We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Best Western Chateau Suite Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
San Francisco/Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Best Western Chateau Suite Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed overnight at this facility. It looked fairly new. The lobby was well appointed as pictured above. The young lady that greeted us was friendly.
The rooms were clean. There are enough outlets for hook up your electronics. The bathroom was clean. The bed linens were clean and the bed comfortable.
They have a breakfast that was ok.You have many choices.
They have a Business Center to use the computer.
However, we requested a non smoking room but it smelled like smoke.The whole lobby kind of smelled like smoke. We mentioned this to the receptionist. There was a group of young people staying there and maybe they were not abiding by the rules. The office indicated they would look into it after our call.
It is a very nice facility, however, I have an allergy to smoke and could not be in an environment where smoke is an issue.

Room Tip: Ask about smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    17
    26
    35
See reviews for
41
47
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenner
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location - RIGHT off the freeway, which makes it noisy. Room - on second floor of unattached building - without elevator. Hallway was hot, room was hot. Noticed a room key on the bedside table. I didn't remember putting it there. Checked my pocket and MY key was there - which means that this was left by the last occupant - which makes me wonder how well the place was cleaned. There are three "gates" in the fence surrounding the hotel. One was chained shut when I checked in. I cranked up the AC and went out for the evening. On returning another of the gates was shut, leaving only one open, which required me to drive around the block - only instead of around the block I ended up in Bossier City (missed a turn). On returning to the hotel (about 1 am) I found that the outside doors were unlocked (despite the fact that they have keypads in place). I wasn't feeling real secure at the time - if they need to close the fence around the place why are they leaving the outside doors unlocked. I had to call the desk to get the internet code (OK, not a big thing, but a little irritating), but the WiFi worked fine for me. Bed was firm - some people like that, I don't. As a single woman I probably wouldn't stay there again. And overall I wouldn't return or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: IF you do decide to stay here and need an elevator you'll need to request a room in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked a room through Travelocity for this hotel for "non-smoking", but when we got there we were given a "smoking" room since they had been overbooked. That was just the beginning and not the worst of it........Lots of mold throughout, bedsheets were recently "stained" and dirty, the sink did not have hot water (and the water it did have leaked out the bottom of sink and had to be caught in pan, etc.), the hair dryer was pulled out and hanging from the wall with loose electrical wires exposed as well as behind the sheetrock, and the return air vent missing with a big hole going into wall. However, the manager would not return calls for over a week (and never did) and basically would not work with us on any type of credit or help in the future. It was very late at night, there was a large convention in town and nowhere else to really go. At one time this was a really nice hotel the last time we stayed a few years back....but was suprised to see how far it had deteriorated in 7 years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good location, great free breakfast, awesome suite rooms- spacious, separate bedroom, big fridge, microwave, on site bar, shuttle to casinos/shopping outlet, and a great price.

Front desk staff was awesome, and most helpful during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front desk ladies were amazingly helpful. They encouraged us to use their shuttle, which was wonderful because the driver was so knowledgeable and friendly. We took advantage of seeing several casinos while staying at a hotel that was not packed with people. We didn't have to worry about having a drink or finding parking places, which was great. The room was fine and they had free wireless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a booking error with our original location and had to find something quick at the last minute. Being a Best Western we were expecting a quality place, so not what we received. Upon arrival there was a jack hammer/construction noise going on, we were assured by the front desk that it would not last much longer. The lobby was old, but seemed quaint. The room had had some paint and a few upgrades to make it look nice, however, upon closer inspection, we found a filthy bathtub, tiles around edge crooked and wall bubbling from previous water damage, this is where the roaches crawled out of and they were German roaches. Rather than tear out the walls and replace, they just simply painted over the water damaged part. The headboards were not attached to the beds and knocked against the wall every time we moved in the bed. The A/C did not cool below 78 degrees. The refrigerator was even warmer than that. We did not complain to the front desk because it appeared everyone was complaining and these were falling on deaf ears. The breakfast was typical, but the baskets used to display items had dust balls hanging from them, made you wonder what else was not cleaned daily. Thankfully we only stayed one night and did not need a shower. The location is right off of I20 and the traffic noise was very loud, particularly the number of cars needing to blare their bass music. This is the worst Best Western I have ever stayed at, VERY disappointing and so not worth the monies we paid. Buyer be VERY AWARE.

Room Tip: Best option is to not use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is old and a little rough around the edges. They are doing some remodeling and it is noisy during the day. Has a shuttle to the casinos but is kind of hit and miss on the time it takes. Overall for the price and for a nights sleep and an ok breakfast I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Hotel
Best Western Chateau Hotel Shreveport
Best Western Shreveport
Shreveport Best Western
Address: 201 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redriver business & casino district of Shreveport, LA. Hotel Amenities:• Complimentary Southern style full hot buffet breakfast •$5.00 nightly drink voucher at ‘Le Club’ (located on property)• Complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our facility including all area casinos, the Louisiana Boardwalk and Shreveport Downtown & Regional Airport between 8:00 a.m.& 10:00 p.m. •Outdoor pool (seasonal) •24 hour extended exercise facility •Full kitchen with 2 toom suites available •24 hour front desk service •Complimentary USA Today Newspaper (M-F) •12 hr turnaround dry cleaning service available (M-F) •Guest laundry facilities on site •Safe deposit box available at front desk Guest room door locks •32" LCD screen satellite televisions in every room •In-room mini/snack bar vending •Multiple elevators for convenience •Ice / vending machines •Complimentary parking on site •Fax services at nominal charges• Photocopy services at nominal charges •Meeting rooms available for conference services •Exhibit services •Audio/Visual equipment rental available •Large business center with complimentary internet •Complimentary wireless internet access •Full catering available for events •Corporate direct billing service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.