We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not consistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southfield Grill

Southfield Grill
315 Southfield Rd, Shreveport, LA 71105-4111
(318) 219-4148
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 411 restaurants in Shreveport
Restaurant details
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose to go here because of the yelp reviews. We enjoyed the ambiance of the place, and the friendliness of the staff. However, the food came out very inconsistent. We ordered biscuits and gravy, pancakes, and french toast. The french toast was burnt and the biscuits were just so so. Even the OJ was a bit watered down. The only redemption to the breakfast was the pancakes, which tasted like homemade batter - slightly sweeter than usual and perfectly cooked.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    6
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“unclean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

very nasty and the lady' s act like that is what they are suppose to d not get a broom and clean up the for just nasty

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, La.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family and I eat at Southfield on a regular basis. We have always been pleased with the service and food. The servings are generous. The pies are to die for and the fried pork chops will make you slap your momma.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Husband likes diner food....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I really enjoyed being able to get an all vegetable plate.
after glancing at other reviews I'll say:
1. the food does come "fast" but that's NOT due to it being re-heated, rather all the selections are prepared and simply plated for each diner. This is traditional in the South. You'll notice various sides being scratched as they run out.
2. as far as "screaming children" we've never noted any...the clientele are elderly (for whatever reason) when we've been there.
3. my only problems with the place are; too salty, and I make fresh food at home. so we only go over there when we wanta relax. The food is better at home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good home-style cookin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

You can always count on Southfield Grill for good service and good down-home, rib-stickin' food. We have also visited the location on Benton Rd. in Bossier City and found it to be equally good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southfield Grill also viewed

 

Been to Southfield Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southfield Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.