We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holiday Blvd., Slidell, LA 70460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Slidell
Nanuet, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Got a room on the top floor after reading reviews on this site. The bed was a little small we usually like a king and it was either a small queen or a full. Pool was also small and the gym was good enough. No free weights though. Right off the interstate and easy to find.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Erick C,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. I am upset to hear that your stay was ok. I want each of my guest to have an excellent stay with us. I wanted to let you know that the room type you were in was our Standard Queen. Let me know next time you come to town I'd love to upgrade you to one of our One Bedroom Suites which has a King size bed. I also wanted to let you know that I am looking into purchasing some Free Weights for our Candlewood Suites Gym. Thank you again Erick for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us here a the Candlewood Suites-Slidell Northshore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    21
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
14
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are in new condition. The location is safe and close to mall, New Orleans and the beaches. Have stayed at this location several times and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Drifter712,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful.We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us! Our front desk associates, managers and the whole team work very hard to make sure that everyone is treated exceptionally here at the Candlewood Suites- Slidell/Northshore. I hope you can join us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Christina Restrepo,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wonderful Location just outside of New Orleans, Extremely Friendly, Clean and Comfortable. Traditional KING CAKE at the desk was a very nice touch! Pool on the first floor. Comfy Suite 3 large pillows per bed. Free Laundry Services. Staff were extremely helpful with maps and finding the best parade route locations~first parade in Slidell of course! Walmart right next door with plenty of resturant choices close to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Marti C,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful.We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us! Our front desk associates, managers and the whole team work very hard to make sure that everyone is treated exceptional here at the Candlewood Suites- Slidell/Northshore. King Cake is a Mardi Gras Tradition. I am happy that we were able to provide you with a taste of history and directions in celebration of Mardi Gras. I hope you can join us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great place to stay! The rooms were immaculate, and exceeded my expectations! I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Yolanda H,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful.We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us! Our front desk associates, managers and the whole team work very hard to make sure that everyone is treated exceptionally here at the Candlewood Suites- Slidell/Northshore. As far as your comment of immaculate rooms. That's what we are here for to provide you as our guest a clean room and exceptional friendly service. I hope you can join us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Christina the GM and Monica the housekeeping supervisor were very professional when accomodating the guest. However, the guest can get a little flirtie at times but Christina will put you in your place. Nonetheless, I will seek my stay once again at Candlewood suite on the Northshore of Slidell La. Smile because I would like to hear from Monica and Christina

Sincerely,
Michael Buckner
[--]

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Michael B,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful.We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us! Our front desk associates, managers and the whole team work very hard to make sure that everyone is treated exceptional here at the Candlewood Suites- Slidell/Northshore. As for guest getting Flirty you are correct Michael. It is my job to ensure that the safety and security of not only my staff by my guest as well is secure. I hope you can join us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

First the good. This hotel looks to be almost brand new. It is extremely clean, very comfortable, and has 4 power outlets at the desk. There is an adequate business center, gym, and a small shop in the lobby. The location is outstanding, less than 5 minutes from the Slidell Airport and within walking distance of numerous shopping and dining choices. The price for our one night stay could NOT be beat.

Ordinarily I would rate this hotel extremely highly.

This time I won't, and it is all due to the employee working the front desk during check in. I am sending the following email to the hotel manager regarding this individual and I thought I should share it with you as well.

"Dear XXXXX,

I wanted to share an experience my colleague and I had checking into your Candlewood suites property in Slidell, Louisiana this weekend. I intend to notify Priority Club and also to leave a review on Tripadvisor.com -- so it is only fair that I provide you with the same information.

A little background. I am a Platinum Member of Priority club and booked the reservation for two rooms through my corporate travel department. We arrived at the Slidell airport at around 12:30pm and drove directly to the hotel. Upon entering the lobby the front desk clerk (I believe his name was Chris) asked if we had a reservation and I said "yes we do. Two rooms, last name Weisser".

He replied, "We don't have any rooms." I looked quizzically at my colleague. A minute later the clerk continued, "Hotel policy is 3 o'clock. We can't check anybody in until 3 o'clock". He then launched into a big, long explanation about how he has guests coming from NASA, and the Navy, and a bunch of other corporations and that nobody was being permitted to check in until 3pm. So, we decided to go get some lunch. I asked him if he would be willing to hang onto our luggage while we eat. He said no, he would not accept the liability.

First, I absolutely understand that there is a 3pm policy for check in. I travel extensively for work and I get it. I also understand that not EVERY room in the hotel is cleaned simultaneously. So as rooms become available MOST properties will release rooms to the front desk and allow early check ins. THAT SAID... I was not upset about the 3pm check in, but rather by the terse, rude, and unwelcoming attitude of your front desk staff.

Upon return from lunch at 2pm I asked if any rooms were available yet, and he told me that check in was 3pm and he would start assigning rooms on a first-come, first serve basis at 2:30. He went on to explain (again) how many other companies and guests would be checking in today. Not only was he rude, but bordering on absurd. He offered to call the General Manager and I responded that I would be calling the GM on Monday, so if he wanted to call and save us a step he could do so. I don't know if you were the manager he called but, as expected, the manager allowed him to check people in a little bit early. I gave him my last name and he looked it up. He said there was only ONE room on that reservation despite the fact that I showed him an email from Candlewood/Priority Club that showed two rooms. He said there was nothing he could do. Really?

I called Priority Club right then and there and asked her to look up the reservation. Priority Club also showed that we had 2 rooms confirmed for tonight. Suddenly he was able to find the second room (he was on the phone during this time with a manager again).

The attitude of this front desk clerk was absolutely the WORST I have seen from any customer service staff I have ever seen as a frequent traveler. Normally I might suggest that an individual needs a little customer service refresher training - but this person seemed completely disinterested in providing any sort of service to your guests. He is doing a terrible job representing the Candlewood brand on your behalf. I thought it was important to let you know how guests are being treated at this otherwise very pleasant property."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Mike W,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Slidell.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our first stay with this brand, and we would not hesitate to book again. Rooms designed well, facility had a nice fragrance. Comfortable beds with ample marshmallow pillows. Electrical service at bedside is an easy reach without moving the night stand. Work table has office chair and a standard chair, network port, and 4-outlet electric wall plate. Kitchenette as advertised with nominal utensils. Stove top vent activated on microwave panel. Full fridge worked well. AC/heat very effective at reaching desired comfort level. Bathroom is medium size. Elongated toilet sits a bit low for my preferences. Shower delivers hot water and has nice pressure. Towels are rib-weave...nice. Lobby has snack room open all hours. Indoor pool was operational, but check maintenance events with front desk. Wal-Mart and Sam's Club are in walking distance. Starbucks is across the street, and a number of eateries are nearby. We saved over $100/night over hotels in New Orleans. Very pleased.

Room Tip: If you're allergic to animal dander, ask for a room well away from guests with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear MP50,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful.We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us! Our front desk associates, managers and the whole team work very hard to make sure that everyone is treated exceptionally here at the Candlewood Suites- Slidell/Northshore. Thank you for your comments about our location. We are happy that our hotel location provides our guest with many choices of shopping and eateries We hope you see you again soon!
Warmest Regards,

Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore

Address: 100 Holiday Blvd., Slidell, LA 70460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Slidell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Slidell
#5 Family Hotel in Slidell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore Hotel Slidell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.