We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love bumming around Britania Islands!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britania Islands

Britania Islands
Barangay Britannia, San Agustin, Mindanao 8305, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I love bumming around Britania Islands!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Britania Group of Islands is one of the best beaches I've been to in the Philippines. It's pristine water and soft powdery sand makes you wanted to stay. I would love bumming in this island all day long. But, this place is not yet ready to face international travelers because of it's underdeveloped infrastructures. You cannot find fine upscale accommodation here but it can outweighed by it's natural charm and beauty. I would love to go back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Britannia islands,Tandag SURIGAO del Sur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A group of islets off San Agustin.Lots of white sand , reachable by pump boat .It has a white sand bar called "naked island" because nothing grows in it.

How to get there:
Take a south bound bus (going to butuan or Davao ) from Tandag trip duration : about 1 hour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Feasting on powdery white sand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In my opinion, the Britannia Group of Islands is the next best thing to Boracay in the Philippines in terms of pristine white beaches some people at a time can enjoy. While Boracay have been a popular choice (because of the night life there), this group of islands offer adventurers a real deal and one would give a true appreciation of the spectacular white beaches from the four islands we visited.

I am not really fond of beaches, but when our entire family went last just weekend in this group of Islands, I was just simply amazed by the beauty of the nature it offers.

The Naked Island is the most popular island among all islands. Perhaps it was called naked because it was simply bare. Not a single tree you may find (our lovely coconut tree is present in most of the other islands). This is similar to the white island of Camiguin but it is just wider and even more beautiful. There are just beautiful stones and crystal clear sand. You may want to spend all day long in this island because of how lovely the island is. There is a long stretch of white sand that you may want to just stroll along. This is the best island to go swimming and experience two waves coming from different direction smash each other. My fellow photographer rightfully said: "This is where our camera and we ourselves will feast the white sands".

Access and Fees to the Islands:
These islands are accessible by ferry boats. The LGU and owners of the resorts in the main land allow visitors to the islands from 6AM to 4PM only. I believe the best time to visit the islands is as early as 6AM when the sun is still rising. The ferry boats cost Php1500 for 12 persons from our two families. It is their standard rate.

There are places to stay overnight in the main land. We stayed in Mac Arthur's place. Campers can have access without any fees. Food is delightfully available in Mac Arthur where their cooks cook food sumptuously. Sea foods are definitely fresh out from a fishermen's harvest.

How to get there:
It takes two hours by car from Butuan City. One may have to do some shortcuts in going there. Before reaching the town in Prosperidad, about four kilometers before that town, you must have to turn left in that diversion road. There are no public utility vehicles passing that road except for private cars, motorcycles and the like. This alternate road is about 28 kilometers long and it is properly paved or cemented. Reaching the intersection, one must have to turn left going to Lianga which is in Surigao del Sur already. After Lianga, the municipality of San Agustin is already the next town. You should not reach the town proper however to get to Bgy. Britannia. From the highway, it will take you two kilometers of rough road to reach the Mac Arthur place. The local tourism office collects Php25.00 per car as toll fees.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Feasting the white sands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In my opinion, the Britannia Group of Islands is the next best thing to Boracay in the Philippines in terms of pristine white beaches people can enjoy. While Boracay have been a popular choice (because of the night life there), this group of islands offer adventurers a real deal and one would give a true appreciation of the spectacular white beaches from the four islands we visited.

I am not really fond of beaches, but when our entire family went last just weekend in this group of Islands, I was just simply amazed by the beauty of the nature it offers.

The Naked Island is the most popular island among all islands. Perhaps it was called naked because it was simply bare. Not a single tree you may find (our lovely coconut tree is present in most of the other islands). This is similar to the white island of Camiguin but it is just wider and even more beautiful. There are just beautiful stones and crystal clear sand. You may want to spend all day long in this island because of how lovely the island is. There is a long stretch of white sand that you may want to just stroll along. This is the best island to go swimming and experience two waves coming from different direction smash each other. My fellow photographer rightfully said: "This is where our camera and we ourselves will feast the white sands".

Access and Fees to the Islands:
These islands are accessible by ferry boats. The LGU and owners of the resorts in the main land allow visitors to the islands from 6AM to 4PM only. I believe the best time to visit the islands is as early as 6AM when the sun is still rising. The ferry boats cost Php1500 for 12 persons from our two families. It is their standard rate.

There are places to stay overnight in the main land. We stayed in Mac Arthur's place. Campers can have access without any fees. Food is delightfully available in Mac Arthur where their cooks cook food sumptuously. Sea foods are definitely fresh out from a fishermen's harvest.

How to get there:
It takes two hours by car from Butuan City. One may have to do some shortcuts in going there. Before reaching the town in Prosperidad, about four kilometers before that town, you must have to turn left in that diversion road. There are no public utility vehicles passing that road except for private cars, motorcycles and the like. This alternate road is about 28 kilometers long and it is properly paved or cemented. Reaching the intersection, one must have to turn left going to Lianga which is in Surigao del Sur already. After Lianga, the municipality of San Agustin is already the next town. You should not reach the town proper however to get to Bgy. Britannia. From the highway, it will take you two kilometers of rough road to reach the Mac Arthur place. The local tourism office collects Php25.00 per car as toll fees.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Interesting Island-Hopping Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Located in Agustin, Surigao del Sur, the Jumping point to the Britania islands is still an underdeveloped town not yet ready to face foreign travelers. But the islands are beautiful and are worthy of visit. The local government needs a lot of support on how to be able to provide infrastructure for tourists.

When these islands get crowded which seem to be the case, it doesn't get that enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britania Islands also viewed

Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur Province
Bislig, Surigao del Sur Province
 
Tandag, Surigao del Sur Province
Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte Province
 

Been to Britania Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britania Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.