We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartender slow as molasses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's II Po-Boys & Seafood

Bubba's II Po-Boys & Seafood
764 Bayou Rd, Thibodaux, LA 70301
(985) 449-0308
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 61 Restaurants in Thibodaux
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Bartender slow as molasses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is two reviews in one. We arrived early for a wedding rehearsal dinner so had a couple of drinks in the bar. The bartender was really slow, paying off gambling winnings and checking out regulars before me. I waited 20 minutes at the bar trying to pay and order a second drink. It was not a busy bar.
The rehearsal dinner was very good as was the service. Food was typical Cajun cuisine but the 50 in our party all seemed happy. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
home
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Crawfish Etoffe was to kill for here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Crawfish Etoffe was to kill for here!!! Excellent Shrimp Poor Boy and nice big Fried Chicken Salad!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Best gumbo in Thibodaux!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

...though their crab & corn bisque, when they have it, is also awesome. A great spot with a nice view of the bayou. Stuff yourself with a 1/2 & 1/2 platter and be happy for days. Really reasonable prices and just a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crawfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had some boiled crawfish 2 weeks ago and they were done great. prompt service. people mostly there were enjoying boiled but they do have good ettouffe also and fried seafood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best choice for a grease fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We all have those moments where we are dying for fried seafood. Well, if you're from South Louisiana you do.

I was home visiting my brother so Bubba's II was my request for dinner.

There is no table service. You order at the counter and then get your tray when your name is called. Take time to review the extensive menu posted on the wall where you line up.

My husband had softshell crabs. Tasty, but small. Pity because I know they are running big now.

I had fried catfish - thin and crispy - and fries. It was delicious. Perhaps I should have gotten the regular to get more of the fish and less of the coating, but it was delicious all the same. The fries are worth the calories at Bubba's II. If yours are not piping hot and crispy, take them back up and ask for fresh ones. That's never happened to me, but I would do that because I know how tasty they are.

This is a great way to spend an ubercasual evening enjoying typical seafood from the area. Great for kids, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's II Po-Boys & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Bubba's II Po-Boys & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's II Po-Boys & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.