We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good here, some issues though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8340 Millicent Way, Shreveport, LA 71115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lots of good here, some issues though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel had its ups and downs during my stay. I was here for over 2 weeks so I saw almost everything there is to see here. I was in a king suite.

The pros:
Great layout! The room itself is well appointed with an "island" style room divider/work station. So there is tons of work top area to spread out on. And the TV is on a swivel mount so you can watch TV from the couch, desk, or bed.

There are lots of plugs throughout the room and at easily accessible locations. And the lighting is positioned so that it lights up the entire room. This hotel must have been remodeled not too long ago as not all the Hampton Inns have been updated in this way.

There is a good breakfast similar to most Hampton Inns. There are a lot of guys here for work though, so breakfast can run out quickly around the 6am-6:30am time.

The location is near a lot of restaurants, a Wal-Mart, and 3 gas stations, which is good for those who are working long hours and need these things close by.

The laundry company they use is Porter's which has awesome service. They also manage to get out old stains from my work clothes.

The front desk staff is very friendly and was able to accommodate me when my business trip ran long and I had to stay for 2 extra days. I appreciate that immensely!

The fitness center and pool were both very nice. The fitness center had a weight machine in addition to the treadmill and elliptical.


The cons:
The toilet has the type of seat seat missing the front part of the toilet seat.

There is water damage on wall closest to the shower that was there before I arrived.

The sink is slow draining which was a constant problem.

The shower has issues with maintaining temperature. The temp will change from burning hot to cold and back again within the space of a 10 minute shower.


Housekeeping:
The housekeeping staff was great about the little touches that make the hotel room look extra special. The only thing was that they always took the open bar soap from the bathroom even though the bars were only used once. I had even left a note asking not to take the soaps until they were used up more so I don't have to unwrap new ones every night.

Room Tip: I was in room 124, which is one of the closest to an exit and to the pool and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    29
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
50
13
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Love the beds here! The man who checked me in was beyond rude; however, the woman who was there during check-out brightened up the whole lobby and started my morning off beautifully. Other than the night clerk, my bathroom shower curtain smelled very musty. I just closed the door and spent minimum time there. The hotel is nice, and otherwise clean. Again, love the beds! They have a nice touch in the mornings with a "breakfast to go" bag, which I appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff go above and beyond friendly. We stayed in the king suite which was a really nice room except the bathroom vanity is outside of the bathroom next to the bed. Turning on the vanity light makes it impossible for someone to sleep. I ended up brushing my teeth and washing my face in the dark. We didn't really care for their pillows but our poor sleep quality was due to the person stomping around on the floor above us. Next time, I'll pack my own pillow, request a room on the top floor, and make sure the bathroom vanity is actually in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Friendly staff and overall good experience. Only suggestion would be to improve lighting in the room. The room I stayed in had no light fixture on or near the desk, making the desk useless after dark!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The family were here for a wedding and family reunion.The room was top notch, hotel was quiet at night, comfortable beds, breakfast in the morning was excellant than other Hamptons I've stayed in. Close to a serveral strip malls & other stores. Family enjoyed the indoor pool althought it was not heated (heater broken but we were warned). The staff were friendly and gladly met all of needs. When we ever get back to Shreveport we would want to stay here every time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here on April 9th. Very clean and great staff. Looks like it opened yesterday, but has been open 3 years. If in area in the future, I would stay there again. They really work hard to keep nice and clean. A very large and good breakfast. Near fast foods and a couple of hospitals.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hampton. The room was so nice and clean. The bedding was first rate and so comfortable. They thought of everything including packs of popcorn to pop in the microwave. The flat screen TVs were awesome as were all the bath products supplied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South

Address: 8340 Millicent Way, Shreveport, LA 71115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shreveport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
#5 Business Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Shreveport-South
Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South Hotel Shreveport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.