We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Marina Cafe

Phil's Marina Cafe
1194 Harbor Dr, Slidell, LA, Slidell, LA 70458-9218
985-641-0464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 173 Restaurants in Slidell
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Souther California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a local gathering place and one look at the regulars at the bar you know it. The seafood is fresh, the beer is cold and the staff is friendly. If you are looking for the above and don't need cloth table covers and napkins but just want good food and decent prices go here. They have specials. Last night it was a platter of fried shrimp and fries. Excellent and large portion of shrimp for $12

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yummy seafood cafe style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and like to drop by when we are in the area. Phils Cafe has a good choice of very fresh seafood dishes. Oh and for an appetizer try the crawfish bread my personal favorite. For entrees we always have the grilled fish with deveraux sauce and softshell crab (pictured). Enjoy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is the second time we visited this restaurant and once again everyone left full and happy. Seafood was fresh, service was attentive, dining room was clean and comfortable. Kids enjoyed going out to the dock last time (too cold this time).

Those in our party who ordered seafood platters, thought their food was delicious! I ordered the Snapper Ponchatrain, which was ok. I found it to have too much salt and it was greasy. The veggies were also swimming in butter. The butterfingers bread pudding was amazing!!

Will come again, but will order the fried items on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
“Great food, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I cannot find one thing negative to say about this marina. My family eats here everytime we travel thru Slidell and have never been disappointed. They may be really busy in the evenings so we try to get there late afernoon before the rush, I can only say if they were not that great they would not be that busy. It is not that hard to find as others have said just take exit 261 North, see the Waffle House, get on the road behind it and follow it west just a short way and Phil's is on the right. This is a must try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slate Hill, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slidell, Louisiana's Best in South - Phil's Marina Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

One of the best seafood restaurants we enjoyed in the south. It was recommended by the Sleep inn in Slidell and it surpassed the recommendation. Wonderful food and great price, good service and friendly atmosphere. At Marina with sunsets. From road, look for Marina Cafe. At door it says PHIL'S MARINA CAFE. Enjoy off Rte 10 on way to New Orleans at Exit 266 on road left behind the Sleep Inn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Marina Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Marina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Marina Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.