We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying with Claudette!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raceland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3158 Hwy. 308, Raceland, LA 70394   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Raceland B&B and Inns
Lon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved staying with Claudette!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were on a road trip through the South and didn't want to stay in New Orleans as we were more interested in the Bayou/Cajun culture than the Bourbon St scene so we booked a room at the Chateau on the Bayou the morning before arriving. On the phone, upon hearing what our interests were, Claudette offered us a number of suggestions for sights and tours we should take.

Once we arrived, she told us about an air boat tour that she had just taken (she was upfront with telling us that it had been a complementary ride) and upon hearing that we would be interested in doing it that night, she personally called the tour provider and got them to wait for us while we drove out to catch it! She didn't even make us bother with checking-in so we could get on our way as soon as possible.

The rest of our 2 night stay could be summarized by that act of kindness - we overslept the next morning (my alarm didn't go off!) and ended up arriving to breakfast 50 minutes after we told her that we would be down - she laughed it off, and served us a delicious Cajun-style danish (?), telling us that she'd burnt the first batch anyway. We ended up lingering over breakfast, talking to Claudette and the other guest in the Chateau for a good while, much longer than we had lingered at any other B&B previously or since. The atmosphere is just that casual - you almost feel like it's a sleepover at your best friend's house and their mom is Claudette!

And regarding the rooms - we stayed in Bedroom 1 which has its own private (though not en-suite) bathroom. The shower was, hands down, one of the best I've ever used. It was especially satisfying after the aforementioned air boat tour!

We really loved staying here, despite it being an hour away from any sort of 'flashy' nightlife - we're in our 20s and didn't want for any entertainment in the area. Had a great time and would highly recommend to anyone interested in experiencing the Bayou area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
19
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The house is clean, the breakfast is good, and Ms. Pitre is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

A very hospitable welcome, individual breakfast choices, a lovely relaxing setting and excellent advice and suggestions of places to visit - we could not have asked for more. Claudette is a lovely host and we could not recommend her Bed and Breakfast more highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raceland, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

A group of 6 old high school friends spent an unforgettable night at A Chateau on the Bayou . It could not have been better. We spent the afternoon/evening together in the lovely backyard overlooking the scenic tree lined bayou sipping wine, reminiscing and catching up with each other's lives. We grew up in the area but since have scattered to follow careers and raise families. What a reunion! Claudette, the Chateau's hostess, could not have been more hospitable. The Chateau was perfect to allow us to visit in comfort. We had our morning coffee on the wonderful back porch lined with rocking chairs and then went inside for a delicious breakfast to delight anyone's taste; fresh fruit and yogurt parfait, yummy french toast, sausage, and scones. This turned out to be the best slumber party ever! Thank you, Claudette! We will be back!!
Debbie Z. Toups

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

What a wonderful way to spend out anniversary. Relaxing on the hammock for two, on the bank of bayou LaFouche. Beautiful home, wonderful food at the local restaurants and breakfast made to order. Can't wait to visit A Chateau on the Bayou again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We only had one night to spend in the Bayou and we felt like we really made the right choice!
Miss Claudette was warm and friendly...her rooms are very well appointed and the the location of the house is perfect. A very authentic taste of the area :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We enjoyed our recent getaway to A Château on the Bayou. The accommodations were lovely, our bed was comfortable, everything was very clean and attractively appointed.
We especially enjoyed our hostess, Claudette Pitre, who prepared us a wonderful breakfast both mornings of our visit. A Chateau was a "home away from home." It was located convenient to highways and we were encouraged to explore Cajun Country in south Louisiana. I would recommend the Chateau to anyone wanting to experience southern hospitality and a lovely retreat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3158 Hwy. 308, Raceland, LA 70394
Location: United States > Louisiana > Raceland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Raceland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Cajun Bayouland hospitality in this lovely Cajun country home located on Bayou Lafourche. Come relax on the swings outside, hammock amongst the trees, or comfortable rockers on the back porch facing the bayou. Full breakfast, free wireless internet, flat panel HDTV/DVD player in every room, laundry facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.