We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just As Great As They Say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast" to your Saves list
2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2439 Fairfield Ave, Shreveport, LA 71104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Shreveport B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just As Great As They Say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just spent three nights at 2439 Fairfield. Jimmy Harris' passions for hospitality, outstanding food and antiques is incredible good luck for the rest of us! We, too, felt that we were visiting a close friend in his gracious and beautiful home. The breakfast is unbelievably good with lots of interesting variety. I can't say enough good things about this B&B or Jimmy and Brian's welcome. A real southern treasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Once again if in Shreveport stay at this B & B; large rooms, private baths, great antiques, and the breakfast is outstanding, you will not want lunch! It is convienent to everything and Jimmy can tell you the best places for anything you desire.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We always enjoy staying at a Bed and Breakfast rather than a hotel. Jimmy made our 2439 Fairfield stay a wonderful experience. We left feeing we had spent the weekend with a long time friend. The food was delicious, the home was relaxing and Jimmy was an exceptional host! The experience of arriving at a strangers home and being welcomed like a long time, cherished friend creates such pleasant memories. Thank you Jimmy for welcoming us and making our weekend special!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Need a great place to stay right down the street from the medical centers and physician offices? This is it! Centrally located - the Fairfield is perfect for what we need to do: See our customers, have a quiet to place to work inbetween with wireless capability - all the amenities of a hotel with a much more casual yet personal touch. A wonderful one-of-a-kind breakfast is included and several great restaurants are close by. Plus, they've hosted many reps in the past and enjoy our visits....I highly recommend you put 2439 Fairfield in your Blackberry -----! Be sure you ask about the corporate rate.

Room Tip: Lots of options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

2439 Fairfield and Jimmy were amazing! My husband is already urging me to book a weekend for Christmas 2012... When we visited (January 6-8), the holiday decorations were still up and it was really great. No matter what we might do at home, it could never match Jimmy's nutcrackers and villages and dangling icicles.
Well, one must realize that it's a bed and breakfast -- so there is neither a-lot of staff nor a million options. This place is cozy, comfortable, and welcoming!
Breakfast was GREAT! When I asked Jimmy for his hashbrown casserole recipe, he wisely suggested that we buy a cookbook with all of the recipes. We were really happy to. We have had the cookbook in our kitchen for a week, and yesterday, I called my husband from the grocery store for the info. about the hashbrown casserole, and he smartly flipped to the mushroom / tiny sausages recipe, and this morning (one week after our departure), we re-created Jimmy's recipes here at home. It was great, and absolutely worth the $18!
Unfortunately, this was a working weekend for my husband. So, my 13-year-old Pomeranian and I were sort-of trapped all day. Jimmy recommended a walking-route (which we did twice), a lunch place (Are you kidding me??? We were so full from breakfast that we still couldn't eat a full dinner, but thanks for the gesture!), and a lovely little store where he knew the owner wouldn't mind my shopping with my little purse-puppy (The Enchanted Garden -- they did not mind at all, and were ever so sweet!). When we were finished discovering the area, my puppy and I returned and I think we had the place to ourselves. We hung-out on our little (Paul Stetson Room) porch and surfed the internet on the wi-fi. Later I took a nap... It was the most relaxing weekend in recent memory!
Everything was nice and normal -- good water pressure, easy access via second-floor stairs, coffee-maker if you want it on the 2nd floor, etc. etc...
Thanks, Jimmy, for a great weekend. Looking forward to seeing you for Christmas! :)

Room Tip: There are good descriptions on the website. If you're particular, you should look at the pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I visited this Bed and Breakfast to start 2012 off right - and that is exactly what happened! We enjoyed every aspect of the B&B from the beautiful Christmas decorations to the exquisite breakfast in the morning. We were treated as if we were the only people there! The history is incredible and it can be seen throughout the many rooms of the house. We will definitely be back to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you can - you must stay in the Jamie Alice Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We always check availbility at this B & B before looking at hotels in the Shreveport/Bossier area. It is the most relaxing, wonderful experience for the value and the best location for any activity in this area. Jimmy's breakfasts are a destination and his service to your needs unequaled. This is one of those places that you will return to every time your in the area.

J.R./Lufkin, TX

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"

Address: 2439 Fairfield Ave, Shreveport, LA 71104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast" 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen in Southern Living, Better Homes and Gardens, Country Inns Magazine, Arringtons Inn Traveler, Best Places to Stay in the South and many others! Top 24 inn of the US in 1994! Victorian Splendor with all the comforts of home. Great place for a special leisure getaway and for business travelers as well! Private whirlpool baths, balconies, the most comfortable beds and a wonderful proper English breakfast! Conveniently located to all the local attractions and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.