We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Amersham
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a good business hotel to stay in if you are traveling in the NW. Clean and well kept with a good breakfast buffet.

Don't be fooled by the "Georgian" title most of the accommodation is in modern, lodge style blocks. A conference venue not a wedding venue really.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear hazy_amersham

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    105
    55
    17
    4
See reviews for
67
81
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good-
Excellent value for money (£50 each for one night including an evening meal, breakfast and full access to the gym and spa facilities).
Spacious and modern room with a bath/shower and television.
The food in the restaurant was lovely and the choice at breakfast was great!
All of the staff were all lovely and polite.

Bad-
The Jacuzzi wasn't working properly and would only switch on in small intervals.
The door of the sauna in the female changing rooms wouldn't close properly so all the heat was being let out which was a shame.
When you book it says in the description that you get a 3 course d'hote dinner but doesn't explain that the choices are very limited. The menu you choose from only includes two different starters, two mains and two desserts. We didn't like either of the mains (tuna steak and chicken diane) so the other option was to choose a meal from the main menu up to the value of £22.00 each. If you go over £22.00 you will pay the extra before you leave at checkout. We didn't mind doing this but if you were looking forward to a 3 course meal then you would be quite disappointed. For our £22.00 each, we ended up getting a starter and main each. Both courses were lovely and the portions were huge! The only recommendation we have would be to add a couple of extra choices to the menu for guest who are staying under a package deal at the hotel.

Apart from this, we can't complain because for the £50.00 each it is excellent value for money! If we ever fancy a little break away again, we will definitely consider coming back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Graham H
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback both good and bad with a view it aids us to constantly move forward
As you read this response I can assure you a burley maintenance man is on his way down to the Leisure club to correct those defects, especially the Jacuzzi as we have just upgraded the pump that powers the jets, thank you for the heads up.
We look forward to welcoming you back and I am sure your next visit will be as pleasurable as the last
Thank you once again
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed now twice at this hotel and very satisfied. The staff are brilliant; very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are of good size and extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and so had a good nights sleep after a long drive and a day at work.
First night i dined out, but had the breakfast which was very good with a selection of basically everything available. I'm staying at the hotel for the second time in two weeks whilst I write this review, and this time the room is enormous and extremely clean and comfortable, with the staff again very friendly and helpful.
Will definitely be coming back when next in the area.

Room Tip: Room 448 is enormous and has great views overlooking the Lancashire moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Berry

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

It is always great to receive positive feedback especially reviews such as this one that highlight the endeavours of our team to deliver superb service.
I have asked my reception team to place a note on your profile asking were possible you be given room 448 on your return

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We got married 22nd June of this year. To the run up to the wedding the staff especially Sue Thornley was really helpfully. On the day of the wedding Carl was managing are day he did an excellent job he made everything run so smooth he made us feel special. are wedding breakfast was first class the bedroom was very comfortable and loads of room. I would recommend to anyone who is wanting to get married in the hotel as you won,t be disappointed. We would like to thank all the staff for all they hard work especially Sue and Carl who made are day memorable.
Thank from Mr and Mrs Armstrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Armstrong

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

It is always great to receive such a positive review, but reviews such as this one that highlights the endeavours of our team to deliver superb service really are special, I will be sure to recognise Sue and Carl for your special mention.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back for you one year anniversary

Kind Regards

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here in early October due to a book out from De Vere Whites down the road.
A basic hotel with decent amenities although does look to offer value with inclusions such as complimentary wifi and use of leisure facilities. on-site.
Evening meal was surprisingly good considering the 3* rating of the hotel. Staff were pleasant although sometimes missing in action from the reception area and restaurant. Breakfast did not reach the same standards as the evening meal in terms of quality or choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mysuitcase

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward

I was please to read your positive feedback but I was suprised to read you comments on Breakfast, I will follow up on this with the Chef as the breakfast offering here is vast and normally of a very high standard

Thank you once again, yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in October. The hotel is well located for most Lancashire towns also Blackpool, Manchester and Liverpool.

Close to the Reebok Stadium with shopping outlets, restaurants and fuel.

The hotel is a good standard with plenty of parking but a little remote. There are 2 real ale pubs within 10 minutes walking distance both do food.

The hotel rooms are well appionted with tea making facilities and tv although our tv had a poor picture quality.

If you get a rear view room you get to look over Rivington Pike aerial and the pennines it sits on assuming your window isn't covered in condensation like ours!

The breakfast buffet is very nice but the breakfast room was absolutely baking hot and airless. On both mornings the fruit juice jugs were empty where they had not been kept topped up. Amazingly the toaster actually toasts the bread turning it completly from white to golden toast.

Like any hotel the bar prices are steep and there is no real ale so better to do your drinking in the local pubs.

Would consider going back as it is located close to where relatives live.

Room Tip: Get a rear room for a good view but check the windows are not covered in condensation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Alan

Thank you for rating us on Trip advisor, I have responded to you already through our online survey but felt it prudent to respond again in case you have missed it.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we will be taking the appropriate measures to address the window you highlighted, a number of these have been replaced already and following your feedback maybe another wave is due.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel and provide you with a genuine enjoyable experience.

Yours sincerely,


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had been booked at the Mercure Last Drop, however on Arrival they had overbooked themselves and after a bit of negotiation we were relocated to here. Whilst not the swankiest rooms in the world we had a great stay. Extra special praise should go the lady (duty manager?) on duty that night who provided truly exceptional customer service. Nothing was too much trouble as she sorted out our party of 8, gave us a private room to eat in, and even decorated it herself for us. She totally rescued the day! The food was much better than expected, and beds comfortable.
It was Saturday 12th October we stayed - management please take note - you have a star employee here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Roceva

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

It is always great to receive positive feedback, but reviews such as this one that highlight the endeavours of our team to deliver superb service really are special, I will be sure to recognise Louise for your special mention and I am aware we have a star in the making.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.