We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam Town for overnight stay on I 20.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Save Saved
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sam Town for overnight stay on I 20.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Sam's town for an overnight stay on our trip from Dallas to New Orleans. Hotel rooms are nice. It was clean.We had my daughter and her 2 year old. Room was a suite, non smoking and big. Daughter had couch that was like a bed, she like it. We had king. beds, sheets, blankets, and pillows clean. Rug, acceptable. Best to book in advance and on line as it seems they book up around 7 pm even on Thursday night from "foot traffic.". Hotel parking is Valet so just go to valet. If you refuse to use valet you have to park in general parking. Tipping for valet is up to you, no charge. You can not get a cart without a bellman so plan accordingly. Hotel does not guarantee a non-smoking room. Hotel is part of a casino complex and public area has smell of tobacco. Not bad, but if you go into casine plan on washing clothers. For breakfast, restaurant is typical holtel fare. coffee shop (starbucks) has cheaper fare. Can not comment on lunch or dinner. We arrived around 8 p.m. and left by 9 a.m. People friendly enough. Casino nice enough. It is a good place. I would do it again but I am not a big casino person.

Room Tip: If you have to have a guaranteed non-smoking room book ealry and arrive by 5 p.m. There are no guar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    114
    46
    33
    20
See reviews for
48
119
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Me and my wife go to Sams town once a year on her birthday. We have stayed at the other hotels but the rooms were a little pricey and we did not win much. we're not big gamblers but we play enough to have our rooms compt . the rooms are great this service is great we will always stay at Sams town

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from staying at Sam's Town Hotel Casino. The rooms have been renovated and are very nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hallways are well lighted and clean. The personnel at the front desk were friendly but not sufficiently staffed. If you check in between 3pm and 6 pm expect to wait in a long line. For some reason or another it seem they take a long time to process guests into the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevators. Too much people traffic and noise from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here in April for Hubby's High School Reunion which was next door at the El Dorado. Rooms were cheaper on the weekend at Sam's Town, so we elected to stay there. It was a great choice. No, the casino isn't fancy, but the rooms were large and clean, and the service was excellent - from the front desk, to the security at the elevators, to housekeeping. We would not hesitate to stay here again. It is an easy walk next door to the El Dorado if you want a prettier casino to gamble in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed on 05/31/2013 and the room was very nice, very large. No issues with the room whatsoever. The only downfall was the casino was small and old. We headed over the river to gamble in Bossier City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very pretty, reminded me of Vegas. Beds were hard but I slept like a rock. The entire hotel including the room smelt like someone was smoking right next to you the entire time. My only real complain was the staff was extremely hateful. Except for the security lady by the elevators. She was very sweet. The valet people were extremely rude as was the lady at check in. We just needed a place to stay on a road trip to Disney world so we were just stopping in. For that it was top notch and worth every penny. Just dissapointed in the employees, I won't return for that fact alone. I can sit at the house and get treated bad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have always stayed at Diamond Jacks when we visit shreveport, but after staying at Samstown we will be back. The rooms were spotless and huge. Love the mini fridges in the rooms! The casino is one of the best in town. I really liked how close it is to eldarodo (about a 3 min walk). We have found our new hotel when we visit shreveport!

Room Tip: rooms next to elevators are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Casino
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport
Address: 315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.