We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant time with wannabe owners.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moonrider Inn

Save Saved
You added Moonrider Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonrider Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5215 Monkhouse Drive, Shreveport, LA 71109 (Formerly Pelican Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant time with wannabe owners.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I came there last week and rented a room, the room was great. However, when I went to the pool I was harassed by a white male and his son. They started questioning me about do I have a room here and demanded to know my name. They little boy went to the front desk to question the girl on duty about my information she didn't comply with his demand. I came to the front desk and talked to the desk clerk and she said their is not a white male who works there. When I went back outside they disappeared in their room, so I figured it out they are residents here. Other than those two my stay was very nice. I would recommend Pelican Inn to many others but only if they do something about the residents in Room 180. Their attitudes are bad for business and this companies reputation especially given this hotel past history.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The title is a good thing, the outside looks like someone ran over the place with three cans of paint. It needs a new coat of paint and a new color as well. The rooms are very nice, new carpet, bathroom, marble vanity, the whole enchilada. My room had this ginormous spa bathtub, it looked like one of those private spa rooms at fancy hotels. It had a glass panel that covered it and was very impressed with it. They have safe deposit boxes in the room to insure that the maids dont steal any of your valuables, ive had bad experiences in the past. So the safety deposit box is a plus. For a motel in this condition, i must say not bad. Their still in the process of renovating as i heard and they hope to finish everything by the fall of 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for the wifi password when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono'Mtn, Pa.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We checked in early,watched a little tv and then went to eat dinner. When we returned the TV was out and did not return until the next morning as we were checking out. They blamed it on the cable supplier but I don't know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

hi,my name is Teresa , I just want to say that ,i remember what the Pelican used to be like ,because i used to work here in 2004...Yes it had a very bad reputation,but like people,things can change for the better..Now i am staying at the Pelican ,we tried the regency,but the management wasn't very professional and the bad things i think have moved over there.then the marrington,but it was to loud in the hall ways and the pool wasn't clean,couldn't get on wifi the whole time we were there.So i came over and look at the rooms at the Pelican and was very imprest,see i worked at the Quaility inn which is a choice hotel and the rooms at pelican were cleaner then ones at the quailty inn,the staff here are superb,the pool is wonderfully clean they have a nice barbeque area by the pool,frankly i am very impressed with the change around here ,and am really enjoying our stay here....Everyone needs to give the Pelican another chance and check it out for yourself..... Thank you Pelican Inn,we are really enjoying our stay here....

Room Tip: it is very quit around here.get a room around the pool,i love waking up to see the beautiful blue wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long View, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at this property all last week. They have just re-opened. It has been renovated. It is great! The service was the best at any property that I have stayed in the area, very FRIENDLY!

Room comfortable & clean. I understand it is under new ownership as well as management.
If you have to stay in the Shreveport-Bossier City Area. you need to give them a try....our company has made them our new place to lodge.We are out of Longview,Texas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Moonrider Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks for your support. Glad to hear you enjoy staying with us. The Brand New Pelican Inn & Suites wants to be a place where our guest can feel like home. Be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to serve you better in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

The Hookers Kept You Up All Night
Scary Blood Stains And Holes In The Wall
Fighting Outside
The Pool Was Never Clean

The Hotel Went Out Of Business And Is Still Out
The Health Department Closed It Down Becuase It Was In Bad Shape...If It Ever Opens Up I Wouldnt Reccomend Staying There, My Advice Would Be Drive In To Bossier City Which Is Probably 5-10 Miles From The Pelican And Stay At The Days Inn

The Pelican Inn Is An All Around Bad Hotel.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moonrider Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrider Inn

Address: 5215 Monkhouse Drive, Shreveport, LA 71109 (Formerly Pelican Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonrider Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pelican Inn & Suites! Conveniently located near the Shreveport Regional (SHV) Airport, Pelican Inn & Suites offers superior customer service, affordable rates and comfortable accommodations.Appointed newly renovated guest room and suites at this brand new Pelican Inn & Suites, includes a variety of amenities and several room types choices for guests. You can have a relax time with watching sports game in our lounge, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant.Make your next unforgettable stay with the Pelican Inn & Suites in Shreveport, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moonrider Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonrider Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.