We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Sulphur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn
Save
You added Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn to your Saves list
21997 Highway 23, Port Sulphur, LA 70083   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Sulphur B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I think of Woodland as our second home. We live in Baton Rouge, two hours north, and try to go at least once a month. The food and accommodations are as good as you will find in Louisiana and for that matter the world . We have our own boat, but using one of the dozen or so guides who Foster may refer you to, is a can't miss opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. It just depends on your needs and who you are with. As a couple we enjoy the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, La
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Woodland Plantation is situated forty-five minutes south of New Orleans and thirty five minutes north of Venice, La., the southern most point of the state. The home which was built in 1834 by a sugar cane planter has numerous bedrooms, a large parlor and an even larger dinning room. There are verandas on both the front and the back sides of the house and an old church has been converted into a dinning hall.
We were the only guests for two days during the Christmas holidays and were treated to lavish dinners and wonderful country breakfasts. During the day we explored the countryside going to the very end of Louisiana following the Mississippi to the Gulf of Mexico. We identified many different bird species including the shovel head, ibis, tri-colored heron, great snowy egret, coots, gallinules, widgen duck.

Room Tip: Four bedrooms on first floor. Others up very many steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Another niece is getting married and chose Woodland for the ceremony and reception. As a bonus, they had the rehearsal dinner there as well. The food was better than I remember, They set of a small buffet. The green beans were crisp and full of flavor. The Mahi Mahi was cooked to perfection in lemon butter. The beef was sliced from a tenderloin and was so tender it melted in your mouth. Clearly, Foster has a kitchen that knows how to cook excellent meals.

And for you trivia buffs, the plantation was the one shown on the Southern Comfort bottle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a weekend family birthday celebration at Woodlands with 12 guests and just can't say enough good things about Foster and his entire staff. Everyone was so friendly and did everything possible to make guests feel at home. The food is beyond belief and I can assure you there is no meal available in New Orleans that good for any price much less the reasonable charge for dinner and breakfast at Woodlands.

Just a great place to relax and if you want off-site entertainment (fishing, site seeing, etc) Foster knows the best of the best to arrange for you at fair prices. If you have never been in the marshes I highly recommend the Air Boat adventure Foster can arrange.

Room Tip: Talk to Foster ahead of time and tell him what you need as every room has something different to off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were stunned our first year at Woodland Plantation. The amount and quality of food is amazing! The dining room itself is in a renovated old church. The bar is up front and has just about anything you could ask for. You really have to pace your eating because they have huge amounts to eat at every meal. If you are fishing with their guides they will also prepare your sack lunch so you don't have to mess with that. I love staying all night in the old plantation house. There is a very small shared refrigerator in the main house. We like the bedrooms upstairs as they are a little more quiet. The smell of the orange blossoms from the field next door in springtime just add to the ambiance of the overall experience. Sitting on the porches of the big house and sipping cocktails after a long day fishing just feels decadent! I caught a 37 lb redfish with one of their guides. These folks will treat you very well.

Room Tip: top floor is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying here on three different occasions. Foster (the owner) has renovated a number of buildings here for lodging and dining. Each one is fascinating and beautiful with an interesting history. As nice as the lodging is, the hospitality shown by Foster, Heather, Bridget, and the rest of the staff is even better. They treat me like a friend and the meals are positively delicious. I recommend the fish highly (the beef is excellent too, but being from Missouri, I prefer to enjoy the fresh seafood) and the bread pudding is as good as it gets. After enjoying your meal, mosey to the porch of whatever house you are staying in and soak in the evening sights and sounds of the deep delta.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot describe. Like stepping back to 1855 with air conditioning and indoor plumbing. Foster and his staff make your stay comfortable and seamless. We stayed and fished inshore with Stan. Limited out on specks and reds before 10 am two days in a row. Delicious breakfast, bag lunch for the fishing and a 5 course dinner that puts Galatoires to shame. This is our second year to come and won't be our last!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn

Address: 21997 Highway 23, Port Sulphur, LA 70083
Location: United States > Louisiana > Port Sulphur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sulphur
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Woodland Plantation - a Country Hotel Port Sulphur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.