We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B Gem in central Thibodaux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dansereau House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dansereau House to your Saves list
The Dansereau House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   506 Saint Philip Street, Thibodaux, LA 70303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 2 Thibodaux B&B and Inns
Bensheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A B&B Gem in central Thibodaux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

For the last night of a recent visit to the region, we stayed in Thibodaux due to its proximity (an hour drive) to the New Orleans airport. In contrast to the rest of the central city, this "house" stands out as an architectural period piece restored to its former eloquence. But the outside of the house is only the beginning. The gracious hosts, Paul and Lori, have restored every aspect of interior old-world charm, and make you feel right at home. We were so impressed with the attention to every detail, to include an outstanding breakfast the next morning, that we were tempted to cancel our flight just to extend our stay. So if you are looking for a quality B&B an hour from the New Orleans airport, but a world away in experience, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

What an elegant, beautiful, historic mansion The Dansereau House is! The furnishings and decor are beautifully done in keeping with the historic period of the home. Our room was luxurious! Paul and Lori, the B&B managers, were so welcoming, making us feel right at home the moment we arrived and throughout our 4 day stay, Their breakfasts were delicious! Convenient to New Orleans, Historic Plantations, Swamp Tours and so much more, I will definitely recommend The Dansereau House as a must do for anyone traveling to Southern Louisiana.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Don't miss this gorgeous mansion about a half hour from the river plantations. Unusually beautiful furnishings and decor; owners Lori and Paul are perfect hosts PLUS great cooks (!); we felt like kings and queens in that huge, comfy bed; couldn't begin to eat all of the delicious breakfast....YUMMMM! Walked to dinner from the quiet side street location. Sorry we missed the light show at Christmas...saw the video, it's amazing. If you're there Thursday "The Drinkery" is currently open to the public, serving drinks and apps.....loved it! This is a special place NOT TO MISS! Thank you, Lori and Paul.

Room Tip: All of them are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We recently went to visit our daughter, who is in her third year at Nicholls State. We've visited Thibodaux a handful of times over the years and stayed in various places, but The Dansereau House caught our eye last summer and because we love historical homes, we knew we wanted to stay here.

What a great decision that turned out to be! The house is amazing, but it takes more than an amazing house to make an amazing B&B experience. Staying at the Dansereau House is a real blend of history and luxury that you rarely find. Antique furnishings and period decor co-mingle with modern marble bathrooms, comfortable beds, and turn-down service complete water and chocolates at night. There are even flat screen TVs in the rooms, but they are discreetly hidden behind tapestries. Available, but not obnoxious. Oh--and wireless internet through the house as well. :)

The parlor and porches are comfortable for sitting and visiting or reading. The breakfasts were incredible. Paul and Lori hold it all together and make it feel like home. We left there feeling like we'd stayed a weekend with friends instead of at a hotel. We will definitely be going back as well as recommending it to anyone we know headed to South Louisiana.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

An amazing experience! Very south Louisiana. An amazing experience. The inn keepers are very detailed and accommodating. I loved the homey feel and the breakfast was great. Best place to stay in thibadaux!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently returned from a belated 60th birthday trip with my sister and best friend. We spent three nights in New Orleans and then spent two nights @ Plantations: Oak Alley and Nottoway. The thought of a night in a chain hotel was not appealing. We called another plantation, Madewood, which did not have accomodations. But received a referral for the Dansereau House. What a treat. The breakfast was wonderful. The accomodations were lovely and the towels were plush. Our dinner at a local restaurant, Fremins, was my favorite meal of the trip. It was nice to get away from the tourists and spend time in a very welcoming community. Lori and Peter, our innkeepers could not have been more helpful and pleasant. It would have been tempting to stay another night and explore but, alas, I had to return home.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had wonderful natural light and accomodated a roll-away bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Dansereau House is perfectly located and the spring board into the MAJESTIC PLANTATION REGION. It's located about 25 minutes from Oak Alley and The Laura.
The Dansereua House....more like a MANSION is PRISTINE and absolutely beautiful! This B&B is in a very quiet location, easy to find, safe and within walking distance from some real southern cooking.
Lori and Paul were the EPITOME of SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY! They were wonderfully accomodating in helping us with directions, interesting sites and made us a beautifully orchestrated breakfast. This breakfast looked as if it came directly out of "Top Chef". It was unreal, fresh fruit, pancakes,quich, delicious, beautiful and yummy.The bedroom was perfect, and the bathroom had pleny of hot water and was stocked with extra nice soaps and shampoos. The ice water and chocolates in our room added a special touch. We loved the wrap around balcony and was impressed that they had a elevator.
This was our first visit to Louisiana and we wanted to experience the south. The DANSEREAU House has it all... great location, awesome hospitality, immaculate, grace, beauty and a yummy breakfast.
Ask Paul for directions to the Laurel Valley Rd, can't miss these great sites, and be sure to visit the grocery store, they are really nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dansereau House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dansereau House

Address: 506 Saint Philip Street, Thibodaux, LA 70303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thibodaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dansereau House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recapture the past in the historic Dansereau House, located in the lush beauty of Southern Louisiana. Built in 1847, the house retains its historic architectural majesty, while being lovingly restored and equipped with the amenities of today.Relax on the veranda or your balcony and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. Or, stay inside and curl up in one of our many quiet corners with refreshments and a good book. Located in downtown Thibodaux, unique shopping and fine dining are all within walking distance. Remember forever those special moments in your life held here in the Dansereau House. Whether in the sparkling beauty of the mansion, or in the lovely garden, your occasion will always be memorable. Weddings, receptions, parties, and meeting all become more festive in our beautiful house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dansereau House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dansereau House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.