We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting in the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedras Blancas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bellavista
#1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Redmond, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical setting in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I first learned about Finca Bellavista years ago, when the project was starting to create a community with tree houses high off the ground where neighbors could visit each other on the sky trail zip line network! Sounded magical to me! I finally got to visit, and have been back every year since. Sleeping in a tree house with the sounds of jungle animals and waterfalls will be a sleep like you've never experienced!

Room Tip: Any treehouse is nice. Some are more of a walk to get to than others, but all worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
51
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Fila Tortuga tree house at the Finca Bellavista and couldn't have asked for a better time. This was by far the very best tree house on the property, we loved it. It is a bit of a hike to the tree house as it is off the main path - however it was well worth the treck. It is the most private of all the tree houses and you truly get a feel of the rain forest as you are submersed in it and all its beauty and wildlife. We awoke in the morning to the sounds of the jungle and singing of birds and fell asleep at night to the sounds of the cicada signing - which was soo peaceful. The tree house itself is so beautifully crafted with gorgeous woods and hand carved details that add to the feeling of paradise. We cannot wait to return again!! FILA TORTUGA!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

On our most recent trip to Costa Rica, my girlfriend demanded that we stay in a tree house. Don't get fooled by the myriad of links to shacks on stilts - Finca Bellavista is the real deal. I couldn't have been more skeptical prior to arrival but WOW this place is incredible. We stayed in the gorgeous Mis Ojos tree house and fell asleep to the sound of a nearby waterfall and spent our days hiking the property, swimming in river pools and just feeling relaxed in the jungle. I'm sure the tree houses are not everybody's idea of holiday accommodation, but not having electricity or internet - while still being in a stunning, comfortable environment- was the perfect escape from the "real world". The staff and volunteers couldn't be more helpful and the food was great.

-adam

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent four nights in the Mis Ojos treehouse in February. What a grand experience! The treehouse itself is the best (in my opinion) because it is situated away from the other treehouses and has a view of the Rio Bellavista and a waterfall. We felt truly away from it all. No electricity, but the kitchen was equipped with a two burner propane cooktop and water. A nice touch was the coffee sock and coffee. The bedroom is on the second level and includes an open air shower (that we shared with a bat), and toilet and sink. The only thing that could make this treehouse perfect would be some sort of pulley that you could bring small things up to the second floor with. The ladder is steep and if you are like me you don't want to use one hand while climbing the ladder. There is also a separate "room" to the treehouse that has a table, chairs and hammock. A perfect place to relax. The walk to Base Camp is 1/2 mile along a sometimes steep trail, so this place is not for people who are not in decent shape or who do not appreciate being one with raw nature. The meals were fabulous! All fresh and local and a lot is grown right on the property in their amazing garden. And, ask for a tour of their chicken coop! We were treated to a private River hike by Josh, the amazing volunteer. Two waterfalls and two swimming holes. We also did the Zip Line tour and the Night Hike. Both highly recommended. Also, the hike to La Punta was magical. We fell in love with the people and the place. It is amazing that all this has come from nothing. The owners Matt and Erica have worked hard and it shows. We also appreciated how they are working with community with their foundation and by employing local Ticos.

Room Tip: Choose the Mis Ojos treehouse for a secluded experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife, two teenage daughters and I decided that we wanted to see Costa Rica after hearing many amazing stories from friends, so we headed there for 10 days over Christmas vacation.We landed in Liberia, and traveled through Guanacaste, into the interior to La Fortuna, down south to Manuel Antonio, and then spent the last 4 days of our trip at the Finca Bellavista. I can honestly say that it was the highlight of the trip, and one of the most amazing places I have ever visited. We stayed in El Castillo Mastate, which was spectacular; very comfortable, had all the amenities we needed, and the experience of staying high up in the jungle canopy was awe-inspiring. Being big nature lovers, we were hoping to see some wildlife, and we were lucky enough to see tree sloths, toucans, monkeys, basilisk lizards, huge butterflies, and more. Matt And Erica are wonderful people, very kind and welcoming, and helped to make the visit even better. We found the Finca to be a peaceful, relaxing, rejuvenating and magical place. Walking down to the swimming holes at the river, my wife discovered what she described as the most perfect place she has ever been. My family has traveled to many places together over the last 15 years, and this ranked as our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If i could give 10 stars i would. This place is just incredible. Out of this world. The tree house we stayed in Mis Ojas, was just break taking. I can not say enough about the vision and effort that the owners have made in making finca bella vista the amazing place that it is.

If you are not fit, don't like being "out there" with the wildlife then this is not the place for you. If you want to get off the grid and really out with nature, this place will change your life!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited Finca Bellavista, and stayed at Fila Tortuga, this beautiful treehouse with an amazing view! The treehouse is so unique, with all wooden features and furniture to create that real rainforest feel. From the treehouse we saw amazing things such as toucans, tarantulas, blue morpho butterflies, and firefly shows at night. There was incredible swimming holes and waterfalls which made for awesome photo ops. The entire place was well maintained, and the staff and volunteers were so friendly! The whole family had an amazing time at Fila Tortuga at Finca Bellavista!

Room Tip: Check out the Fila Tortuga!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finca Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bellavista

Address: #1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Piedras Blancas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Piedras Blancas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bellavista is a treehouse community in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica! We are a rustic, yet comfortable, private retreat off the beaten path where owners and guests can explore the natural wonders of the rainforest canopy and enjoy what we like to call ‘treetop Pura Vida’. You definitely won’t find flashy billboards or roadside signs that lead you to Finca Bellavista… Finca Bellavista is not a full-service spa, a fancy hotel, or a canopy tour. We are located in an amazing and relatively untouched portion of Costa Rica that is removed from many of the influences of the outside world. The nearest town (1.5 miles away) contains a school, a church, a pulperia, a bus stop, a handful of houses, and of course, a soccer field. That’s it. No souvenir shops, no mini-malls, and no rowdy bars. Finca Bellavista is for the true traveller who wants to experience something truly different and special. We have acres of forest and gardens to explore, refreshing rivers, birdwatching, a botanical trail, and much more. We look forward to hosting you in our home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bellavista Hotel Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finca Bellavista to your Saves list