We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, great breakfast, AND welcomed our 12-year-old dogger!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"

Save Saved
You added 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast" to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2439 Fairfield Ave, Shreveport, LA 71104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Shreveport B&B and Inns
Weatherford, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, great breakfast, AND welcomed our 12-year-old dogger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

2439 Fairfield and Jimmy were amazing! My husband is already urging me to book a weekend for Christmas 2012... When we visited (January 6-8), the holiday decorations were still up and it was really great. No matter what we might do at home, it could never match Jimmy's nutcrackers and villages and dangling icicles.
Well, one must realize that it's a bed and breakfast -- so there is neither a-lot of staff nor a million options. This place is cozy, comfortable, and welcoming!
Breakfast was GREAT! When I asked Jimmy for his hashbrown casserole recipe, he wisely suggested that we buy a cookbook with all of the recipes. We were really happy to. We have had the cookbook in our kitchen for a week, and yesterday, I called my husband from the grocery store for the info. about the hashbrown casserole, and he smartly flipped to the mushroom / tiny sausages recipe, and this morning (one week after our departure), we re-created Jimmy's recipes here at home. It was great, and absolutely worth the $18!
Unfortunately, this was a working weekend for my husband. So, my 13-year-old Pomeranian and I were sort-of trapped all day. Jimmy recommended a walking-route (which we did twice), a lunch place (Are you kidding me??? We were so full from breakfast that we still couldn't eat a full dinner, but thanks for the gesture!), and a lovely little store where he knew the owner wouldn't mind my shopping with my little purse-puppy (The Enchanted Garden -- they did not mind at all, and were ever so sweet!). When we were finished discovering the area, my puppy and I returned and I think we had the place to ourselves. We hung-out on our little (Paul Stetson Room) porch and surfed the internet on the wi-fi. Later I took a nap... It was the most relaxing weekend in recent memory!
Everything was nice and normal -- good water pressure, easy access via second-floor stairs, coffee-maker if you want it on the 2nd floor, etc. etc...
Thanks, Jimmy, for a great weekend. Looking forward to seeing you for Christmas! :)

Room Tip: There are good descriptions on the website. If you're particular, you should look at the pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I visited this Bed and Breakfast to start 2012 off right - and that is exactly what happened! We enjoyed every aspect of the B&B from the beautiful Christmas decorations to the exquisite breakfast in the morning. We were treated as if we were the only people there! The history is incredible and it can be seen throughout the many rooms of the house. We will definitely be back to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you can - you must stay in the Jamie Alice Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We always check availbility at this B & B before looking at hotels in the Shreveport/Bossier area. It is the most relaxing, wonderful experience for the value and the best location for any activity in this area. Jimmy's breakfasts are a destination and his service to your needs unequaled. This is one of those places that you will return to every time your in the area.

J.R./Lufkin, TX

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I chose a room here to be close to the casinos for her birthday. We were very pleased. Jimmy made sure we felt welcome and that we enjoyed our stay. The place itself is beautiful. It's nice to stay somewhere that is not a cookie cutter copy type of establishment. The history and the atmosphere behind this bed and breakfast makes it a great place to stay. And Jimmy himself is a walking talking road map / encyclopedia of knowledge about Shreveport. He can get you anywhere you want to go and if you don't know where you want to go he can recommend some really cool little places that the average visitor would drive right by.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Jimmy was great as our host we had a late check-in that was handled very well, directions were excellent. Our room was the Vicki Gail Suite, it was very well appointed, with the largest bed I have ever seen, a great bathroom , the furnishings in the room were outstanding as they are throughout the home. A balcony is directly available from this room and from other rooms. The area is quiet and restful with large well maintained homes. Breakfast is not to be missed. The location is perfect for any destination in the area. We have stayed at many B & B's, but this is one of the best and lived up to the Trip Advisor reviews. We will return to this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I took a weekend trip at the last minute and they were wonderful and welcoming. The Christmas lights and decor was phenomenal and it wasn't even December yet! Love it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We have stayed at 2439 Fairfield several times. The owner, Jimmy, is an awesome host, and really makes us feel like family. The bed is unbelieveable, lots of pillows and a down pillow top make extremely comfortable. There are plenty of antiques and the whole house is beautifully decorated. There's a balcony for each bedroom to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful weather. Breakfast is outstanding, everything is delicious and there's a good variety. It would be impossible to find a place with better hospitality, comfort, a convienient location, and delicious food. It is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast"

Address: 2439 Fairfield Ave, Shreveport, LA 71104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast" 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen in Southern Living, Better Homes and Gardens, Country Inns Magazine, Arringtons Inn Traveler, Best Places to Stay in the South and many others! Top 24 inn of the US in 1994! Victorian Splendor with all the comforts of home. Great place for a special leisure getaway and for business travelers as well! Private whirlpool baths, balconies, the most comfortable beds and a wonderful proper English breakfast! Conveniently located to all the local attractions and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2439 Fairfield "A Bed & Breakfast", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.