We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Encounters

Cajun Encounters
55345 Highway 90, Slidell, LA 70461
(504) 834-1770; (866) 92-TOURS (86877)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Slidell
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned and operated tour company with 14+ years of experience. Instant online discounts! Offering great, personalized swamp tours, city tours, and plantation tours to both locals and visitors to New Orleans.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We picked Cajun Encounters because there was a representive in our hotel. She was very helpful. We chose a combo tour of the city and a Swamp Tour. Both were excellent. Karen was our tour guide for the City tour, she was very informative. She took us through the French Quarter, a cemetary, St. Charles street, the area hit by Hurricane Katrina. Both tours were well worth the money. We could never have seen everything we saw on our own. Rob, I think was his name, was our captain on the Swamp Tour. He was very good and got us right up by the snakes, wild hogs and alligators. He was very knowledgeable of the swamp and answered all of our questions. He had some pretty good jokes too. We will choose Cajun Encounters on our next New Orleans trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    95
    20
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent guide for an Interesting Cajun Encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our boat ride down the river and in the bayou near Slidell. Captain Bishop was probably the best informed, funniest, and most considerate guide we have experienced. We toured in late November, when the large alligators were not out, but we did see three to four feet gators out basking on logs. We also saw wild hogs, raccoons, heron, turtles - all with information from Captain Bishop and ample time for photos. We slid by a small settlement on the river and moved slowly by cypress with "Spanish Moss" - a fascinating morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gator spotting fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were travelling around the US and booked this tour on recommendations (for September 2012). I'm so glad we did. We were delayed in traffic heading from Pensacola, so we called to let them know. Not expecting anything we were thrilled when they quickly worked out where we were, realised we wouldn't make it and changed us onto a later tour that same day at no cost or hassle. They were friendly and welcoming both on the phone and in person when we finally made it. The area itself is great and whilst waiting we saw hummingbirds, local cats and a racoon (which was a thrill for this Brit). The tour itself was full and I ended up sitting a little too close to our Captain, Troy, by mistake, which he luckily just made a running joke out of lol. He started by asking what everyone wanted to see/learn about most. While the majority of people were polite and said 'anything' we said GATORS as this was our main goal! Well, I thought we might see one or two but we saw lots and took some brilliant photos. As we travelled, Troy informed us about the different sections of the river and bayou and pointed out how things changed depending on the water types and recent storms. He introduced us to a number of gators that were obviously regular marshmellow eaters (Brutus, Ugly Betty, etc) but he also pointed out other wildlife, plants and even local human constructions, telling us about the history of the swamp. He was a very knowledgable and friendly guide even after the tour had ended as he saw us hovering in the car park and came over to give us directions for the quickest route on to New Orleans. This tour is not for people who want to speed along the river...this is a tour for people who want to see Louisiana wildlife and scenery (particularly gators) with a bit of speeding along the river thrown in. Wildlife is unpredictable but we saw herons, gators, spiders and wild boar amongst other things and we learnt a lot about the area. VERY, VERY enjoyable and a highlight of our trip from start to finish.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Life in the swamp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our trip to New Orleans. We choose Cajun Encounters from the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were glad we did. From the booking to the hotel pick up to the actual swamp tour Cajun Encounters was great. Our captain was Eric and what a great person to spend some time with, both knowledgeable and entertaining he made our tour a fun and exciting day. This time of the year the alligators tend not to be seen as it is to cold for them but Captain Eric knew where to go to stand the best chances of seeing them and sure enough we saw four gators in size fron 3 feet up to 10 feet. Also saw some wild pigs and feed them marshmellows and many different types of birds. Captain Eric also told us about the people who live or have cabins along the swamp and the history of the river and impact of hurricane Katrina on the area. The swamp itself is so quiet and when the boat motor is shut off it is the most tranquile place that you could imagine. A great day from pick up to frop off at our hotel. Enjoyed

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“cajun encounters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a really fun, enjoyable, interesting and educational tour. Troy, our captain, had a fun, laid back demeanor and he had a strong knowledge of all ecosystems that we encountered. Troy made the tour very fun and he demonstrated great patience as we had a handful of annoying people on our tour asking a ton of dumb questions. Despite this, Troy redirected the tour to the animals and other life that people came to see without being rude. Troy was a tremendous tour guide and the tour was excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cajun Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cajun Encounters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.