We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain in Shreveport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Inn

Cajun Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cajun Inn to your Saves list
Cajun Inn
2610 Claiborne Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Shreveport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good bargain in Shreveport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed one night at this property to go to the Independence Bowl in December 2006. My husband is a huge Alabama fan (Roll Tide) and we didn't want to fool with the hassle of parking. This hotel is a short walk to the stadium, our room was upgraded without even asking to the jacuzzi suite, and we were allowed into our room a couple of hours before checkin to freshen up after 4 hours on the road. The room was about what you should expect for a budget motel, older and in some disrepair. The hairdryer and Bible were both missing. But it was well-cleaned and we got a good night's sleep there. We would stay at this property again if we are in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — questionable neighborhood
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

Even though this hotel/motel is convienient and off the freeway, its in a shady area. Don't be fooled by its affordablity...stay elsewhere. The rooms were not in the best condition (i.e. blood streaks on the wall) and the grounds were not well kept at all. Staff even locked herself in the front office and it was only 6pm. You'll be better off staying at a Marriott or Hilton chain.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

Not dirty at all as stated by someone! We had a group of 9 people and our stay couldn't have been better! With a friendly staff and comfortable, quiet rooms...what else could you want?

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2004

First, get the jacuzzi room! Rather nice hotel rooms for the price, very clean and the staff is helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2004

This place is only a year or two old, but the cheap construction and finishing really shows. We stayed there two nights in August, and had to change rooms twice due to air conditioning not working in either of our first two rooms. The rooms are standard cheap motel size and decor, but housekeeping is lacking. The front desk staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, but the building itself was pretty shocking. If you need to stay in this area in Shreveport, I recommend you find a different place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cajun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cajun Inn

Address: 2610 Claiborne Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Shreveport)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cajun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Shreveport Hotel Shreveport
Howard Johnson Shreveport
Shreveport Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cajun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.