We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return Again... Soon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport to your Saves list
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Travis Street, Shreveport, LA 71101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall into the Remington
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will Return Again... Soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the Remington March 21, 2013. It was a brief stay. Only overnight, but it set the expectation for the rest of my travels. The location was ideal to shopping and casinos. I didn't have the time to do either and it was quite cold. The design, and comfort of the hotel is what impressed me. Valet was timely and a well worth it flat fee. My only disappointments, the jetted tub needed some elbow grease for grout removal, it was also slow to fill, and would not stay full unless the water was constantly running. Also there was no onsite dinning or room service... I had to hunt down food. Hated that. On an AMAZING note the 2-Story Suite with the spiral staircase was beautiful, floor to ceiling windows brought wondrous light. A little tight for the not so lean however. Entry into the room on both levels and prompt answers at the front desk were also a plus. Fortunately, I was advised they are adding dinning options in the near future. One of them being roof top dinning. I will be back to see the updates. Soon!

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, choose the two-story suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    30
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
45
66
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our stay at The Remington Hotel, was incredible. The staff was so helpful, polite and most of all attentive. The building is really nice looking and located in a GREAT area but what was really awesome was the rooms. I reserved two rooms adjoining for my family of five. When we walked in, they already knew who we were and had EVERYTHING prepped and in place. The rooms were gorgeous. Each room had a plush king size bed, huge bathrooms with a jacuzzi bath tubs, living room area totally modernized. The attention to detail, EXCELLENT. The cleanliness of the room, EXCELLENT. We felt completely at home there and hated to leave.
When I reserved the rooms three weeks in advance, I spoke to Mr. Larry Lincoln and he arranged everything, I could not have been happier.
My daughter left her exercise board in the lobby of the hotel accidentally and, the staff actually held on to it, contacted us and arranged to have it shipped to my residence in Texas.
The pool was beautiful, my three kids had the time of their lives using the pool and the hot tub.
The price for the rooms was incredible reasonable, and can say whole heartedly that if and when my family ever get back to Shreveport LA, we will be staying at The Remington.
Absolutely wonderful.
The Young Family

Room Tip: Ask for Larry Lincoln.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I checked into this hotel for two nights and, since I paid in cash, had to pay an extra 300 deposit. Far enough. The room was nice, jacuzzi tub was great. I was there for only a few hours before I left the room to enjoy Shreveport. While I was gone, the maids snuck into my room, ignoring the "Do Not Disturb" sign I made sure to hang on the door, and the fact that I had told the manager I did not want maid service. The staff accused me of towel theft because I took a couple of extra towels (maybe 3) from the maid cart. The maid saw me and I showed and told her about the towels. It was no big deal to me. I get extra towels at nearly every hotel I stay in. It was no more than 3 towels and 3 washcloths and I was to be there 2 nights and did not want maid service. The rooms are nice and if you are not a pretty young woman, the staff will likely be very nice to you. All discrimination is wrong and hotel staff is there to make all paying guests feel welcome. If they snuck into my room, what would stop them from sneaking into yours? The experience I had shows what the staff of the hotel is capable of. I have stayed at 4, 4.5, and 5 star hotels across the country and never had any problems. I get some extra towels and leave them right there when I leave. I would not dream of stealing anything from anyone. This experience was horrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

It is the practice of the Remington Suite Hotel & Spa to respond to all guest comments, especially those that indicate we did not meet their expectations.

This is somewhat difficult in your case, as only you, the hotel management, and Shreveport Police are aware of the reason that your stay was upended and cut short. Any and all action taken was in the best interest and safety of all patrons, customers, staff and property.

Due to this incident, I am sure that your visit to the Remington Hotel and Shreveport in particularly, was not a memorable one, thus, in the best interest of your confidentiality, we feel further elaboration is not deemed necessary.

The Remington Hotel Suite and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wow! We were so impressed! Friendly and helpful service and the hotel was amazing! Everything about our room perfect! We stayed in one of the grand suites on their Sunday night special. What a deal! Offered dinner and breakfast which were exceptional! Walking distance to casinos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Remington was great. Wonderful service and the rooms are first class. Only left wishing there was more going on in their neighborhood besides casinos. Not many restaurants and things to do in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed there for our anniversary on Valentine's Day and we will definitely return next time we're in the Shreveport/Bossier area. This is why:

1. We were greeted by friendly,helpful staff and given red velvet cupcakes with cheesecake filling on top (it is like they knew I was coming!) - so delicious! All of the staff (receptionist, bellhop, custodians, etc.) have EXCELLENT customer service skills; we were truly impressed!

2. One of the staff members helped us with our luggage and when we got to the room, he quickly inspected the room to double check that all the lights were in working order and that the room was perfect - which we appreciated.

3. The room smelled and looked clean! We are germaphobes...as in we carry Clorox wipes when we stay at hotels and bring an extra towel just in case. There was no need here! It was well dusted and could not find a piece of hair or nail clippings. The towels, pillow, and sheets were spotless too!

4. The General Manager, Lou, also left us a sweet, hand-written "Happy Anniversary" card along with a box of chocolates. We appreciate this so much and it made our stay extra special! Thank you Lou!!!

5. We did not have a whole lot of time for breakfast, but they offer a nice spread. They had some of my favorites - Greek yogurt and fresh banana-nut muffins! They also have a variety of breads!

6. The hotel is just lovely and relaxing, and it's at a great location - especially if you plan on visiting The Boardwalk for shopping or food.

7. The rooms have PLENTY of space and storage. As a girly girl - I like to have an area to do hair and makeup that is not in the bathroom so I'm out of the way...and there was a nice dresser with mirror in the room that had outlets next to it. It just made our stay a little more pleasant!

I can see why the Remington Suite Hotel is rated #1! They definitely deserve the title! Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!!

Thing to keep in mind:

There is not a parking lot for the hotel. However, there are parallel parking spots all around it. Just make sure by 8am that you put some coins in the meter so you don't get a ticket! The staff informed us of it when we checked in - cause they are great like that!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a charming and beautiful hotel, and the staff are outstanding. It is so nice to see a group tha truly understands what a commitment to the customer really means. Thank you Remington for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport

Address: 220 Travis Street, Shreveport, LA 71101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
#5 Family Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa, where you will find luxurious accommodations in our newly renovated suites. The new decor reflects the hotel's unique residential feel and comfortable atmosphere. The Remington Suite Hotel is a classic, timeless boutique hotel that provides impeccable service, an attentive and friendly staff and thoughtful amenities to ensure your absolute comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Remington Hotel Shreveport
Remington Suite Shreveport
Remington Suite Hotel Shreveport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.