We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Mariposa = Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedras Blancas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bellavista
#1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casa Mariposa = Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are a family of 5 (teens and adults) who spent time at Casa Mariposa in Finca Bellavista in January of 2013. The whole complex is amazing and the team at FB have done an amazing job of living by their values. The scenery is spectacular and it really is so removed from roads and hectic life. Swimming in the jungle pools and realizing just how far out in the wild you are is a pretty surreal experience!

We stayed at Casa Mariposa which was perfect for our family. It is so wild to be cooking by headlamp but still have a functioning stove to create great meals. Doesnt everything taste better when cooked in nature? There is a lot of room in this tree house. There were comfy beds for everyone and the kitchen is a great place to gather...well when you are not out on the deck watching for the spectacular butterflies! The hike out is gorgeous and the house is really accessible (if you are nervous about getting up to a tree house or at all scared of heights...this place is perfect because you have an almost level entry on one side and still have all the great views on the other side!)

Our family loved connecting with nature and great friends out here...highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Casa Mariposa...see write up above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I just got back after a 4 day stay and I can't possibly say enough good things about this place. Getting there is easy, fun and incredibly scenic. Finca Bellavista itself is peaceful and beautiful. There's so much to do and see and the staff couldn't possibly be more friendly and helpful. It really is a paradise. We hadn't even left yet and we were already planning for our next trip when we could bring our son.

Our favorite activity was definitely the river hike. One of their volunteers will take you on a hike up to a waterfall and then down the Rio Bellavista a couple miles to another swimming hole. It's a really fun experience and the scenery the whole way down is amazing. The zipline was fun too, and we really enjoyed just hiking around the property and exploring. They have huge amount of land and while the base camp is beautifully landscaped, most of the property consists of small trails through the rainforest. It's just a cool place to explore.

One of the coolest aspects of Finca Bellavista is the community. Everyone comes together for 3 meals a day (which are awesome by the way, thanks to the head chef Rob), and there's also a happy hour before dinner. These are all great times to get to know some of the other guests and the staff. Everyone is incredibly friendly, everyone has an interesting story, and you'll feel like family almost immediately.

I would definitely recommend bringing long socks (almost up to your knees) that will make the tall rubber boots they give you much more comfortable. Other than that, bring comfortable clothes that you don't mind getting dirty/sweaty and a sense of adventure.

I can't speak highly enough of this place. Matt and Erica and the rest of the staff have built a truly special place and we can't wait till we have the opportunity to go back.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We (a young couple) had make a reservation to this beautiful oasis of peace for 2 nights on December 14th and 15th. Once there we were quite impressed with the view that our little treehouse (Mis Ojos) was offering but once in the complete dark it was a totally different story. This particular treehouse is very open so we got food stolen by what we think is a little jerboa and something like a raccoon. Don't forget animals in the jungle lives mostly at night. The next morning the jerboa had pissed and defecate all over our stuff so we packed and left. Don't get me wrong if you are nature lovers you will love this place. Matt, Erika and the cook are amazing people but it wasn't for us. It's also very far from any town so bring lots of food if you're not vegetarian cause all that's offered are vegetarian meals such as rice, beans, salad for dinner. Breakfast was pretty amazing though. Also bring books and games cause it can be quite long with no electricity.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Finca Bellavista is an amazing experience, off the beaten path, still wild and profoundly magical. There is time and stillness by which to experience being part of nature. Life is everywhere at the Finca and unfurls before your eyes with fleeting butterfly sightings, bird sounds, flowers and vines and animal calls. The treehouses, river walks and waterfalls are straight out of a dream and the owners, Erica and Matt embody the special place they have created.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing!! Visit here!! It's a must. I volunteered here last summer and was blown away. The entire experience was unreal. Absolutely stunning place, amazing people, unbelievable treehouses! It can be a little difficult to get here, but if a young woman traveling alone in Costa Rica for the first time can do it, anyone can. Make sure you check out the waterfalls (bathing in them is the best), as well as the canopy tour, the gardens, La Punta hike, and the night hike with Chico. I had the opportunity to check out Mis Ojos and Casa Mariposa during my stay (when I wasn't in the volunteer bunkhouse) and they were both incredible. Highly recommend checking out FBV.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

i was blissfully unaware that finca bellavista existed just a short year-and-a-half ago. i'd never heard of this 'sustainable treehouse community in the costa rican rainforest.' but then it happened...

i was sitting at work, minding my own business, when a co-worker messaged me a link and suggested i check it out. to quote, 'you like star wars. this place looks like the ewok village from return of the jedi.' i clicked the link. and the rest, as they say, is history.

i immediately knew this was a place i needed to visit. and soon. i contacted erica and matt, who helped me better understand finca bellavista. three months later, i stepped off a plane in costa rica. alone. scared. excited. but knowing i was heading home.

and that i did. my time at finca bellavista saved my life. the serene settings, healthy living, larger-than-life characters, and mind-blowing treehouses were exactly what i needed in my life at that time. i was able to put the pieces of my life back together, off the grid, away from the world, and in the most unbelievable place i have ever been on this planet.

finca bellavista is more than a treehouse community. it is paradise. let its magic happen for you. i can't stress this enough. just go. be there. do it. you will never be the same.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

There are snakes, monkeys, birds, bugs... There are relaxing hammocks, secure bridges, filtered water, organic meals, ziplines, and enjoyable moments to last a lifetime.

When you visit Finca Bellavista, you best follow their preparation guidelines and because you do, you are set for one of the most phenomenal experiences imaginable. Far surpassing any childhood fantasy of living in a treehouse, each unique structure is chalk full of amenities and your trip comes to life as you hear the sounds only a Costa Rican jungle can offer. Chirps and rushing water from the nearby river or falls are the 24/7 backdrop to one of the most majestic settings in the world.

Group meals that are healthful and fun. Drifting off to hike in solitude. Opportunities to meet other wonderful visitors from around the globe. The chance to truly escape... These are a few of the benefits to making Finca Bellavista your place to visit more than just once. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: All of the treehouses and casitas are different. Read about the features of each one so you can com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finca Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bellavista

Also Known As:
Finca Bellavista Hotel
Finca Bellavista Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Address: #1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Piedras Blancas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Piedras Blancas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bellavista is a treehouse community in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica! We are a rustic, yet comfortable, private retreat off the beaten path where owners and guests can explore the natural wonders of the rainforest canopy and enjoy what we like to call ‘treetop Pura Vida’. You definitely won’t find flashy billboards or roadside signs that lead you to Finca Bellavista… Finca Bellavista is not a full-service spa, a fancy hotel, or a canopy tour. We are located in an amazing and relatively untouched portion of Costa Rica that is removed from many of the influences of the outside world. The nearest town (1.5 miles away) contains a school, a church, a pulperia, a bus stop, a handful of houses, and of course, a soccer field. That’s it. No souvenir shops, no mini-malls, and no rowdy bars. Finca Bellavista is for the true traveller who wants to experience something truly different and special. We have acres of forest and gardens to explore, refreshing rivers, birdwatching, a botanical trail, and much more. We look forward to hosting you in our home! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finca Bellavista to your Saves list