We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strawn's Eat Shop

Strawn's Eat Shop
125 Kings Hwy, Shreveport, LA 71104-3402
+1 318-868-0634
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 416 Restaurants in Shreveport
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Description: We are the ultimate "mom and pop" restaurant, open since 1944. We serve breakfast, hamburgers, blue and plate lunch/dinners, but we are best know for our mouth-watering and satiating ice-box pies.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was an old time diner. This place was packed and their was a reason. Great food and great prices. Best sweet tea ever !! Our waitress was awesome.. Did I say awesome. We ate breakfast and it was so good. Would recommend to anyone with a big appetite. Generous servings. Again great prices. Local place with lots of personality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pie ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I just discovered this place two months ago, and I have already been back four times! The meatloaf, collard greens and cornbread are great but the strawberry pie is the bomb! It's a must place to visit and eat while in Shreveport.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“ehhh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Not all it's cracked up to be at all. I had heard the pie was amazing but it was mostly just whipped cream. The food wasn't very good either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This place has held up for the years. Thank you Buddy you took the place over from Gus and it still is wonderful thank you .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food...Mixed Up Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The menu was very limited. Most of the items listed were no longer available. We were there about 7 PM, I guess this is a little late for most of their customers. When the waitress brought our food out the sides were incorrect and or mixed up. After several attempts to get the correct sides some of us just finally gave up.
We all (party of 4) wound up with the same entree, a chicken fried steak that was very good and stood up to all of the hype and our memories from years ago. Everyone also enjoyed the sides that we finally wound up with, even if, it wasn't exactly what we had ordered.
I ordered chocolate pie, not as good as I remembered but not bad. Others who ordered the strawberry pie (one of their specialties, they are known for) did not seem to be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawn's Eat Shop also viewed

 

Been to Strawn's Eat Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawn's Eat Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.