We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Magnificent, Exquisite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butler Greenwood Plantation

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Butler Greenwood Plantation
8345 US Highway 61, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
225 635-6312
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Pinellas Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming, Magnificent, Exquisite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

While passing through Saint Francisville, we decided to stop at this gorgeous plantation. The grounds are just beautiful gardens and trees, especially along with the wisteria. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The splendor of this grand place is up there with the Myrtles. It is also a B&B, that requires one to call ahead for reservations. The oak tree canopies that go from the from drive and to the house are purely majestic and magnificent. The inside tour lasts about fifteen minutes and entirely on the first floor. And it is still a privately own home. This place is worth stop and the time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
211 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“The Butlers did it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Butler Greenwood Plantation in St. Francisville, Louisiana, has been in the hands of the Butler family since it was built in 1810. So it was extremely fascinating that we learned that our tour guide was Ann Butler, an author and historian with family genes. Not surprisingly, Ms. Butler has an extensive and thorough knowledge of Butler Greenwood's history. Located on highway 61, it is easily accessible. The 44 acres of grounds contains the plantation house, a gazebo and a rear brick kitchen. The gardens flanking the house remain one of the few extant examples of antebellum garden design in West Feliciana Parish. As a woman, Ms. Butler is particularly intrigued by the history of the plantation, which provides an excellent illustration of how southern women managed great southern plantations.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic and breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We waited on the porch and were greeted quickly and warmly by Mrs. Butler (we discovered later who she was) and were mesmerized by her on sight. She has the most genuine hospitality in her tine and manner, an impeccable southern Belle. She was gracious and thorough during the tour, pointing out interesting details throughout the house and giving us an appreciation of this early plantation. She invited is to walk the extensive grounds. We decided we will certainly stay on her cabins in our next trip through SF. Overall my favorite tour in SF.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sweetest little tour guide you ever did meet!! Everything in the home is authentic and nothing had been restored or updated!!! Beautiful grounds and the friendliest and helpful staff!!! Will definitely stay in their beautiful bed and breakfast cabins on another trip!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“exquisite greek revival styled architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Beautiful plantation with amazing history. Huge porch with pillars that seem to reach the sky that lead into a warm inviting museum styled home of one of the wealthiest plantation families of the south. It was used in the movie "North and South". The tour guide sat and spoke with us at length as not many visitors that day and made us very comfortable. The lawn is scattered with huge lush trees that give the place an inviting feel. They have weddings at this location and there is a separate area where guests can stay overnight that looks out onto the plantation and grounds. Very lovely, would recommend and visit again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler Greenwood Plantation also viewed

 
Saint Francisville, LA
 

Been to Butler Greenwood Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler Greenwood Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.