We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon State Historic Site

Audubon State Historic Site
11788 Highway 965, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
225-635-3739
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Lincoln, NE
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Admission price only $4 but free for those over 62!! Lovely house with some of the furishing that actually belonged to the family. A bed that Audubon slept in Origional Audubon prints hanging on the walls. Tours of the house are on the hour and worth the price just to get the educational benifit let alone see how things looked and were done in early plantation times.
Out buildings that our interesting. There are chickens and a couple cows.
Lovely grounds.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
860 reviews 860 reviews
470 attraction reviews
Reviews in 298 cities Reviews in 298 cities
949 helpful votes 949 helpful votes
“You get a lot for the admission price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

There is an interesting museum where you purchase your ticket. Following this you can tour the Oakley home and wander around the rest of the buildings. Audubon only spent 3 or 4 months here tutoring one of the Oakley children but I guess they had to name the park after someone.
Anyway, it's a nice park and worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Event at Chirstmas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is my favorite place to go each December! Their Christmas in the Country candlelight tours are one the highlights of my year! While not one of the more ornate plantations, it's architecture is unique and their special events are wonderful! At Christmastime, candlelight tours, Christmas carols, hearth cooked food, costumed interpretors, period dancing!!! You don't want to miss it!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Full Of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a group of 21 motorcycle riders take a trip to the area for the weekend. Had a fun filled day and loved the Audubon history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Field Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Recently we had a kindergarten group here for a field trip and we had a great time. We had stations for the children to join in, like the kitchen cooking, playing with children's toys, etc. I have also been here and toured the home and walked around the park and had a picnic. We had a great time every time we have been here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon State Historic Site also viewed

 
Saint Francisville, LA
Saint Francisville, LA
 

Been to Audubon State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Audubon State Historic Site to your Saves list