We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room in the high numbers away from the train!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown

Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Get a room in the high numbers away from the train!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a good stay but my friends stayed in a different area and heard the club and train noise all night. This is the hotel the convention picked which is why I stayed here. Also, this hotel is under mass renovation and very overpriced! I suggest biting the price bullet if possible and stay at one of the casinos or a more upscale hotel. Staff was good. The hotel has a restaurant so be prepared to pay. The did not even have lobby coffee for early exiters.

Room Tip: get a room near the lobby area on front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I never write reviews, but felt like this experience deserved one. I showed up with 4 other coworkers for a three night stay at the hotel. I immediately smelled smoke in the lobby which I'm extremely sensitive to, so I gave it a shot anyways and checked in. Three of us had problems in the room. I had a double queen room, both beds had pubic hairs on them. The toilet wasn't cleaned and had poo stains still in the bowl. Another room had pubic hairs on the bathroom floor, and another had some other type of hair on both beds (all hair was under the comforter and on the sheets). Needless to say, we all ended up canceling our stay and reserving rooms down the street at The Hilton Garden Inn. On the other hand, the customer service that night when we checked in was amazing. She was so sweet and felt horrible when we told her the problem. I won't ever stay there again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Girlmeetsworld16,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Shreveport.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I had some issues at this property, but I happy to announce that General Manager Ed S really cares about his guest experience. I filled out a survey online, and Ed graciously emailed me back to follow-up on my stay. Ed made it right, and restored my faith to this brand, and hotel. The other employees need to learn from Ed customer service expertise. Thank you Ed for turning my stay around.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

I was here with a group/conference. The first thing they did was loose a lot of our reservations, but they had the rooms. The Breakfast buffet was very good and the staff wonderful. I can't say so much for the evening meal.

The rooms where nice, and the staff got us anything we needed.

But if location is everything, this is not it. The hotel is built in the confluence of THREE major train tracks. There are trains going by all hours of the day and night. If trains bother you DON'T stay here. Our room was on the 4th floor and it was still quite noisy.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The title says it all, tried to check in with a terribly rood front desk employee. Once to my room I turned on the heat but even after an hour it was still freezing because the AC/heating unit wasn't sealed in the wall right so cold outside air literally overpowered the heater. I had to move rooms much to the sigrin of the terrible terrible front desk woman. Once to my second room I finally received a bit of heat and went to take a shower only to notice this room just like the other didn't have any soap, no face soap no body soap, no soap. After trying to call housekeeping and the front desk (neither picked up until I used my cell to call the actual number) I walked downstairs to find out they are out of soap. They obviously ran out of any descent laundry detergent as every fabric in the joint was basically sand paper. I'm a 25 Ur old man, not some old bitter woman with a bone to pick, and this hotel is bloody terrible. Do not stay here or in any other hotel in downtown Shreveport. They're all trash.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Dear Ben P,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the sub par service that you received and the facilities that were not working in the room.

Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We have sent you a private message to get more information regarding your stay. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Ivy A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

My husband travels frequently for work. He stayed here passing through.(he did not book this hotel himself- work did) While the downstairs was decent (lobby, bar) the room was not acceptable. Even though it was supposedly recently updated (the hotel) his hotel room had 1) unusable closet door- the bifold door was completely off the track, folded up and leaning into the closet. 2) the drawers under the tv cabinet were off and hanging loose 3) there was a hole in the bathroom wall, the newest layer of paint had peeled away a big spot and it apparently was where a rack or holder (like hairdryer??) was supposed to go but was missing.
There are plenty other accommodations in the Shreveport/Bossier area to stay in, this is not one to consider. It has gone down over the past several years that is for sure. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: This hotel is literally feet from a busy/commercial train tracks area toward the back and side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Dear TraceyCats,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is truly disheartening to know that some of our room amenities fell below your expectations and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these may have caused. I have taken note of your comments and rest assured that these will be shared to the right people. I am confident that actions will be taken accordingly in order to make your future stays more desirable.

Thank you again for your candid feedback. I truly hope that you will give us another chance to host you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I do not recommend this hotel. With 1-20 and the Spring Street Exit right outside the window, it is like you are in the middle of a NASCAR race all night long; then the train comes by blowing its horn. Miserable! The desk clerk joked about putting us on the quiet side of the hotel - not funny! The air conditioner continues to click on and off no matter the setting - unless turned off. Turn the ac off and the room spray cover up smell will suffocate you. Finally fall asleep only to be awakened by the desk clerk calling to ask if we called for a wake up call in the morning (WE DID NOT). Awake now and writing this review. Terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Dear Cot22,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the noise levels may have caused. We would love to have an opportunity to regain your faith in us so I have sent you a private message.

I look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown

Address: 102 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Click on packages to earn 1,000 free Priority Club points, free breakfast, and free cocktail for every night of your visit!!! The Holiday Inn Hotel Downtown Shreveport has 190 recently remodeled rooms (2006), brand new plush lobby, and a beautiful new exterior look that includes a mural painting of the Shreveport Rose. The Holiday Inn Hotel is a full service hotel located in the heart of downtown Shreveport. We are located within walking distance of Sam's Town and Hollywood Casinos, Shreveport Festival Area, Clyde Fant Bike and Walking Trail, Shreveport Science/ Discovery Center, the downtown Riverfront Pier, the Convention Center, the downtown entertainment district, and the Louisiana Boardwalk. Featuring Red River Restaurant and S'port Bar and Grill, full catering services available, outdoor pool, fitness center, complimentary airport and casino shuttle services (shuttle hours run daily from 7 AM-11 PM and is subject to availability). All rooms equipped with irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, 25 in. TVs with cable TV and pay per view movies, free high speed Internet access, alarm clock radios, coffeemakers, electronic locks on guest room doors, 24hr security, express check in and express check out services. We have recently added three 'honeymoon suites' that have Jacuzzi hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shreveport -i-20-Downtown Hotel Shreveport
Shreveport Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.