We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Downs Hotel & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delta Downs Hotel & Casino
Save
You added Delta Downs Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
2717 Highway 3063, Vinton, LA 70668   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vinton
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pretty decent hotel to spend the night. A distance from the casino floor which is so smoky. Then have dinner at the vista restaurant. Excellent food and wonderful staff. The bread is soooo good and salad so tasty

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited Delta Downs for the first time this month. The hotel and casino were clean, staff was friendly, and it seemed to be a good value for what we paid.

Everything was very, very clean-rooms, casino, restaurants, public restrooms, etc. This is a smoking casino, I don't smoke and I have to admit that while I smelled smoke at times, the smoke wasn't a problem. This place is very well maintained. I was pleased with our room-a/c worked well, the bathroom was very modern, pretty and functional, and the bed was super comfortable!

Families with children may want to plan things for the kids-the hotel has a swimming pool and a "kidsino" game room for kids, but those only last so long.

If I had any complaint it would be that I was a bit disappointed in the pool (we had a child with us needing to be entertained), the website's pictures seemed to make it look larger, maybe a hot tub had been removed? Seemed pool was a little discolored or run down, it was clean though.

The casino has only slots (which was perfect for me) and they have a wide variety of machines -$1, .50, .25, .10, .5 and .01 We went during the week, and there were plenty of staff around for anything you need, and plenty of machines to choose from, I'm not sure how crowded it is during the weekend.

This was a bright, fun atmosphere, and like I said a good value for your dollar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearne, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent this weekend in Vinton, La at Delta Downs.. Had a great time gaming, great food and an excellent room. Nice bed and great shower..Even has plenty of tv channels if everyone does not game.. I would recommend this place to anyone..especially if you like to game....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife is a B-Connected member and got a complimentary night at the casino hotel. The hotel is nice, the rooms are clean and modern. However, we have always been real big about costumer service. What good is it to have a nice hotel, if the staff is going to be rude and treat you like crap. We checked in on Friday at around 5:30pm, we walked up to the reception and she just stared at us with a "what do you want" face. We did all the talking, she made minimum eye contact with us, did not even try greet us or interact with us in any way. She behaved very rude and didnt even say thank you when we finished putting up with her attitude. I thought she was just having a bad day, so my wife and I let it go. However, when we checked out the following morning, the other lady at the reception wasn't much better. She barely talked to us, didnt even asked how the night was or anything, didnt even say bye or thanks when we left. Dont think we will be returning anytime soon, even if its free!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Delta Downs Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out and share your concerns from your last visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed the property and amenities however it saddens us to hear your bad experience with our Hotel Front Desk Team Members. That behavior is not in line with our Boyd Gaming Customer Service standards. Your comments have been sent to the appropriate management personnel to be addressed. We do hope you visit Delta Downs again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is attached to casino and race track. It is located just a few miles west of I-10.
The rooms a spacious and clean. Large modern bathroom with large showers.
Buffet is pretty typical and food court and bakery makes it do you don't need to leave property to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We love staying here. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The staff is always very courteous and nice. They need to build another hotel though. The place is very popular and sometimes its hard to book a room. People are always winning in the casino, including myself. The payouts are great and lots of fun. The casino has such an awesome variety of slots. We always have a blast. Also, the waitstaff in the casino is very attentive and quick. It never takes long to get a drink. We usually eat at Vista Grill. The waitstaff is very friendly, the food is good, and it overlooks a portion of the horsetrack. This place is a blast. Id love to see them add on to this place and make it bigger! Because everytime I'm there, there are tons of people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night after landing from the UK into Houston. Still the same as our last visit a few years back. Good clean rooms with nice bathrooms. Nothing at all to complain about. Ate in the Lookout for dinner and had a good meal there while watching the racing.
Would recomend this hotel for a stopover or just to enjoy the racing and casino. Not alot else to do in the area though so I would not plan a long stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the race track are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Downs Hotel & Casino

Address: 2717 Highway 3063, Vinton, LA 70668
Location: United States > Louisiana > Vinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vinton
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Delta Downs Hotel Vinton
Delta Downs Hotel And Casino
Vinton Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Downs Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.