We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedras Blancas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bellavista
Save
You added Finca Bellavista to your Saves list
#1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 perfect and blissful days at Finca Bella Vista in early April. We stayed in Mis Ojos, a stunning tree house next to the waterfall with a short walk down to a beautiful swimming hole. We both literally went through withdrawal when we had to leave this place. It is so peaceful and beautiful. Matt and Erika are the hostess and host with the most. They make you feel so at home and provide a lot of friendly information on the area. The tree houses are all located in a massive jungle paradise that resembles the movie AVATAR. There is a wonderful “base camp” community centre where Rob cooks the best food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A few must things to do at Finca Bella Vista are: The Garden Tour and Pick your own Lunch, Swimming in the River, Hiking to the Scenic Ridge and Chico’s Night Walk. Also make sure to attend the “happy hour” at base camp and meet some of the other guests and compare tree house notes. This is one of the most special places I have ever visited. You are in for a treat. Children or adults – you will love this place and long to return.

Room Tip: Mis Ojos is my favourite, next to the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
80
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Amazing and beautiful...just breathtaking views. Better than you can even imagine. Erika and Matt were welcoming and kind as well as the rest of their crew. Rob cooks up some fabulous meals too! We loved the food, the sounds, and atmosphere. Just magical. We stayed in Mis Ojos and that was our favorite because we could see the waterfall and hear the water running all night. Pricey but if you are looking for an amazing and unforgettable experience, this is the place. Recommend staying in the actual treehouses--Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Mis Ojos was our favorite-we could hear and see the water, not to mention it was a short 5 min hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was my friend that brought be to Finca Bella Vista and it was such an amazing journey. I had no idea what to expect and nothing would have ever prepared me. This expansive property covers many hectares and within it is a magical world of beautiful waterfalls, long hiking travels, many tree houses, and organic and much more. What really captured my attention was the attention each person gives to you and instead of feeling like a first time guest when you arrive, I felt like a returning family member.

My one suggestion is that if you do have a treehouse with a kitchen, plan on making dinner for a few of the nights you spend there, and bring food you can store in their kitchen. Ask them for more details, but the next time I return with friends, I plan on having a dinner party with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I first learned about Finca Bellavista years ago, when the project was starting to create a community with tree houses high off the ground where neighbors could visit each other on the sky trail zip line network! Sounded magical to me! I finally got to visit, and have been back every year since. Sleeping in a tree house with the sounds of jungle animals and waterfalls will be a sleep like you've never experienced!

Room Tip: Any treehouse is nice. Some are more of a walk to get to than others, but all worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Fila Tortuga tree house at the Finca Bellavista and couldn't have asked for a better time. This was by far the very best tree house on the property, we loved it. It is a bit of a hike to the tree house as it is off the main path - however it was well worth the treck. It is the most private of all the tree houses and you truly get a feel of the rain forest as you are submersed in it and all its beauty and wildlife. We awoke in the morning to the sounds of the jungle and singing of birds and fell asleep at night to the sounds of the cicada signing - which was soo peaceful. The tree house itself is so beautifully crafted with gorgeous woods and hand carved details that add to the feeling of paradise. We cannot wait to return again!! FILA TORTUGA!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

On our most recent trip to Costa Rica, my girlfriend demanded that we stay in a tree house. Don't get fooled by the myriad of links to shacks on stilts - Finca Bellavista is the real deal. I couldn't have been more skeptical prior to arrival but WOW this place is incredible. We stayed in the gorgeous Mis Ojos tree house and fell asleep to the sound of a nearby waterfall and spent our days hiking the property, swimming in river pools and just feeling relaxed in the jungle. I'm sure the tree houses are not everybody's idea of holiday accommodation, but not having electricity or internet - while still being in a stunning, comfortable environment- was the perfect escape from the "real world". The staff and volunteers couldn't be more helpful and the food was great.

-adam

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent four nights in the Mis Ojos treehouse in February. What a grand experience! The treehouse itself is the best (in my opinion) because it is situated away from the other treehouses and has a view of the Rio Bellavista and a waterfall. We felt truly away from it all. No electricity, but the kitchen was equipped with a two burner propane cooktop and water. A nice touch was the coffee sock and coffee. The bedroom is on the second level and includes an open air shower (that we shared with a bat), and toilet and sink. The only thing that could make this treehouse perfect would be some sort of pulley that you could bring small things up to the second floor with. The ladder is steep and if you are like me you don't want to use one hand while climbing the ladder. There is also a separate "room" to the treehouse that has a table, chairs and hammock. A perfect place to relax. The walk to Base Camp is 1/2 mile along a sometimes steep trail, so this place is not for people who are not in decent shape or who do not appreciate being one with raw nature. The meals were fabulous! All fresh and local and a lot is grown right on the property in their amazing garden. And, ask for a tour of their chicken coop! We were treated to a private River hike by Josh, the amazing volunteer. Two waterfalls and two swimming holes. We also did the Zip Line tour and the Night Hike. Both highly recommended. Also, the hike to La Punta was magical. We fell in love with the people and the place. It is amazing that all this has come from nothing. The owners Matt and Erica have worked hard and it shows. We also appreciated how they are working with community with their foundation and by employing local Ticos.

Room Tip: Choose the Mis Ojos treehouse for a secluded experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piedras Blancas
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.0 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bellavista

Address: #1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Piedras Blancas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Piedras Blancas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bellavista is a treehouse community in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica! We are a rustic, yet comfortable, private retreat off the beaten path where owners and guests can explore the natural wonders of the rainforest canopy and enjoy what we like to call ‘treetop Pura Vida’. You definitely won’t find flashy billboards or roadside signs that lead you to Finca Bellavista… Finca Bellavista is not a full-service spa, a fancy hotel, or a canopy tour. We are located in an amazing and relatively untouched portion of Costa Rica that is removed from many of the influences of the outside world. The nearest town (1.5 miles away) contains a school, a church, a pulperia, a bus stop, a handful of houses, and of course, a soccer field. That’s it. No souvenir shops, no mini-malls, and no rowdy bars. Finca Bellavista is for the true traveller who wants to experience something truly different and special. We have acres of forest and gardens to explore, refreshing rivers, birdwatching, a botanical trail, and much more. We look forward to hosting you in our home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bellavista Hotel Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.