We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money - excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here 24/26 May. Very impressed with staff. Had to go to Manchester/Liverpool on
Saturday. Very pleasant receptionist advised on how to get to station, parking, train times etc.
Even printed out information on different stations and platforms for connections. Enjoyed the
breakfast - everything was fresh, porrige good, as was choice of preserves/peanut butter/
nutella. Dominique in the Bar was great on local knowledge - advised where to go and where
to avoid when going out for evening. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like quiet room ask for back of hotel (overlooks car park to hills). Front facing rooms get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Endee26

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your nice comments with Dominique and the team, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    105
    55
    17
    4
See reviews for
67
81
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent service. Great food and beverage manager Dominique really nice member of staff. Quality atmosphere with a good choice of bar food and snacks will definitely be visiting again. Would recommend it to others. Definitely big changes and improvements since the last visit

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gazooooooo

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with Dominique and the team, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I am a member at the feel good gym, since the name change I have nothing but positive things to say, the club is on the up, the staff are very friendly and do there upmost to ensure all members and guests are happy and all needs are met, changing rooms are still out dated but on the whole very clean, and we are in desperate need for a dry spinning machine, my only negative would be there is no family play swim, the gym is getting better still in need of updated equipment but the class timetable is by far the best I've seen anywhere else packed with fun and taught well not keen on the Zumba but that's my personal preference, on the whole michaela and Alex and their team are doing a great job, well done guys keep going! After our gym sessions we use the bar upstairs and the service there is great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Gav_gal

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your nice comments with Michaela and Alex.

Once again many thanks

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just returned from a long weekend near Bolton. Hotel should be good as it's ideally situated, rooms are good and clean,staff are mostly friendly BUT the breakfasts are cold, service slow, we had almost finished our breakfast before getting our tea and coffee. People who ordered from the menu waited 20 minutes for poached eggs. Our package included a 3 course dinner but the waiter said they only had the new menu and we could not possibly get 3 courses without going over the £22 allowed. The 2 courses we did order were bad. the soup we sent back as there was grit in the leeks, the spicy coleslaw was vile and the salmon which was hot was placed on top of the salad resulting in luke warm mush. This restaurant needs a new chef and some inspiration. We have visited 6 Mercure hotels for these short breaks and this was the worst by a long mile. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Susan

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations more so on the food and beverage element of your stay as this is something we are normally very good at. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I will share your comments with the Chef and the team with a view it drives them back to producing their normal high level of service.

Once again please accept my appologies and thanks

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dean UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nice location with good views from many rooms. Staff mostly on the ball, sadly some not so. Rooms clean and quiet. Bar expensive, lift jerky. When we stayed heating was off, like British Rail only on in winter what ever real temp is !!

Room Tip: Top Floor is away from people above, well hopefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear PeterEastDean

Many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team.
I did note you comment about the lift, these have only just been serviced but following you feedback I will be calling them back.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teramo, Italy
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We usually stay in the Marriott Worsley when visiting family, but this time the rates were much more expensive than normal so I looked elsewhere.

Whilst this isn't nearly as good a hotel it is still very good and excellent value. When visiting family we barely use the hotel anyway so are likely to use it again.

The hotel itself is old, I believe it's changed hands many times before joining the Mercure group and you can see that in the décor and fittings. However it is spacious, clean, has everything you need and the service is excellent. Just a stone's throw form the motorway and safe parking.

Breakfast is good, and especially the service, they have a lovely team working at this time. Service at reception was also great and very efficient.

It was very busy when we there mostly business users, and some meetings. We didn't use the restaurant other than breakfast or the bar.

I only had two small complaints. Our room had a Nespresso machine but the pods weren't Nespresso! And the window had curtains that didn't block the light. Though they had black out linings they didn't work as they were fitted so proud of the window. The halo of light woke me early in the morning.

Good overall though, I'd stay again and just bring eye pads.

At £81 and £71 on a Wed/Thu including breakfast for two (pre booked and paid) it was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear gillandderek44

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your nice comments with the team, I have to say I found your review one on the most balanced I have read that trully reflects what we are.
(maybe you have a calling in doing hotel reviews)?

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future when you are next visiting the family

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very friendly staff, Dominique on the bar is very knowledgeable of her trade. Debbie (Ops manager) very quickly resolved any issues, which were few.Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. p.s nice chunky chips

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Paul

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with Dominique and the team, I was pleased to read you enjoyed the Chunky Chips and I will pass that back to the Chef.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.