We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Nature Experience of our Lives (so far)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedras Blancas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bellavista
Save
You added Finca Bellavista to your Saves list
#1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All-inclusive packages!
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Best Nature Experience of our Lives (so far)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Tidbits from our stay at Finca BellaVista:

The BEST nature experience I've had so far in my life!!!!! (husband agrees) The hike to our treehome was tougher than I imagined… but worth it. Everything is mind blowing beautiful…Way better than photos on the internet.

Base Camp is where we gathered for meals. Family style/ casual dining was cozy/comfortable. Food is typical Costa Rican fare, hearty, simple, and delicious. At dinner we met Mateo... We thought it was nice he made a point to come down for dinner and chat with us (even though he seemed tired from a tough day of work) Nice to spend so much time with Matt and Erica (the owners). We were already starting to feel like family with the young volunteers. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and listening to everyones' life stories.

We loved having the jungle to ourselves. We hiked and hiked and HIKED. It was such a feeling of accomplishment when we made it to the waterfall! It took a while with a 6-year-old! SO worth it. It was booming with energy!

We participated in a NIGHT-HIKE with Chico! It hadn’t rained that day so the critters weren’t out. Our son was such a trooper! He LOVED spotting spiders and other insects with his flashlight! Not scared at all! We saw HUGE crickets, spiders, stick bugs, butterflies, cicadas and bats.

By the second night, we noticed that it is surprisingly not scary sleeping so deep in the rainforest completely alone with no 'real' building protecting us. (in front of our bed is a huge opening with sheer fabric drapes) Definitely a feeling of being One-with-nature.

On the last day we did the FOODIE Garden Tour. Our son tried everything! We wandered deep into the jungle to dig up potatoes. Afterwards we made fried yuccas with Lizano Sauce. YUM!

This was such a magical and special experience for us. The best way to describe it was like "'Summer Camp' for the Family"/ We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
78
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is my third visit and first one alone traveling to Central American. Taking the bus for the first time so I didn't have to rent a car was smoother than expected. There is always a chance that when you drive here for the first time, you will perhaps get "sidetracked" or lost and not make your early evening itinerary. As a professional in Environmental Design, this place is a dream. The development, although I refrain from calling it that is so well executed that it doesn't appear planned or contrived but rather organic, adapted to the Eco-Systems, and consciously thought through. Every time I go, I explore something new, rather than try and do "everything" offered. This past visit I spend time in the river and saw blue prawns enjoying themselves. I also did a 'guided hiking tour' in steep ridge areas. I spent a total of 10 days there with a stop over to Mango Moon and a surf lesson on the way back. Try not to rush this place, it truly has more to offer than a just a quickie moon-lite adventure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Best. Place. Ever.

We just got back from a stay at the finca. We stayed in Mis Ojos, and I couldn't imagine a more magical place on this earth. The waterfall in the background (which put me to sleep the moment my head hit the pillow - which is saying something seeing as I'm a lifelong insomniac), the care of that was taken in the carpentry of the tree house (just the woodwork in the ceiling alone was a piece of art), the food was a DELIGHT (we were going to cook, and then had one of their meals and decided that there was no way we wanted to miss that), and the people. Just great people.

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to spend some time with some owners over meals and on the zipline (a fun way to see the property I must say), and the energy, friendliness, and love that I found with everyone I talked to was beyond expectations.

Advice for planning: it really does take a full day to get down there from San Jose, so plan to stay somewhere in between, we tried to fly and make it in one afternoon and it DID NOT work.

If you are looking for an escape from the world, or just a glimpse into the magic of the jungle, you HAVE to stay here.

I already am daydreaming about a trip back :-)

Room Tip: Mis Ojos is by and far unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My trip to Finca Bellavista was incredible! I am a young woman and I traveled to the Finca by myself, but I never felt unsafe. The staff and volunteers were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I ended up switching rentals to a cheaper one near base camp so I could enjoy their company more (and so I wouldn't have to walk such a long way for meals). I was in Mis Ojos for my first night, but it was a long hike to camp and I didn't enjoy making it alone at night for dinner. So for the next three nights I stayed in Casa del Sol. it was the staff's idea for me to switch, which shows how accommodating they are. Both the treehouse and the cabina were beautiful, comfortable, and very clean. There really are no bugs to worry about, but it usually is humid. In addition, the current cook is from Hawaii and makes the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. I highly recommend heading to the community center for meals.

This was a great experience in a completely different type of setting than anywhere I've ever been. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone, although I think it would have been more fun with family or as a couple. I'm lucky that I was comfortable hanging out with the staff, or else I may have gotten lonely on a 4-day stay here by myself.

Room Tip: Okay, there is no fitness center or swimming pool, but you can't beat a jungle hike or a river s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Out of this world. What a phantastic place. It is not easy re-entering this world after spending a bit of time there. Spectacular zip-lining. Is it expensive? YES! Is it worth it? Ohhh yes yes yes yes, DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I might be a little prejudiced, as I own a lot in FBV on the Rio Bellavista, but I just visited for the first time in almost two years, and couldn't have been more impressed with the progress. For a new and very special, out of this world adventure, you can't go wrong! With the most unique, and different, environment you'll likely ever experiance, each treehouse has it's own personality, for a one of a kind adventure, you will never forget!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any treehouse choice! All are one of a kind, and can't be replicated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My sister and I stayed in Finca Bellavista 3 nights and 4 days. We stayed in Mis Ojos tree house which is next to the waterfall. The views there are speechless and there is so much to do. The treehouses are made beautifully and you can tell that a lot of work and love went into each one. We had to hike 1/2 a mile into base camp but it was worth it since we had such a great view and the hike took you through beautiful scenery. Everyone there was super nice and very knowledgeable about the plants and wildlife. Erica and Matt were so nice and ate with us and Erica even took us on a hike to the Point. The food was so good and most of it was from their own gardens. The staff makes it for you so it is delicious and filling. I definitely want to go back next year and will stay at Mis Ojos again. It was humid and we were sweating a lot but it's the rain forest so what do you expect. Each night we fell asleep with the waterfall and woke up with the great sounds of the jungle. We went swimming at the waterfall and zip lined though the jungle with some of the staff. No body was staying at the other treehouses so we were able to hike to each one and check them out. Mis Ojos is the best for a couple or a small group. We definitely checked off a few things from our bucket list by staying here and enjoyed every second of it. I have been bragging about this place to everyone because it is just so wonderful. So much to do there and I hope to go back next year and stay longer. Thank you so much Matt and Erica for sharing such a beautiful place with us.

Things to take:
Head lamp, it gets dark after dinner so you have to have a headlamp to see where your going
Long sock: they will have rain boots for you but you should have long socks so the boots don't rub your legs and cause rashes.
A good book: there is so much to do there but there are hammacs to just relax and read a book
Be prepared to do a lot of walking: the nearest tree house to base camp is about a 10 minute hike so just be prepared to walk a lot.
Bug Spray: Your in the rain forest so expect a lot of moths and beetles at night.
Camera: Make sure to have your camera on you all the time, there are many amazing animals to see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Finca Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bellavista

Address: #1 Treehouse Lane | La Florida de Piedras Blancas, Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Piedras Blancas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Piedras Blancas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bellavista is a treehouse community in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica! We are a rustic, yet comfortable, private retreat off the beaten path where owners and guests can explore the natural wonders of the rainforest canopy and enjoy what we like to call ‘treetop Pura Vida’. You definitely won’t find flashy billboards or roadside signs that lead you to Finca Bellavista… Finca Bellavista is not a full-service spa, a fancy hotel, or a canopy tour. We are located in an amazing and relatively untouched portion of Costa Rica that is removed from many of the influences of the outside world. The nearest town (1.5 miles away) contains a school, a church, a pulperia, a bus stop, a handful of houses, and of course, a soccer field. That’s it. No souvenir shops, no mini-malls, and no rowdy bars. Finca Bellavista is for the true traveller who wants to experience something truly different and special. We have acres of forest and gardens to explore, refreshing rivers, birdwatching, a botanical trail, and much more. We look forward to hosting you in our home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bellavista Hotel Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.