We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not great, not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tacomania Grill Cantina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tacomania Grill Cantina
641 E Kings Hwy, Shreveport, LA 71105
(318) 868-4588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 416 Restaurants in Shreveport
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok, not great, not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tacomania looks like it could be a great spot to eat: nice chairs outside for the good weather, pleasant and open (but not off-puttingly fancy) on the inside.

The problem is the food: it's ok, but nothing to write home about. I've eaten there twice now (always like to give a restaurant more than once chance), and I'm just not sold on it. The ground beef fillings have an odd consistency in the mouth, and the flavorings just don't seem to blend properly. The tamales are good but not much above just purchasing tamales from the grocery and pouring a bit of sauce on them. The chilli rellenos is good (I particularly appreciated the battering, just the right sort of batter) but while it's better than some it's not as well cooked as others. As I say in the title, not great, not bad.

This might be more the place for large groups to go, where the focus is on the pitchers of margaritas than on food. There always seems to be a large group having a blast (though the acoustics are such that nearby families and couples don't seem to be enjoying the noise level).

On the plus side: the servers are polite and quick, and Tacomania has good salsa--and gives each table a small pitcher of it (!). You'll certainly never go hungry here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Big Burrito and Good Taco Soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have no idea why its called the California Burrito but its good. The massive burrito spans the length of a dinner plate, I opted for the beef. Comes mixed with refried beans. Topped with sour cream. Very good. The side dish of rice is unassuming, slight hint of garlic with small amount of corn added. My date had taco soup, her favorite. I didn't taste it but she says its wonderful.

The chips and salsa served beforehand were good. The chips crisp not oily. The salsa had a good amount of tomato chunks along with the pepper and onion. Both needed salt in my opinion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not to my taste in Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I jprefer the Mexican food at Trejo's in Bossier City, only a mile or so east of Tacomania. Perhaps the food at Tacomania is authentic Mexican and the food at Trejo's is Tex0Mex. I prefer Tex-Mex.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place great tacos and very good service. They also had pitchers of Horchata for the true authentic Mexican feel. Home made sals was also very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Umm...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Don't get me wrong, the food is amazing, but apparently they have a bug problem. It might be from the gaping whole in the wall in their main dining room. I (sadly) won't eat there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacomania Grill Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Tacomania Grill Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacomania Grill Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.