We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mabry House Restaurant

Mabry House Restaurant
1540 Irving Pl, Shreveport, LA 71101-4604
318-227-1121
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 416 Restaurants in Shreveport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

You will definitely spend a pretty penny here, but it is well worth it! The meal was excellent and the service was top notch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just as good as last time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My parents were visiting from out of town so my husband and I took them to the Mabry House for dinner. My dad and I both ordered the red snapper. My dad can be a picky eater and he said it was the best fish he'd ever eaten. Another star of the evening was the mango and lychee tart with hibiscus ice cream. Unusual with a lot of flavor.

If you are looking for modern decor, this is not the place for you. It is a cool old house with furnishings to match. But you won't be able to beat the food or service. Ask for Joey. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is truly the best restaurant in Shreveport. Try to have dinner in the kitchen for a really unique experience. Food and wine are incredible as well as the service. Pricy but worth every penny.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, La
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great food all the way around on top of the quiet romantic candlelit atmosphere makes Mabry House well worth the money. Will definitely be returning!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reviews lie, it was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

First of all if you want to eat at your grandmothers house go here. The table was so small you could not even get food on it. Dinner rolls straight from SAMs, dinner overpriced as it can be and bland, need I say more.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabry House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mabry House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabry House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.