We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food stood out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food stood out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just loved the food here and the service from the staff. Mention to Ashley in the bar / restaurant for being ace. The rooms aren't as lush as I expected for that grade of hotel, but there's no knocking the facilities with an onsite gym and ample parking. Bar is a bit pricey but to be expected for this grade of hotel, but it's in Bolton which in itself is the end of the earth so they could do something I'm sure. It's a bit off the beaten track I thought but still handy enough. Would I go again? Yes

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear popstar1701

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback about our Hotel.

I have of course shared your feedback with the team, in particular Ashley Holden, whom I know will be delighted to read your recognition of him.

I do hope to see you again soon,

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    105
    55
    17
    4
See reviews for
67
81
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were fantastic, they were during the stay,. When we required a taxi they ordered one and then continued to chase it up until it arrived.
On return to the hotel that evening we were very disappointed with the evening bar staff as 1 of them had his back to the room and continued talking to a group of men totally oblivious to the rest of the bar, the other waiter was talking to the receptionist again totally oblivious to the people in the bar. We waited for 10 minutes and eventually left.

The room was acceptable apart from the dirty stains around the toilet on the floor. There was only 1 set of towels out and on looking for them we found them wrapped up in a polythene bag in the wardrobe.The bed was disgraceful you could feel the springs all night to the extent I woke up with a mark on my leg from the springs, on talking to friends that where also staying there the bed they had was the same.

When we went for breakfast no one was there to greet us and take our payment chit off us. There was no fresh fruit on arrival it finally was replenished when we had finished our breakfast. They ran out of bacon and sausages so we had to wait again for them to be replenished by the time the sausage came my husband had finished his breakfast.

We complained to the duty manager about all the above and he was extermely apologetic, he did reimburse our breakfast cost and said he would follow the other complaints up and get back to us , so hopefully they will.
The hotel was quiet and what breakfast we had was good but they definitely need to look at the other comments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear suep,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am obviously disappointing with your feedback, and have discussed the shortcomings in service with our Management Team, to which we will see improvement.

I will personally investigate your comments regarding the bed, we are in the process of renewing our Bed Stock, and I will ensure the room your stayed in will be done as a matter of urgency.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any other comments.


Kindest Regards



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reading some reviews we were worried about staying on a Saturday night in case of noise from functions but we had a room on the top floor at the end of a corridor so we didn't hear a thing all night.
Check in was friendly and efficient and the layout of the hotel was explained to us, our room was nice with a king size bed and the only issue was the lack of bed side cabinets on either side ! We asked for more coffee and sugar and they were delivered within 10 minutes .
The swimming pool looked inviting but we didn't have time , if we were in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear AJPNJ,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review, it is great to see regular guests who keep returning really appreciating the hard work we do.

I will of course share your comments with the Team who will be really pleased with your comments.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stay at the Georgian House through work, and I can thoroughly recommend it. It is eay to find, motorway access is easy too. The Staff are freindly & helpful, the rooms comfortable & the food is good value & tasty.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for one of the "Executive" or "Double" Rooms - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review, it is great to see regular guests who keep returning really appreciating the hard work we do.

I will of course share your comments with the Team who will be really pleased with your comments.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel on the 15th - 17th Feb. We had a 'superior double room', which included free movies and internet. We loved our stay, the room was quite big, very comfortable king sized bed, tea and coffee facilities and a bath. It is worth paying the extra money for the free films as there is a great selection of choice, you can watch films that are still at the cinema (the hobbit, argo).
We didn’t eat at the hotel so can’t comment on the food, but I didn’t see complaints from other guests.
The hotel also has a swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and a gym. The pool is warm and wasn’t busy, it’s worth going for a swim if you have the time. For an extra cost we also had a massage by a lady called Karen, it’s not too expensive and defiantly worth the money.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade (£15 extra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Stephanie198,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, we share all our customer comments with the team and I am sure they will welcome your kind words as much as I did.
We sincerely hope it won’t be to long before seeing you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was easy to find, and plenty of parking at the rear. Reception was large and bright and check in was dealt with quickly, and staff helpful. Room was large and bright, with tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom was a good size, only fault was the shower which was not very powerful.. Evening meal taken both nights, excellent varied menu, service was attentive, and the food was excellent quality. Breakfast was buffet style, full English, variety of fresh fruit and cereals. To sum up, a lovely hotel where we enjoyed 2 nights, the staff were friendly and helpful(especially so the restaurant staff) and we would definitely stay again. We were aware of some complaints in the restaurant on the second night but to be honest we could not understand where they were coming from as it was a relaxed atmosphere where staff did not rush you and food could be enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Peter F.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.

It is always a pleasure for me and the team to receive such great feedback, I'm sure they will be equally delighted.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.