We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam's Town hotel is great, but the casino...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport to your Saves list
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Fort Worth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sam's Town hotel is great, but the casino...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

I was very pleased with the hotel room and the front desk staff. The room was large and very comfortable. The front desk and valet were very polite and helpful when we needed them. The deli breakfast was very good. Now, the detractors were the casino staff, the overwhelming smoke smell (not in the casino, but the hotel itself) and the buffet restaurant. My friend and I had never gambled in Louisiana (just LV and OK,) so we asked about the slot cards and were told that the money we inserted would "go onto the card." Well, this is obviously not the case. After moving to another slot machine, we took our cards with us only to find out that we were supposed to "cash out" and get a ticket. When we quickly discovered that our balance wasn't correct in the new machine, we asked for assistance. Some sleazebag who was obviously watching for nubes like us came along within just minutes and stole our cash ticket. The supervisor was not sympathetic, even though the casino employee at the card desk had obviously misinformed us. He would not credit either one of us...not even a comp! Just looked at us and tsked, tsked. Also, the waitress was walking around, without stopping, and saying "cocktails...cocktails..." I guess we were supposed to keep eyes and ears out and then tackle her to get her to stop and order our drinks...which were'nt good. Now the smoke...I know that casinos are smokey. But the hotel itself shouldn't smell like an ashtray throughout the lobby and through the halls. When we were in our rooms, we were fine, but as soon as we stepped out...eww. We went into the Horshoe to gamble and it was not like that at all, so I know they are not all like that. The buffet left a lot to be desired. Again, I know that buffets aren't supposed to be great, but some of the food was truly inedible. I'm not sure whether I would recommend this place or not. I think we might try to stay somewhere else next time. It's truly a roll of te dice.

  • Liked — The room. Very comfortable.
  • Disliked — The casino employees.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    134
    58
    39
    21
See reviews for
56
139
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Despite a couple of minor issues, Sam's is a decent place to stay.
We booked 2 rooms online and requested rooms on the same floor. I called 2 days prior to our arrival and was told that we had a 90% chance of having our request honored. Of course when we checked in our request had not been honored. But after 10 mins of pleading and initially hearing " I can't do anything about it" , amazingly our request was honored.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable - especially the beds! Overall cleanliness was mediocre (dusty furniture etc) but the sheets and towels were clean. We were there 3 nights and not once did we receive maid service. We had to call for fresh towels, which housekeeping did promptly deliver.
The casino was ok. The slots were very tight and the tables about the same. We had much better luck next door at the Eldorado.
The buffet, again, ok. However none of us are really big eaters so it was hard to get $16 worth of decent food.
The free parking was great - no problems there!
I think the room and service we received for the price (approx $110 a night) we paid was acceptable. We would stay there again for that price.

  • Liked — The location and comfy beds
  • Disliked — Lack of service and attention to detail
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Sam's Town is a great value for your money and frankly a great place to stay in Shreveport.

Sam's Town is a casino hotel with all of the pros and cons of this kind of hotel. We have stayed in other Shreveport casino hotels and we keep coming back to Sam's. You can either drive or take a shuttle to other casinos and places in the area. The buffet is above average with a good selection of food. What do you want, it is on the buffet. This is not a fancy buffet but we have always found something to eat on it every time. But if you don't like this buffet, go to another casino for their buffet. The Steakhouse / High end restaurant is very nice. A bit pricey but if you are winning why not?

The rooms are really nice. The night we were there the room rate was very reasonable. So on a room value basis we would put it up there with the Four Seasons. Now it is not the Four Seasons but the room value was there. Very Nice.

We also liked the fact that the smoking while permitted in the Casino was not as bad as some of the other places in town. It might have been the nights we have been to Sam's but all the same I can breath.

Sam's Town is above average dollar value for Shreveport, and we would recommend it to any one. As a side note, one of the other casino hotel rooms the same night we were in town was $100 a night higher. We put that on the tables and won at Sam's Town.

  • Liked — Great room, good food, great value
  • Disliked — Smoking in the casino
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edom, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We live about 2 hours from Shreveport and Sams. We have stayed in most of the hotels there and prefer Sam's. The room is always clean and pleasant. Several times we have been given rooms on the Concierge floor without requesting it The drinks and snacks there are enjoyable.

We love the casino because it is close to the hotel rooms- very little walking and no stairs. Perhaps we enjoy it because we are able to win. My husband does like to play poker and visits the other hotels for poker, but we continue to stay at Sam's.

The buffet at half price for seniors is a good bonus. Where else can you dine for so little money and effort?

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed 1 night here for business. The room & bathroom were big and everything looked very nice. Plus, I appreciated a non-smoking room that did not smell of smoke!
With a few improvements, things would have been much better and I would stay here again. As it is, I will probably try someplace else next time.
Had a problem at check-in because the hotel was reserved in my husband's name and he was doing the self-park across the street. Even though I had a driver's license showing the same last name and home address, the clerk refused to allow me to check-in! So, I had to step aside and get back in line when my husband arrived. In all our travels, we have never had this happen - and we never reserve as Mr & Mrs. Once in the room, we were impressed with the size and decor. However, we soon noticed the bathroom floor seemed to have numerous wet spots and the sink area rug was actually wet. We assumed the floor was recently cleaned and was in the process of drying. After returning from the evening, we realized there must have been/was a water leak someplace because there were more wet areas. At this point, we didn't want to bother re-packing and moving so we stayed and didn't bother to report the problem. The next morning we noticed the caulk around the inside of the bathtub was loose and had mildew. Also, three of the vanity lights kept turning off and on or shorting-out. The room could have been so much more with better housekeeping and maintenance issues addressed.

  • Disliked — Had to pay for internet - come on it's 2008!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

The trip to Shreveport was unfortunately prompted by the unexpected death of a family member. I relied on a web travel site to make reservations to Sam's Town. They had the cheapest rate available. The rooms averaged to about 70 dollars a night.

To be fair, I must say that in a bind, like we were, Sam's Town served our purpose. The rooms, especially the bathrooms were enormous. They were also reasonably clean. However, if you are anything like me, who is very particular with cleanliness and order. You will be able to notice that the corners of the room required extra attention as there was a layer of dust all around the room. The drapery behind the headboard also required some vacuuming. It is also very evident that the rooms are in need of some updating. Small areas of wall paper are peeling off. But like I said, the room was clean. The sheets and towels were spotless. The bed was comfortable. but something has to be said about the small pillows that the hotel provides. However, this is easily remedied by a quick trip to Wal Mart. There was also a small refrigerator in the room which allowed us to keep beverages.

I must say though that two negatives must be pointed out: the smoke odor and the cleanliness of the parking lot. Public parking is convenient and plentiful. However, the management should really pressure wash the place and place more trash bins. I don't smoke because of asthma. I had to stay as far away from the entrance to the casino as I have never smelled anything as revolting as that concentrated smoke smell in that general direction. The line to the buffet is in the same area and when I discovered there was a line to get in, I decided against eating there as I would have to suffer the smoke odor.

I hope this review would be helpful to someone.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryan tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We had a last min idea and my mom inlaw had a comp for a room we could not get in th big hotel but we were able to get into the HOLIDAY INN and they were great and the best hotel and even more the guys who took you to the casinos were great as well the nicest people i would stay there again great service thank you for all you did . the ZBORILS

  • Liked — The free shuttle service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.