We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place and a great place to base out on your fishing trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Sulphur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn
21997 Highway 23, Port Sulphur, LA 70083   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Sulphur B&B and Inns
bighorn river montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful place and a great place to base out on your fishing trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Woodland Plantation is a gorgeous Plantation. Our room was spectacular. We stayed in the old Plantation home. The staff is INCREDIBLE! LOVED them all. The food was amazing. We stayed for three nights and wished we could of stayed longer. We fly fished out of Venice and Woodland proved to be a great place to base our trip out of. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to Venice la. to go on a tuna fishing trip. I highly recommend woodlands. The food was original and they even cooked our fresh catch for us Foster and his crew ate very friendly and knowledgeable about the are.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Came for a night and stayed a week. The plantation house is great and roomy and the redfishing excellent. This is the place to come. Right on the Mississippi, gators in the ponds. The food is outstanding.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

While I've never stayed there, we routinely have large family occasions in the relocated church that serves as their restaurant and bar. It's a place that we can let the kids run free without having to worry about other patrons. And my niece chose it for her wedding. The food is always good, especially the seafood and the service is always friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our family of four greatly enjoyed the night that we spent at the Woodland Plantation. It is a beautiful old home, surrounded by acres of magnificent Louisiana wildlife. We enjoyed seeing a variety of different birds and even some alligators (from afar). We also enjoyed the history of the plantation. Built in 1834, a picture of this antebellum home has been featured on the Southern Comfort bottle since the 1930's. Our visit to the Woodlands was enhanced by dining at the Spirits Hall, a former church, built circa 1873, which is located on the property. Breakfast at the Spirits Hall was included in our stay, and we also attended a large birthday celebration there. The food that we were served on both occasions was some of the best that I have enjoyed in the New Orleans area

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The house is a wonder and the owner is knowledgeable and very helpful for those looking to explore the area, but we booked a room that promised two beds ("Queen bed and futon") only to be told when we arrived that the futon was broken. We were moved to a room w/ a "working" futon--which (set up) would be fine if you're under four feet tall! Finally we were offered the choice of an "uncomfortable" pull-out bed or a more expensive room. And there were bug problems (ants in the room upstairs & bees downstairs). And, finally, *ask* before dining! If you go to the website you'll see there's no listed price for dinner: we were charged $55.00 per person for our unspectacular meal, and the bottle of wine was marked up by 150%.
It's a good hotel in a very interesting part of the world, but visitors should double-check website information and ask about prices before dining...

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were blessed to spend a few days at Woodland Plantation recently. Foster, the host, is a fount of information, from local history to the gators that lurk in the ponds on the north end of the property. The meals served in the Catholic church that was transported in two halves back in 1999 are scrumptious and the rooms in the plantation are unique and a treat to stay in . Would recommend Woodland Plantation to anyone and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The Grand Salon is the best of the lot we thiink
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn

Address: 21997 Highway 23, Port Sulphur, LA 70083
Location: United States > Louisiana > Port Sulphur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sulphur
Also Known As:
Woodland Plantation - a Country Hotel Port Sulphur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn to your Saves list