We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, quiet, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Safe, quiet, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed here six times over the last three months and after reading some of the other reviews, I feel compelled to review it myself. It's a good hotel and they keep it quiet there. The rooms are clean and the property feels safe. I even brought my wife and son with me on two business trips to Shreveport and we stayed there. Safety isn't an issue. And like I said, the rooms are clean. I've stayed in several different rooms and found them just fine, especially when you consider the price is fairly reasonable. Yes there are some train tracks down the ways a bit but if people want to complain, they'll complain about something. Highways, train tracks, the city, they'll find something. It's a good hotel and I've truly enjoyed it. When I'm in Shreveport I'll keep on staying there. The staff are really polite and very professional, as well as knowledgeable about the area. I've gotten some great recommendations on places to eat and sights to see from their clerks and even one of the maintenance guys. They make you feel like home when you're away from home. After only a couple of visits the office know my name, know my preferences, and make me feel like I'm staying at the Ritz. If you're looking for a quiet, clean, safe place to stay for a very reasonable price then look no further.

Room Tip: All the rooms I stayed in were great, but they have smoking rooms on a seperate floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    22
    37
    52
See reviews for
27
30
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Outside is dirty, lobby is ok. Elevator would not close because it was falling apart. Toilet stain and sink old and dirty. Beds are squeaky. Also beware of the train that comes by a lot . I will probably would not stay here when we come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Maria G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I would like to apologize that you were not satisfied with this visit due to the condition of the room you were given and issues experienced with the maintenance levels on site. I have taken note of your feedback and we will use this to improve on our services.

Again, many thanks for the review and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

One night stay in town for Mardi Gras parade. Hotel is being renovated but no major problems. Saw wallpaper being hung in Lobby area & spackle on walls waiting for remodel & painting. Room 408 was clean & bed was very comfortable. Train tracks outside our window but didn't bother us. Have stayed at this p
hotel many times over the years & always a good stay. Should be really nice once renovations are completed. Short walk to parade route & El Dorado Casino & Sam's Town Casino. Will stay here again because of comfort, service, price & location. Bar & restaurant on property.

Room Tip: Heavy train traffic by pool side rooms but noise didn't bother us. You may want to request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This had to be the worst place I have ever stayed! I can't believe the Holiday Inn name is on this place. I didn't even want to stay but after driving 8hrs and prepaid for staying, I need some sleep. Well, how can one sleep due to the train being right next to the building, so didn't really get any sleep.

Only one elevator was working, my handicap parents and I were on the 6th floor waiting for 10min for the elevator, I finally went down stairs to the main floor to find that the elevator was just sitting there flashing 1st floor, so I opened the door and hit the 6th floor button forcing it to go to the 6th floor.

I think my pictures (to bad I can't post video's) will tell the rest of the story. This place shouldn't be open!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear KDL1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret that on this day we were not able to be at par with your expectations particularly with the condition of the room accommodations that you received. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
.
Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice and friendly customer service at the desk and the room amenities were decent. But, unless you want to hear freight trains and their associated whistles throughout the night, you may want to consider another location. I should have known when the map showed the train tracks within several feet of the North wall of the hotel. Stayed there last Saturday evening, Nov 24, 2012, and I must have heard at least 5 or more trains come through. Luckily I can fall asleep quickly, but my wife was less impressed. Having said that, I suppose if you're a "train watcher" or yearn for the days of riding the rail as a hobo, then this hotel may suit you just fine. On the other hand, downtown Shreveport is really a nice area from my last visit 10 years ago.

Room Tip: There are other Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express in the area as well as many other establishments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon entering the hotel you are greeted with a nice loby. There were signs posted that said that the hotel was under renovation, and I will say that it is past due. The hotel has potential, but renovations are needed for the rooms and the halls and elevators. I would suggest noise dampening windows on the Red River side, too, as the trains were pretty loud in the room, especially early in the morning. The bathroom also needed some repair, as the ceiling showed signs of water damage.
The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was on par with most hotel buffets.

Room Tip: City side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I just recently came back from Shreveport this past weekend, and my stay was great. The room is average and accommodating for the 3 nights my girls and I stayed. Nothing spectacular, but was right off of the highway. Loved the location. Was a little leery from reading previous reviews, but we didn't see any roaches, the front desk clerks were always available and friendly, and the location was safe. Would stay again, but only for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown

Address: 102 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Click on packages to earn 1,000 free Priority Club points, free breakfast, and free cocktail for every night of your visit!!! The Holiday Inn Hotel Downtown Shreveport has 190 recently remodeled rooms (2006), brand new plush lobby, and a beautiful new exterior look that includes a mural painting of the Shreveport Rose. The Holiday Inn Hotel is a full service hotel located in the heart of downtown Shreveport. We are located within walking distance of Sam's Town and Hollywood Casinos, Shreveport Festival Area, Clyde Fant Bike and Walking Trail, Shreveport Science/ Discovery Center, the downtown Riverfront Pier, the Convention Center, the downtown entertainment district, and the Louisiana Boardwalk. Featuring Red River Restaurant and S'port Bar and Grill, full catering services available, outdoor pool, fitness center, complimentary airport and casino shuttle services (shuttle hours run daily from 7 AM-11 PM and is subject to availability). All rooms equipped with irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, 25 in. TVs with cable TV and pay per view movies, free high speed Internet access, alarm clock radios, coffeemakers, electronic locks on guest room doors, 24hr security, express check in and express check out services. We have recently added three 'honeymoon suites' that have Jacuzzi hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shreveport -i-20-Downtown Hotel Shreveport
Shreveport Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.