We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy -- Long line to get refunds” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Shreveport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Shreveport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7296 Greenwood Road, Shreveport, LA 71119 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Tyler Texas USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Filthy -- Long line to get refunds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

When we looked at the room, the bedspread was rumpled, the sheets were not entirely on the bed, and were filthy. We went down to the office to get a refund, and there was a long line -- probably 20 people -- waiting to get refunds. We got the refund and drove till late that night to get home to sleep in our own bed. I disinfected our bags and anything that had contact with any surface in the motel room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    4
    2
    15
See reviews for
6
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This Motel 6, which surprised me with a higher bill than other Motel 6s and no posted prices, is disgusting and maybe a little scary. The grounds are filthy, the rooms barely adequate even by Motel 6 standards and other guests--a scary lot--freely loitered outside their rooms till all hours of the night. Our room didn't have a refrigerator or microwave and we had to pay extra for wi-fi.

We're on a cross country drive with a dog, staying at Motel 6s along the way because it is an inexpensive, pet-friendly chain. After seeing the unevenness with which these motels are administered, I'm starting to wonder just what kind of standards and oversight Motel 6 provides their franchisees.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

This place was nasty. After tax it cost 50 bucks, and for 50 bucks you should at least get a place that is sorta clean. The sheets were stained and covered in hairs. I went to the front desk to get clean sheets and they didn't have any, so we put our sleeping bags on top of the covers. The tub and sink were filthy and stained. Trust me, you DO NOT want to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

The cost was $39.99 ($45.32). Other motels in area were double the price. I inspected room prior to check in. Sheets and showers were clean. What more do you want for $45?

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — No shampoo
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We booked online after seeing a picture of one of the newer Motel 6 properties at this Shreveport location. When we got there, it wasn't new at all. The building was completely ghetto. We wanted to cancel after driving up and seeing it. Unfortunately we arrived just after 6:00, which is the cut-off time, so we couldn't cancel our reservation. The room was small, our tv remote had no batteries, and there was a footprint of gunk ground into the carpet by the bathroom. We went out to visit family and came back to the room late. When I went to turn down the bed, there were NUMEROUS hairs and stuff on the sheets. It looked like they hadn't been washed. There was NO WAY I was sleeping in that. So, around 11:30 at night, I had to call the front desk to find out if they had another room. They did, but it had two double beds instead of a king. We took it. The new room looked slightly cleaner and the beds were fine, but there were hairs by the sink, the shower curtain had dirt on it, and there was some unknown gunk under the handicapped rail in the shower. *sigh* We slept ok, but wore flip-flops in the shower the next morning. I couldn't wait to check out of there. I honestly believe every germ and bacteria on God's green earth was having a party in that motel. There were also bags of garbage just sitting in the stairwells, which was pretty nasty. If this had been a restaurant, I would have turned them in to the health department.

I have stayed in many Motel 6 locations over the years, even old buildings, and never had a problem like this. This was completely unacceptable and disgusting. I cannot believe that Motel 6 would allow their name to be associated with this building. I don't mind staying in Motel 6 in the future, but never this location, and I will never book in advance with them again. You can't trust the pictures on their website. They are not representative of the property appearance.

We paid around $63 (with tax), but it was worth more like $5. The only decent, saving grace is that the staff was nice.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

I've stayed in plenty of Motel 6 locations throughout the US and they have been fine. This one was awful. My non-smoking room smelled like a cigarette box. I did not feel safe at all with the area and sketchiness of what was going on in the parking lot. It was such a bad experience that I left after being there for 30 minutes, drove a little bit down the road and found a different place to stay. The Motel 6 website completely misrespresented this facility with the photo they used.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Gosh, Where do I start on this one? We have stayed at different Motel 6's all over the country since my wife and I travel extensively. We were traveling from Florida and had made reservations earlier in the day so that we could get there, get into the room, and go out and get something to eat. It was also our wedding anniversary, so I had hoped to treat her to some food that was different than what we were used to in Arizona.
Anyway, Whenever I called in to make reservations I talked to a women named "Keesha" who told me that she would need a major credit card to hold the room. OK, No problem, I thought. I gave her the information, and she gave me the confirmation number, and I thought that everything was OK. That is, Until we tried to check in .
Upon checking in we were met at the door by a handwritten statement on the door that said that they were accepting "Cash only". I asked the women at the counter as to why they were doing this, and she said it was because their Credit Card machine was down, and they could not run the Cards. (The Credit Card Machine had been down for......get this....3 weeks!!) My wife asked the women behind the counter why they were taking Credit Cards over the phone in the first place if their Machine was down. She gave us some kind of vague answer. I asked her why I was not informed at the time I called to the problems that they were having concerning the Credit Card Machine. She said that she was not the person who answered the phone and took the call in the first place or she would have told me. But, She was the same person. I can't prove it, Because she didn't even have a name tag on, But she was the same person. Her attitude was one to behold. She acted like she didn't care whether we had a room or not. She offered no apologies, nor was she even sympathetic, or even friendly for that matter. We had the cash, But because of her attitude we elected to stay somewhere else.
We have stayed in different Motel 6's on our travels. Some have been good, Some bad. But this Employee just made a bad situation worse.
I will NEVER,EVER stay at this Motel 6 again!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything!!!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Shreveport

Address: 7296 Greenwood Road, Shreveport, LA 71119 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Shreveport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Shreveport Hotel Shreveport
Motel Six Shreveport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Shreveport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.