We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedras Blancas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bellavista
Save Saved
You added Finca Bellavista to your Saves list
#1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Trip Advisor Discount!
Niedersachsen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found the paradise on earth! Very nice staff, very helpful. We stayed at the perezosa, the nearest cabin to the community, ca 1,5 km away. There is a fridge, free coffee, sugar and creamer and drinking water. Try defenetily the zip lining!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What an EXPERIENCE! 7 close friends embarked on a CR Adventure for 10 days!

We landed in CR on a Wed staying at Studio Hotel http://www.costaricastudiohotel.com which was a wonderful way to start the vacation. We then headed to Sansa Airlines on Thursday and flew to Golfito and stayed over night at Mar Y Luna http://www.hotelmarylunaandsuites.com. FREAKING AWESOME! Daniel and his brother Andres plus the rest of the staff showed us such a fun time. It's a simple hotel with everything you need. And it's only about a 30-45 minute drive to Finca.

There are a few ways to get from San Jose to Finca. Of course you can rent a car. 5 hour drive (ish) I highly recommend using Vacationcity.com Jose Obando to help you with all the rental car needs. It's much easier then searching each rental car and CR are sticklers about rental cars. Jose made the process so much easier after the frustration of trying to do it myself. Our group flew from San Jose to Golfito and had the car delivered for an additional fee. We were told to experience flying in and it was really cool and an experience. You can take the bus as mentioned on Finca's website. I do NOT recommend Solid Car Rental in Golfito they seemed very shady and were not honest about a few things that we listed on the website. If you get a rental car it MUST be a 4 wheel drive.

On Friday all 7 of us arrived at Finca and it's truly not what you think. It's really deep in the jungle on a crazy 4 wheel only road and wild! Highly recommend reading all the ins and outs Finca offers you. The bugs truly are not that bad. I did not use bug spray the entire time. When they mention you must be in good physical shape they are not lying. Depending on where you stay it's a hard hike to and from base camp. Legs, butt, abs, back all burn! You will need rain boots They do have some but if they don't have your size you are out of luck and it's so important with the rain (which does not last very long and happens later in the day) but also to protect your ankles and legs from spiders & snakes that could be on the paths. Bring socks to help with the rubbing from the rain boots. I wore my pair on the plane instead of packing them and then once I was done with them at Finca I donated them for the next guest. We pack backpacks and it was still not easy carrying all your stuff to your destination tree house. Keep in mind everything stays damp the humidity is crazy. So bring extra stuff. Highly recommended to attended Happy Hour, drinks do cost I think $4.00 per drink but well worth it.Oh you also can not flush toilet paper it goes into the trash cans located in the bathroom. I recommend soft wet wipes :)

We ate at Base Camp every time and it's worth it. It's fun eating with the Volunteers, sharing story's and enjoying fresh food. The food is so good and fresh and reasonably priced! Get a Finca bag $25.00 it's worth having it at your tree house. One day for lunch ask for a bagged lunch and have Rob make you homemade chips and tuna... OMG!

Read a book and enjoy the deck area too! If your lucky it will rain while you are there on the deck. It sounds wonderful, it's beautiful to watch it come in and then pass over.

The Zip line is a must $50.00 per person but it's amazing. You see leaf cutter ants, toucans and who knows how lucky you will get with wild life.

We did the night hike and it's really hit or miss but still worth the $30.00 per person. The spiders and snakes we saw... OMG and yes they are right on the path you walk on.

The river walk was amazing, beautiful and refreshing! Starting at trail 13 by El Castillo Mastate it's easier to start there then it is to try and find the trail from the water. When you enter the water from trail 13 go right first so you can cliff dive then head back up river all the way to Mis Ojos and the green trail. It does take a while, wear sun screen!

We had 3 different tree houses rented in our group. El Castillo, Mis Ojos and Casa Del Sol (which is at base camp). El Castillo Mastate is crazy, crazy deep in the jungle where the Macaws wake you every morning. It is all screened in except the shower. it has 2 bathrooms one with the shower at the main cabin with a futon bed and the kitchen. Then you cross the bridge to the tree house with 2 great places to hang and watch jungle life. This room has a bed, toilet & sink and it's all beautiful with electricity. Hint: to get hot water turn the switch on by the light switch in the cabin and after you see the flame in the shower be ready to get under.. repeat, repeat it does not stay hot the entire time only when the flame goes on. But it's so hot that a cold shower is nice. 4 people stayed here and it worked.

Mis Ojos is right on the river. You hear the water fall 24 hours it's not screened in which means everything is welcome to enter. You have a roof over your head but the front is open with beautiful views. It's much easier to get to El Castillo Mastate and trail 13 from Mis Ojos too and much more beautiful hike on the green trail. This is a great location with stunning views, the sound of the water and the zip line ends at this tree house along with the river walk.

The 3rd tree house we had was Casa Del Sol right at base camp and it was super nice all enclosed with screens more of a cabin. The shower is outside though.

Finca is a must stay but keep in mind of your health and physical condition. It's worth staying in the tree houses that are far away from base camp meaning 20 minute hikes to and from base camp. If you want to experience but are not wanting to make the trek stay at one of the cabins closer to base camp and then venture out when you want.

We stayed 3 days and then headed to http://www.vrbo.com/75442 Casa de Sammie in Tarcoles for the remainder of our trip this location is only about 1 hour 15 minutes from the San Jose airport.3 hours from Finca. It was a great small fishing village and also close to the famous crocodiles.

We had no problems with the roads they were all in perfect condition. Everyone was nice too. Don't keep belongings in the car and when you venture out park somewhere, where someone can watch your car. They will ask for a tip, tip em.

Hope this information helps and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 perfect and blissful days at Finca Bella Vista in early April. We stayed in Mis Ojos, a stunning tree house next to the waterfall with a short walk down to a beautiful swimming hole. We both literally went through withdrawal when we had to leave this place. It is so peaceful and beautiful. Matt and Erika are the hostess and host with the most. They make you feel so at home and provide a lot of friendly information on the area. The tree houses are all located in a massive jungle paradise that resembles the movie AVATAR. There is a wonderful “base camp” community centre where Rob cooks the best food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A few must things to do at Finca Bella Vista are: The Garden Tour and Pick your own Lunch, Swimming in the River, Hiking to the Scenic Ridge and Chico’s Night Walk. Also make sure to attend the “happy hour” at base camp and meet some of the other guests and compare tree house notes. This is one of the most special places I have ever visited. You are in for a treat. Children or adults – you will love this place and long to return.

Room Tip: Mis Ojos is my favourite, next to the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Amazing and beautiful...just breathtaking views. Better than you can even imagine. Erika and Matt were welcoming and kind as well as the rest of their crew. Rob cooks up some fabulous meals too! We loved the food, the sounds, and atmosphere. Just magical. We stayed in Mis Ojos and that was our favorite because we could see the waterfall and hear the water running all night. Pricey but if you are looking for an amazing and unforgettable experience, this is the place. Recommend staying in the actual treehouses--Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Mis Ojos was our favorite-we could hear and see the water, not to mention it was a short 5 min hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was my friend that brought be to Finca Bella Vista and it was such an amazing journey. I had no idea what to expect and nothing would have ever prepared me. This expansive property covers many hectares and within it is a magical world of beautiful waterfalls, long hiking travels, many tree houses, and organic and much more. What really captured my attention was the attention each person gives to you and instead of feeling like a first time guest when you arrive, I felt like a returning family member.

My one suggestion is that if you do have a treehouse with a kitchen, plan on making dinner for a few of the nights you spend there, and bring food you can store in their kitchen. Ask them for more details, but the next time I return with friends, I plan on having a dinner party with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I first learned about Finca Bellavista years ago, when the project was starting to create a community with tree houses high off the ground where neighbors could visit each other on the sky trail zip line network! Sounded magical to me! I finally got to visit, and have been back every year since. Sleeping in a tree house with the sounds of jungle animals and waterfalls will be a sleep like you've never experienced!

Room Tip: Any treehouse is nice. Some are more of a walk to get to than others, but all worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Fila Tortuga tree house at the Finca Bellavista and couldn't have asked for a better time. This was by far the very best tree house on the property, we loved it. It is a bit of a hike to the tree house as it is off the main path - however it was well worth the treck. It is the most private of all the tree houses and you truly get a feel of the rain forest as you are submersed in it and all its beauty and wildlife. We awoke in the morning to the sounds of the jungle and singing of birds and fell asleep at night to the sounds of the cicada signing - which was soo peaceful. The tree house itself is so beautifully crafted with gorgeous woods and hand carved details that add to the feeling of paradise. We cannot wait to return again!! FILA TORTUGA!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bellavista

Address: #1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Piedras Blancas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Piedras Blancas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bellavista is a treehouse community in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica! We are a rustic, yet comfortable, private retreat off the beaten path where owners and guests can explore the natural wonders of the rainforest canopy and enjoy what we like to call ‘treetop Pura Vida’. You definitely won’t find flashy billboards or roadside signs that lead you to Finca Bellavista… Finca Bellavista is not a full-service spa, a fancy hotel, or a canopy tour. We are located in an amazing and relatively untouched portion of Costa Rica that is removed from many of the influences of the outside world. The nearest town (1.5 miles away) contains a school, a church, a pulperia, a bus stop, a handful of houses, and of course, a soccer field. That’s it. No souvenir shops, no mini-malls, and no rowdy bars. Finca Bellavista is for the true traveller who wants to experience something truly different and special. We have acres of forest and gardens to explore, refreshing rivers, birdwatching, a botanical trail, and much more. We look forward to hosting you in our home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bellavista Hotel Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.