. We do look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to West Monroe.

Sincerely,
Dana P.
Manager
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days in June with our two grandchildren. We weren't looking for anything fancy; just a clean, comfortable place to stay. That's exactly what we got. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool was clean and my grand kids had a great time. But the best was the staff. Very friendly. A big thank you especially to Dana (Patel). She does her job well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Nancy P,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel. I appreciate your very kind comments about our hotel and staff. It is always good to know we have surpassed our guests expectation. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dana P.
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in June.
Economically it's great, but there are certainly no bells and whistles.
The pool was great, and the location good with easy walk to various eating places nearby.
The cleaning staff were all pleasant, and did their job effectively.
Personally I wouldn't stay here again, simply because 8 nights is a long time to be in a small confined space, and I didn't feel really comfortable there from a cleanliness aspect.
Whilst our room was no-smoking it had a smoke smell that a room freshener couldn't hide.
Towels were poor quality and I personally don't like bedspreads in hotel rooms from a cleanliness aspect.
But based on the price we spent, we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Leanne-Michael-LB,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and cleaning staff. We are indeed conveniently located off Interstate 20 surrounded by numerous restaurants. I am truly sorry our towels and bedspread was unsatisfactory. I will take your concerns about them to our head housekeeper and know that it is always our goal to provide the best for our guests. Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,

Dana P.
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Since I was traveling alone, I decided to see how a value hotel measured up against a more standard economy hotel, like a Hampton Inn. The place was clean, the bed was comfortable, the A/C worked, but in most other regards, it was somewhat lacking. The key didn't work, the manager let me in and said the front desk clerk would bring another. But after 10 minutes, no key. I went to the front desk where the clerk stated he had decided not to bring me a key? The shower head was less than 5 ft so you had to bend down to take a shower. The breakfast was lacking, not straightened up but the same clerk seemed oblivious. The property was older, I expected that. All in all, it was less money but also less hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Mark7374,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found our hotel clean and comfortable. I am sorry there was a misundertanding in regards to the key incident, frontdesk should have given you a new one. We do apologize if the breakfast was "lacking" on that particular day. We do offer guests 3 different types of cereal, 2 different types of break (along with jelly and butter), juices, and coffee. At Americas Best Value Inn, we strive to provide every customer with excellent service, therefore your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future as you travel.

Sincerely,

Dana P.
Manager
318-325-5780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 310 Thomas Road, West Monroe, LA 71291-7937 (Formerly Shoney's Inn Of West Monroe)
Location: United States > Louisiana > West Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in West Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoneys Inn West Monroe
West Monroe Shoney Inn
Shoney Inn West Monroe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.