We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5555 Financial Plaza, Shreveport, LA 71129   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Pinson, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Never again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was impressed when we walked in, the lobby area was different than other hotels we've stayed at. However, the impressed feeling quickly subsided once we arrived at our room, room 125 on 6/15. We were not told that our room was wheelchair accessible, meaning that there was NO bathtub (which is not good when you are traveling with young children). The hotel is old, the room smelled, even the water smelled, the air conditioner was loud, thermostat was from the 70's. Worst of it all, I was awaken at 5 am to the shower on...or so I thought. Walked into the bathroom to turn the shower off to see that it was in fact water coming from the ceiling...at a steadily fast rate.Called front desk, nothing. Sheets were just that, fitted sheet on the bottom and 2 top sheets for the comforter with small pillows. Sofa bed was unbearable to sleep on. Walls are thin, was awaken many times from the opening and closing of other room doors. The only positive comments-hotel staff, they were very friendly and the room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with us. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and that we had you in a room that was not accommodating for your family. I would love the chance to make it right next time you are in town. Please feel free to contact me if you ever visit the area again, and I will personally see to it that you are taken care of with the highest level of service that you have come to expect from Holiday Inn hotels. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    26
    13
    24
See reviews for
31
20
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Room was good - nice bedding and pillows - good size room - bathroom in great shape - hall way on second floor was dirty. Check in was smooth and guy working counter seemed nice. Wi=FI and airport shuttle

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West. I am glad you enjoyed our guestroom amenities and friendly staff. We look forward to having you back soon and wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Got the room fairly cheap on Priceline so we weren't expecting that much. The hotel was in a pretty good location right off the interstate but it was down in a little gully with some very nice big trees. Hotel was older but not bad.
Biggest complaint was the room wasn't cleaned that great. Found two pubes in the bathtub. And in the corner of bathroom was more hair. Looked like someone just halfway cleaned it.

Pros:
Cheap
Good beds
Good size bathroom for the price
Good TV with quality assortment of channels
Quiet (I think we may have been the only guests on our floor)

Cons:
Took forever to check in and check out
Not cleaned very well
Hallway smelt of mold or something
Thermostat was very old and odd

If it had been cleaned properly I would have given it a lot better recommendation but that is one thing I can't stand.

Room Tip: Probably should request to get rooms away from the indoor pool. That could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed enjoyed the location of our hotel. I will definately bring your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the guest bathroom to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper, who will address it with the staff. We hope you will give us another try if you return to the area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The management and staff of this hotel made our weekend stay WONDERFUL! After staying in the area the same time last year at a different Holdiay Inn, we had decided not to utilize this hotel chain ever again. After hearing about my concerns, the front desk supervisor, Amanda Ross reached out to me and asked me to give Holdiay Inn another chance. We are so glad we did. The entire staff went above and beyond for us. Our rooms were nice and spacious, the restaurant staff was great as well as the food, even the hospitality staff was excellent. The staff was short handed during our stay, so the hospitality supervisor stepped in and cleaned our rooms. She did an excellent job! I wish there was some way that we could tangibly say thanks to the staff and management of this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn West! Thank You!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind remarks about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West. I am very happy to hear that our staff and services exceeded your expectations this time around. We will definitely pass your compliments on to our staff and all management and to the front desk supervisor. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have you as a guest in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I were in for the weekend for a wedding. The location (next to the airport) was perfect. The staff at the desk were friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. We had the chance to use room service for a late night snack and the food was wonderful!
We did not get to eat at the restaurant but the bar in the lobby was a great place to have a drink and snack.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West. We are always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful service they have received. It is also very uplifting for the entire staff to hear when we have exceeded our guest’s expectations. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Shreveport area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband had to do a seminar here and it was horrible. We had no choice as the seminar set up the hotel. There were over 50 participants in the meeting room and the air conditioning was extremely noisy and smelled. The sleeping rooms were subpar and smelled moldy. This hotel is very old and needs a complete remodel. The food was terrible. Don't stay at this hotel if you can help it. I do not think someone should have to stay in a hotel that you are worried that you come home sick from the moldy smell and bad air conditioners.

Room Tip: Do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks regarding your stay with Holiday Inn Shreveport West. I am certainly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. I have reviewed your concerns with both the maintenance department and housekeeping. We only wish we were given the opportunity to address these issues earlier so that we could have moved you to more suitable accommodations. We hope that you will consider Holiday Inn Shreveport West for any future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I don't get the negative reviews. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the front desk staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant serves great dishes...you must try their Gumbo. There are many, many places to lodge in Shreveport, but I only stay here...price is acceptable, location is perfect for my needs. I have never had a problem with this hotel and will continue to stay there if I'm ever afforded another trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jud S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks you recently posted on TripAdvisor regarding your stays at the Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your comments not only with our team but the thousands of customers who use this trusted site to make their lodging decisions. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Shreveport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West

Address: 5555 Financial Plaza, Shreveport, LA 71129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many hotels in the Shreveport, LA area, but our hotel stands above the rest. The Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport is a full service hotel that is conveniently located by Shreveport Regional Airport (SHV) at the intersection of I-20 and I-220, and Inner loop 3132 to easily allow travelers to get where they are going. Nestled on nine acres of pine trees, the hotel offers a quiet night's rest. Located in northwest Louisiana, Shreveport is a bustling city surrounded by wetlands and pine forests that’s home to riverfront casinos, sports teams and Barksdale Air Force Base. No matter what your reason is for visiting, we’re sure you’ll find another one to come back. Comfort and conveniences are top priorities in all of our guest rooms. Each one is well-equipped with a 32-inch flat screen HD TV, free high-speed wireless internet access, a refrigerator and a microwave. You can sleep peacefully every night on a plush, triple-sheeted king or double bed. We have a free airport shuttle and 5,400 square feet of event space. Our swimming pool is a favorite, with a swim through from the inside to the outside of the pool. Enjoy a drink at our Atrium bar or dine in our full service restaurant featuring some of the best Southern style food around. Our hotel also offers a 24-hour business center for all your paperwork needs. By lodging with us, you can get to meetings at Halliburton, Schlumberger, Frymaster and Centenary College without a hassle. Come and see for yourself what our hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shreveport West Hotel Shreveport
Shreveport Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shreveport Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.