We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Completely Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The outside is nothing spectacular and the front lobby area was good enough. However, once assigned a room that's where the rating goes down, way down. There was one elevator that was excruciatingly slow and dirty. Once we arrived at our room and opened the door it was evident this was not going to be a good experience. Most hotel doors automatically close after you open them, but not this hotel, the door stays open until you physically close it. Upon inspection of the room, there was no comforter or duvet on either bed, just two sheets and a blanket, along with 3 couch sized pillows that were not comfortable at all. The bed skirt/dust ruffle was ripped and torn on each bed, the decor was dated, the reception on the tv was horrible as there was static on every channel, despite being cable. The bathroom had hair on the floor and a hole in the wall behind the door where the eraser sized lock had punctured through it. The noise in the hall and between rooms was noticeable and contributed to a lack of sleep. The hotel offered a "free hot breakfast". We went down the first morning and tried it. It was awful, the juice dispenser didn't work, the eggs and gravy tasted like a reconstituted powder and the rest appeared unappetizing. Needless to say we didn't return the next morning. While the staff were pleasant, this hotel clearly is in need of a major renovation/update to be on par with other 3 star hotels in the area. This hotel is AT BEST a 2 star. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    25
    38
    57
See reviews for
56
57
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stay here at least once a year. The suites are spacious and clean. Conveniently located at the edge of downtown.
I've read several reviews that say it is outdated, I prefer to think of it as classic.
There is a good breakfast each morning. The bar is a little small and smokey, but quaint.
I recommend this hotel if you want a reasonably priced, large hotel room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came without a reservation and Delilah checked us in. What a sweet and friendly person. Casey also is a nice young lady. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was quite nice. It was clean and the amenities good. Breakfast was tasty and plentyful. Delilah recommended a place for dinner and their shuttle service provided the ride there and back. How nice is that? We would stay there again. The location in downtown Shreveport was close to their summer Red River Revel festival. Fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The front desk person was not professional looking at all. We has to change rooms and still has issues with the second room. AC didn't work, lamps not working, TV kept fuzzing out, no blankets in room at all, toilet broken, shower curtain didn't fit, phones wouldn't dial out, the list is long. No late checkout was available and we had a "double suite" and there where 4 of us and they said only 2 of us where allowed to eat breakfast. Housekeepers were rude and argumentative and our door keys had to be replaced right when we first tried to go in. This hotel needs a lot of work and updating. It's way to pricey for what it offers. Staff needs a lot of work as well. Do not reccomend this hotel if you want something nice. Beds are uncomfortable and pillows are horrible as well. You are better off paying more and getting you money's worth somewhere else. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a splurge for us but celebrated the end of our trip being near. The hotel may be a bit outdated with it's decor and furnishings but has a great staff and rooms. We enjoyed their pool, used their business center, and thought the breakfast was first class. The restaurant was closed on Friday night which left the Holiday Inn across the street or a unique place called the Blind Tiger within walking distance. Had we not wanted to walk to either of these shuttle transport was available to either or to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Checked in @ 12:30pm and Delila was helpful and smiling. Had lunch in the resturant. Didnt like the tea but when i told the waitress she immediately made some fresh tea. WE were given a special dicount as well which was good. Went to the room and the duvet and entire bed was soft and huge. The room smelled of fresh berries which was odd but it made me feel at home!.
WE then left and went to the boardwalk and came back and they had a nightly snack awaiting us at the desk and then we woke for breakfast an it was moreeee than what i expected. Fresh everything and everyone was so nice. They even made us a fresh omelet. WE paid 79.99 for the room and then recieved our best western points and we were extremely happy and i will be bringing more people to this hotel. Thanks
Delila, Dinora, Rose and Jackie

Room Tip: Ask for Dinora, Delila or Rose when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very classy a little outdated but very nice and the staff was very sweet and helpful! They had a very friendly bellman to help with luggage and the front desk was very helpful and knowledgeable of the to do's in the area! They gave me a voucher for the bar and breakfast buffet which was very yummy! We read previous bad reviews all i can say is you cant please everyone! Overall my stay was relaxing and my room was nice and stocked with a minibar and snacks i will definitely recommend this to all my friends and family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel

Address: 201 Lake Street, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redriver business & casino district of Shreveport, LA. Hotel Amenities:• Complimentary Southern style full hot buffet breakfast Complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our facility including all area casinos, the Louisiana Boardwalk and Shreveport Downtown & Regional Airport between 7:30AM a.M.& 10:00 P.M. •Outdoor pool (seasonal) •24 hour extended exercise facility •Full kitchen with 2 toom suites available •24 hour front desk service •Complimentary USA Today Newspaper (M-F) •12 hr turnaround dry cleaning service available (M-F) •Guest laundry facilities on site •Safe deposit box available at front desk Guest room door locks •32" LCD Flatscreen satellite televisions in every room • •Multiple elevators for convenience •Ice / vending machines •Complimentary parking on site •Fax services at nominal charges• Photocopy services at nominal charges •Meeting rooms available for conference services •Exhibit services • •Large business center with complimentary internet •Complimentary wireless internet access •Corporate direct billing service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Hotel Shreveport
Best Western Shreveport
Shreveport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.