We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport to your Saves list
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Edgewood, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed the night of August 13, 2014, in room 2207. It was very comfortable, clean, and roomy. LOVED the vanity area with the light-up makeup mirror. There was a small refrigerator in my room, which was quite unexpected for a casino hotel. From my experience at previous casino hotels - both in the Shreveport area and in Las Vegas - refrigerators are not provided because they want you to spend your money buying food and drinks from them.

My bed was very comfortable and there was no outside noise. Since I was on a concierge floor, a delicious continental breakfast was provided in the concierge lounge. I would definitely stay here again. The price was unbeatable for such a great room.

The only (very small) negative about this hotel is that the selection of TV stations leaves much to be desired. If you like sports or news, there is a great selection; otherwise there are only a few channels. This again lends itself to a casino hotel, I'm guessing; they want you downstairs in the casino and not in your room watching TV!

Room Tip: I can vouch for the rooms my party stayed in - 2205, 2207, and 2211. They were all clean, quiet, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    140
    61
    39
    21
See reviews for
57
145
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Ok I am not picky but the bathroom had hair all over, and don't bring your kids , Ok I understand making the pool 21 and over after Dark but heck check in is 4 and at 6 they make the pool 21 and over! Look Sam's Town, 21 and over is fine, but make it from 10 pm, most Kids are in bed by then just saying, this place needs to rethink some of their policies!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. As you mentioned we have recently changed the hours that guests under 21 years of age can enter the pool area. The policy change was put into place for the comfort and exclusivity for our guests that are 21 and over. Remember that all guests can enjoy our pool area until 6:00 PM everyday.

Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had made a quick, unexpected trip to Shreveport for a weekend in February. Sam's Town was very accommodating. Staff at check-in was very friendly. Room was surprisingly nice. Only complaint was from excessive noise on the floor of my room. Apparently, someone was having a party. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and it is actually really impressive. Each time, however, the casino leaves something to be desired. There is no "atmosphere". It's just a bunch of horrible fluorescent lighting, table games and slot machines. They really need to do some renovating. You are better off walking next door to El Dorado's casino even if you are staying in the Sam's Town hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I would like to thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that we are constantly updating all facets of our services and products to meet our customers’ high expectations. Your candid feedback has already been passed on to our Hotel Management so these issues can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Check in area was not easy to find. A/C in room was not working properly and had to deal w/maintenance in getting it repaired. Fire alarm went off for no reason. Room was by ice/vending machines and was noisy all night. Food at restaurant was mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for posting comments regarding your most recent stay. We apologize that your experience was not satisfactory, and we can assure you that these issues will be researched and resolved. We strive to provide a notable experience and it is customer feedback such as this that helps us to do just that. We would hope that you give us another chance to give you the type of experience that we have become known for in the Shreveport-Bossier market.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

July 31-Aug 2,We got here on Thursday evening,the room very nice and spacious,the staff very friendly and welcoming,the bathroom in the room,could have been cleaned more thoroughly the casino is so so,we played a lot lost a lot,we ventured out to other casinos in the area,the buffet left a lot to be desired,smokey joes awful,the Java cafe was ok,housekeeping can do a little better,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that our culinary staff is constantly working to improve and also update the products in each outlet in order to meet our customers’ high expectations. Your candid feedback has already been passed on to our Management Team so the additional issues you mentioned can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have stayed at this Casino Hotel for several years. My current stay has moved me to post a review.
The hotel rooms get high marks. They are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. They are a value for the prices charged. Bedding is excellent. The only negartive in the rooms is the internet service. The wif-fi here VERY inconsistant. I have had to re-connect to the service several times per evening. The speed is also inconsistent, very slow at times.
The lows at this casino hotel are the International Buffet, and the Casino itself.
The buffet has dropped in quality dramatically from what it used to offer. The food does not look appetizing, and the taste often confirms the appearance. Even the selection of dishes has diminished. I suggest a walk next door to the buffet at the Eldorado Hotel. It costs a little more, but you get your money's worth.
The second low is the casino. It looks old and tired. The employees are pleasant enough. The casino could use some re-freshening and some excitement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that we are constantly updating all facets of our services and products to meet our customers’ high expectations. This candid feedback has already been passed on to our Hotel Management Team so these issues can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.