We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, PO Box 440, Saint Francisville, LA 70775   |  
Hotel amenities
Biloxi
1 review
“Great Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

St. Francisville is a charming town with so much to see. The Magnuson Hotel was a perfect spot to stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was so helpful with travel hints--they gave us great directions to all the plantations to visit and recommended super restaurants for our meals. The Magnuson is a hidden treasure in St. Francisville. I highly recommend a visit and stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. We take great pride in offering our guests true southern hospitality and i'm glad to see we didn't disappoint. We hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    17
    21
    24
See reviews for
23
34
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
gulf shores
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was an unexpected stop. However, the young man at the desk was "exceptional". He said he
was just out of training & was dealing with someone that didn't speak English. He reserved my room, efficiently & even gave me a discount because I had to wait while he was doing his best with the other guest. Our room was "updated" but there were a few items that still needed a bit of tweaking. It was clean, comfortable & extremely quiet. He gave us a courtesy call in about 20 minutes and again was apologetic about having multiple tasks and the wait. I told him he was handling everything great & thank you for checking. The view from the room in the morning over the little lake was great! Birds is all you will hear. The young man was back in the morning for check out. What an employee! Keep that one & give him a raise.

Room Tip: On the north side is a lake, beautiful & quiet view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel- St. Francisville. I'm very happy to see that the young man you spoke of, Preston, went above and beyond to make sure your stay with us was an enjoyable one. He had indeed just started with us and has proven to be a very valuable member of our Magnuson family. Thank you again for the kind words regarding him as well as with your stay with us.

We hope that if you ever find yourself in the area, you will give us the opportunity to host you once again. It would truly be "Our Pleasure" to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as we wanted to visit plantations in the area.All the inns and the best western were all booked so we stayed here.This is a motel with prices like a hotel.The first room we were given was dirty and outdated, nothing like the pictures online. The lady at the desk was very nice when we talked to her about it and moved us to a room in the back facing the lake.This was nicer with flat screen tv,microwave and refrigerator and updated bedding. The beds where comfy and it was nice and quiet, breakfast was descent but all in all overpriced though the proximity to the plantations is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. I'm sorry to see that you experienced some problems while staying with us but i'm glad to see we were able to take care of them and that you enjoyed our upgraded room. I have looked into the issues that you have mentioned and rest assured they are being addressed and corrected. I hope that if you are ever back in the area you will give us another opportunity to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We picked a busy time to visit St. Francisville and our stay at the local Magnuson worked well for us. I was traveling with my daughter and felt very safe and comfortable in the sleepy little town. The hotel is older but was clean and comfortable. The price was fair and it came with a breakfast that was much better than I expected and my daughter loved having waffles and hot coco. The internet signal was good and we liked being along side a lake where it was quite and peaceful. The people who worked there were friendly and genuine and were willing to help us find nearby restaurants that were open. Very good people.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to your car, I'd stay in the front. If you want to see the lake, I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. I'm glad to see your daughter enjoyed her waffles. It was truly "Our Pleasure" to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

In St. Francisville for just a weekend stay and decided on this hotel based on the reviews I had seen on here and other sites. Upon arriving, our check in was very easy and the front desk staff was very nice! Our room was very clean, smelled very nice and it was very comfortable. There is a free breakfast which included eggs, biscuits, grits, waffles, muffins, etc. The price was very affordable and the location is very convenient. We will definitely stay here again if we are in that area again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel met our needs. There are only 2 hotels in this town and one is a Best Western which is very nice but also about $25-$30 more.This hotel was in our price range and satisfied us. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a very friendly staff. The price included a free breakfast that was much better than we expected. There is a large work out facility but we didn't use it. There was a small refrigerator and microwave oven that was a nice plus. The hotel is quite and sits far away from the road and along side a pretty lake. For the price, this hotel was very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night check in was ok staff friendly helpful. got to room 134 and knew from reading previous write ups here all true room reeked of mold! Air conditioner loud, bathroom and sink not so great sink leaked underneath onto carpeting, there was only luke warm water for a shower in the morning,I thought things might be redeemable at the hot breakfast.No way!! at 800am. 3 coffee thermos' empty. orange juice empty. eggs watery and cold no one in sight to address these issues,did find her off in a closet area texting on her phone and was none too happy that i brought these issues to her attention so I skipped breakfast and checked out. I brought all these issues to the attention of the front desk staff(manager) and got a not very concerned reaction. Needless to say wont be here again One other thing walking by the pool i couldn't help but notice that the bottom wasn't visible yuk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. I want you to know I take these reviews very seriously and want to assure you the issues you addressed will be taken care of. I want to apologize if your stay with us was anything but enjoyable. We want our guests to feel like they are home when they stay with us. We did have a minor issue with the boiler which has since been fixed. Also the pool pump had recently gone out and we were waiting for the new one to arrive, which it has and has now been installed. As far as the condition of your room I have spoken to both my Exceutive Housekeeper and my Chief Engineer to address the issues you mentioned and they are being taken care of as well. I have also spoken to the young lady in the breakfast area to make sure things are replenished in a timely manner as to not have to make the guest wait. I hope if you are ever in the area again you will give us the opportunity to host you. It would be "Our Pleasure".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville

Address: 7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, PO Box 440, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Francisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to our Free Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, our guests can now enjoy a complimentary Free Supper, served Monday-Thursday from 5-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Francisville
Best Western Saint Francisville
Saint Francisville Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.