We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nature between Baton Rouge and New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickfaw State Park

Tickfaw State Park
27225 Patterson Road, Springfield, LA 70462
(225) 294-5020
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nature between Baton Rouge and New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

a nice indoor exhibit explaining the natural habitat. Nothing too tremendous, but enough to occupy ones time. It does cost a dollar or two to enter Tickfaw State Park, but it's okay because you're helping support the park :)

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Tent Camping Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We decided on Tickfaw State Park for our first tent camping experience with kids (age 8 and 4). We were not disappointed! Check in was quick and simple. Our campsite #49, was perfect - close to comfort station for bathroom breaks and showers at night. The site was clear of tall grass, but shaded by a few large trees. The tent pad was sand and clear of sticks/rocks. We set up camp in about 30 min and left to explore.
The park is full of paved roads and nature trails easily accessible by foot/bike. The park rangers were constantly slowing cars down on the roadways. Which is good if you have kids on bikes a few feet in front of you. It was rainy all day, so we didn't try the canoes. We will when we return.
After a day of exploring, we returned to the campsite for grilled burgers (cooked on the on-site charcoal grill and eaten on the picnic table also there). We then took the kids to the water park a short walk away. At 7 pm, it was completely empty. Our kids had a blast.
This park was a great place for our first attempt at camping. We can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My hubby and I couldn't resist this convenient location (only 30 miles from home), and it turned out to be a wonderfully relaxing mini-vacation. We had a great time at Tickfaw State Park. We stayed in the tent area, and we had lots of space and shade. We also spent about 2 hours canoeing and loads of time fishing. We certainly plan to visit again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good fun with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The park has nice camping facilities for both RV and tents. The bath house was very clean. There is also a nice boardwalk area and an educational museum. For those that are more interested in a wet adventure, there is a small spash park for kids.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The park is very quiet and serene. THey have a nature trail, waterpark ( which the kids love) Cabins, a lake. it is just a very relaxing place to be

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tickfaw State Park also viewed

Been to Tickfaw State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickfaw State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.