We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedras Blancas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bellavista
Save
You added Finca Bellavista to your Saves list
#1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All-inclusive packages!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Epic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The word can be overused, but if there is ever a fitting time, it is when referring to this place. So beautiful, so peaceful, and so unique...and soooo EPIC! Plus if you have the chance to get to meet and chat with Erica and Mateo, you will also feel good about supporting them and what their innovation and courage has created. Feel so fortunate to have experienced this. If you go to Costa Rica and want to do something that not every single tourist does when they go to Costa Rica, than go to Finca Bellavista.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
73
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I decided to travel to Finca for our honeymoon. We stayed in Castillo Mastate, and we were in love with the place the second we "checked in". Everyone was so nice, and the entire property is absolutely gorgeous. The hike from basecamp was a bit longer than I had prepared for, but it was worth the beautiful treehouse and the experience, and honestly by the end of our stay we were used to it. Cocktail hour is a must, and the food was amazing. We even opted for a sack lunch one day so that we could take an extra long hike, and that was far from the sandwich and chips I expected. We had a gourmet, completely natural meal that was more than filling! The zip lining was a blast, and the crew is so sweet and fun. The idea of a place like this is incredible, and I am so thankful Matt and Erica turned their dream into a reality. My husband and I can't wait to go back, and hopefully we will have our very own treehouse someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincabellavista, Owner at Finca Bellavista, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thanks for choosing FBV as your honeymoon location (: So glad you all enjoyed it and we hope you all can make it back sometime in the not-too-distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a great place to enjoy the beauty of the nature, to relax and to eat healthy food makes with fruits and vegetable growing on the farm. The view is stunning and the staff very friendly. Gardens are extremely well maintained. The overall property is just beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We enjoyed an amazing day last weekend at their 4th annual open house tour. Wow! This place is a phenomenal well managed unique magical place. A Costa Rica must do if you value the jungle and all it's glory. They rent the tree houses out for the experience. I NEED to go back to spend a couple nights and take in a guided night hike.
It is so primitive yet so professional. The community development, the restaurant, the food gardens; all of it so well done. The brunch was first class. I was on an adrenalin rush the whole time I was there as it was so amazing, creative, unique and innovative.
Their website is excellent and it is all they say it is in the web site. www.fincabellavista.com

Room Tip: Study the options that are well laid out in the website. They are all unique. My favorite was defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincabellavista, Owner at Finca Bellavista, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are glad you all made it up for the tour! Come back and visit sometime, we always love have our neighbors stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is hard to imagine what it will be like, to live in a treehouse. No matter how much I read, or how many questions we asked, nothing prepared us for finally seeing this piece of paradise.

Casa Mariposa has tons of space so there was room for all of our belongings. We spent most of our time on the huge deck, where we saw cool wildlife like armadillos. It is especially romantic in the evenings.
We enjoyed Rob's great meals, but we prepared most of our own meals so that we could spend maximum time in our treehouse. The night tour with Chico was worthwhile - from searching for river shrimp, to having him show us kinkajous high in the trees above us.
These are not like the treehouses you explored when you were a kid.

Room Tip: Casa Mariposa has lots of room to spread out. It's close enough to the river to hear it, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The beautifully hand crafted tree houses located in a pristine rain forest give's you a sense of being totally alone with nature.
We stayed a short 2 days and were able to explore some of the well marked trails, relax with a good book, enjoyed Erica and Matt's company at happy hour and had some inspiring meals provided by Rob. All of the Costa Rican workers were very helpful and always courteous. All in all, it was a great getaway and something we will always remember.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new cabin at base camp. Close to everything yet very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincabellavista, Owner at Finca Bellavista, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Howdy neighbors!

We are so glad that you all got to take some days off to come experience our slice of paradise. Our door is always open to you two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent eight nights at the Finca in Casa Peresoza. Because we ate all of our meals at the Community Center, I'm glad we chose Peresoza as the hike to some of the other treehouses is much further from base camp. Speaking of the meals, I found them to be outstanding. Rob makes it difficult not to go back for seconds. And in his absence, Yari and Yesi did equally as well. We also had the opportunity to cook a lunch with the women and that was a lot of fun.

Because we were there just over a week, we had the opportunity to really explore the Finca and get to know the people. Because we were there during the rainy season, most of our activities were done after breakfast and before the afternoon rain set in. It took three tries, but I finally got in the river hike thanks to support from Austin, one of the volunteers.

Prior to our time in the kitchen, we got to tour the nursery with Felo, the gardner/landscaper. He and his fellow workers have done a tremendous job with the gardens and he was a fine host as we harvested for future meals. I also got in the night hike after a couple of failed attempts due to unpredictable weather, but it was worth the wait. Chico was an excellent guide. He really seemed to be in tune with the jungle and he knows the many varieties of species that live there. We also toured the SkyTrails or ziplines. David and Esvett made us feel safe on the lines and we had a great time.

There's a lot to do and see at the Finca if you have a sense of adventure and a love for the outdoors. I can say it's definitely not for everyone, and if you are considering visiting be sure and spend a good bit of time on their website familiarizing yourself with the ins and outs, what to bring, and what to expect. I felt it prepared us well.

Ultimately though, I felt as though the volunteers and the employees really complete the Finca experience. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to meet Matt and Erica, but the other Matt, Kelly, Rob, Austin, Christian, Alicia, and the aforementioned others really went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and felt at home. I appreciate all of their efforts because it made my time at the Finca well spent and memorable. And let's not forget Kimbo...who doesn't exactly go out of his way for you, but he definitely adds character to the Finca.

A tremendous amount of work and love has gone into the Finca in a short time. And as I said, even though I didn't have the opportunity to meet Matt and Erica, I certainly admire and respect your vision, dedication, and determination in creating what you have. Well done and thanks for allowing us the opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bellavista

Address: #1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Piedras Blancas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Piedras Blancas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bellavista is a treehouse community in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica! We are a rustic, yet comfortable, private retreat off the beaten path where owners and guests can explore the natural wonders of the rainforest canopy and enjoy what we like to call ‘treetop Pura Vida’. You definitely won’t find flashy billboards or roadside signs that lead you to Finca Bellavista… Finca Bellavista is not a full-service spa, a fancy hotel, or a canopy tour. We are located in an amazing and relatively untouched portion of Costa Rica that is removed from many of the influences of the outside world. The nearest town (1.5 miles away) contains a school, a church, a pulperia, a bus stop, a handful of houses, and of course, a soccer field. That’s it. No souvenir shops, no mini-malls, and no rowdy bars. Finca Bellavista is for the true traveller who wants to experience something truly different and special. We have acres of forest and gardens to explore, refreshing rivers, birdwatching, a botanical trail, and much more. We look forward to hosting you in our home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bellavista Hotel Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.