We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport to your Saves list
Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Remarkable value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The one way system in Shreveport is rather a challenge, so we found it hard to actually locate an hotel without the Internet. We tried a Holiday Inn but were not impressed so my husband popped across the road to this Best Western. We were given a whole suite at an incredible rate. Apart from being enormous, with a kitchen, sitting room and bedroom with huge king sized bed, our suite was clean and well decorated. There was a good range of amenities provided in the bathroom and it was super to drink our coffee from proper mugs!

When we checked in, the staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the morning was a hot buffet with a good range of food provided. The orange juice was particularly yummy, being a natural one. If the weather had been better, we would have made use of the attractive pool. The location is excellent, being within walking distance of a great bar! Also you are not too near the casinos, although the hotel has a free shuttle bus which will take you there if you can't resist that ambling urge.

Other reviewers commented on the noise and, while the hotel is right bang next to the freeway, we didn't find the traffic noise a problem. You could hear the trains hooting during the night but I rather like that sound.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    64
    34
    49
    74
See reviews for
73
90
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the worst experience of all my stays at Best Western! We tried to check in at 4:00 and waited an hour before we were told the rooms were still not clean. Returned at 9:30 p.m.and still not clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in room 508 first night. Small room with shower that felt squishy like you were standing on one of those stress balls. Moved to 502 for 5 nights - large 2 room suite with 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette (solid shower floor!). Not a bad room - especially for $100 per night. Bring a fan or ear plugs to drown out the traffic and train noise. Lots of train traffic and horn honking. Recent change in ownership has discouraged lots of employees. Management not very helpful in making reservation. Breakfast is not bad - eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, grits and bagels/toast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I just recently stayed with the BWCS Shreveport, The room is average. The wait you will have to wait to get a room could be anywhere from 20 min to an hour (with reservation) If you book for a smoking room you will probably not get one of the five in the hotel. They have 6 chairs on a open area outside. The bar inside the hotel has a rude bartender who doesn't know mixology a bit. r My wife ate 1 can of Pringles a bag of M&M's and drank one drink from the minni bar and we paid 34.87. The "free" breakfast is hot and horrible. I am a best western member and I am very disappointed with my service.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn is right across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This used to be our favorite moderately priced hotel in a location convenient
to the casinos and other attractions.They have the nicest staff you could hope for
and used to have a really good complimentary breakfastHhowever ,ownership
has apparently changed and things are going steadily downhill.We checked in about 4:30
and couldnt get a towel until6:30.The breakfast is being cut back-the biscuits,gravy,sausage
fruit hashbrowns andfyogurt are gone.The staff is really trying to please but it appears the staff has been
cut back.you can sense that morale has really dropped.What a shame!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#9 of 36 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#7 of 36 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shreveport
0.4 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Address: 201 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Red river business & casino district of Shreveport, LA. Hotel Amenities:• Complimentary Southern style full hot buffet breakfast .Complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our facility including all area casinos, the Louisiana Boardwalk and Shreveport Downtown & Regional Airport between 7:30AM a.M.& 10:00 P.M. •Outdoor pool (seasonal) •24 hour extended exercise facility •Full kitchen with 2 room suites available •24 hour front desk service •Complimentary USA Today Newspaper (M-F) •12 hr turnaround dry cleaning service available (M-F) •Guest laundry facilities on site •Safe deposit box available at front desk Guest room door locks •32" LCD Flat screen satellite televisions in every room • •Multiple elevators for convenience •Ice / vending machines •Complimentary parking on site •Fax services at nominal charges•Photocopy services at nominal charges •Meeting rooms available for conference services •Exhibit services • •Large business center with complimentary internet •Complimentary wireless internet access •Corporate direct billing service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Hotel Shreveport
Best Western Shreveport
Shreveport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.