We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast

The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast
210 East Alabama Ave, Ruston, LA 71270   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ruston B&B and Inns
Allen, Texas
1 review
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Lewis House came as a recommendation by my brother and his wife who had stayed there a couple of times in the past. They had great things to say about the House so I decided to give it a try. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. Very clean and well kept. The service was great and the Inn Keeper was thoughtful and welcoming. I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Ruston

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are more private and quiet but all rooms are beuatiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away for a part of her Spring Break; I had seen advertisements for the Lewis House so we decided to give it a try. Best decision we could have made. From the first time that I talked to CJ I knew that customer service was her strength and we weren't disappointed. She even called while we were driving in to wish us a safe trip! The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We spent a great deal of time looking at the antiques and decor in other areas of the house as well as the selction of gift items that were available. Breakfast was delicious; it was servesd family style and there was plenty! We were within walking distance of everyhting that we wanted to do in Ruston. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The suite on the first floor has a private bath; good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently returned from a two night stay at the lovely Lewis House, and we plan to go back!
We travel to Ruston about 4-6 each year to visit our daughter who attends LA Tech, and have always stayed at one of the local hotels....which are decent at best, and certainly nothing to write about! Our daughter found out about the Lewis House and suggested we check it out....what a difference! Fortunately there was a "special rate" which made it even more appealing! The home is meticulously clean, and has been renovated beautifully! It is near downtown, but still on a quiet corner. Our room was extremely comfortable, and extras like a small heater in the bathroom and an upright fan in the bedroom allowed us to fine tune the temperature. We felt "at home" with the gracious hostess, who takes a lot of pride in her property. Overall, we highly recommend the Lewis House, and look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: There are two rooms with private baths, and two or three other rooms that share an upstairs bath...w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Ruston at the Lewis House two nights and loved it. We were downstairs in the Professor Suite which was nicely done in hues of blue. We travel often and our love is historic hotels and bed and breakfasts in restored homes. Our suite was roomy with a large bathroom. Bed was comfortable with 2 large nightstands. (You would be surprised how many places have only one! ) Sheets were high quality. Extra supplies were within reach... kleenex, soap, towels, blankets. A large fan was plugged in and ready. Breakfast was great both mornings and C. J. made sure we had an extra pot of coffee. It was nice and cool in the house and for that we were thankful since it was 97* outside! Bring your earplugs because it is close to the train but that did not keep us up. Great find in Ruston. When we come back, I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Be careful when you reserve your room. Two rooms have private baths and two rooms share. The "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Made (and paid for) an online reservation shortly before 5:00 in the afternoon. The next morning, I checked my email. They had sent me a message at 8:00 PM apologizing that "as I was making my reservation", they were in the process of booking the entire house for a wedding party for that night. Right! So you tell me this more than 3 hours later - how interesting - but somehow, not quite believable. And not a phone call or even a text message that I would have gotten immediately. Good thing that I check my email on a regular basis. Perhaps I'm making some wrongful assumptions here, but I'll not bother to call to clarify the matter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Lewis House. The house was very comfortable. We were welcomed with afternoon tea! The room was large and clean. The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast. I will always stay at the Lewis House when I visit Ruston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Last minute arrangements were easily made. Even an additional seat at breakfast for my mother was a "no problem" addition. Thanks CJ. Very well appointed home, personal attention. Appreciate the covered garage space. Easy choice alternative to the impersonal hotels with cold continental breakfasts.

Room Tip: 2 Suite rooms are ensuite bathrooms. 2 others share an upstairs bath. chose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 210 East Alabama Ave, Ruston, LA 71270
Location: United States > Louisiana > Ruston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the Victorian comfort and elegance of The Lewis House built in 1900 located in Historical Downtown Ruston. Newly restored yet original in character and charm, the Lewis House is in the National Register of Historic Places. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to some of Ruston's finest restaurants, Louisiana Tech University, downtown theater, antique shops, art galleries, clothing boutiques, and other historical places. The Lewis House is also not far from Monroe Louisiana and is about an hour drive from Shreveport Louisiana. 10% Discount when you Book Online! Senior Citizen, Tech Alumni, and Corporate Discounts are also available! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list