We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 New Iberia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 New Iberia to your Saves list
Super 8 New Iberia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2714 Highway 14, New Iberia, LA 70560   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in New Iberia
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Other than being very small, the desk was at the end of the bed and every time my husband wanted through to the rest room I had to get up and move, the room was OK, what wasn't OK was a $25 pet fee that caused the room to be over $101 FOR 1 night, most places charge $10 which is reasonable. Another thing we didn't like was that the same switch turned on the light in the vanity area and the restroom and the exhaust fan, this meant if you used the restroom at night the vanity light came on and woke the other person and if you used the vanity area, you had to listen to the exhaust fan which was very load. My first and last stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NewIberia, Manager at Super 8 New Iberia, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 337-364-3030. Sincerely, Ann Haynes, General Manager Super8 of New Iberia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
13
13
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We did the work for you. As It was 4:00 and we had the time to investigate the cluster of hotels at the LA 14 and the Hwy that goes to Avery Island, we spent a lot of time looking at all, well most, of the hotels at the cluster of accomodations here.

We are now happily in a great room with very good features, totally pleased with the situation.

The real news is that one of the large TV was inop, and I could care less about it, but we had an 10 yo that felt he needed it for games -- I know don't blame me.

Any way the news is is that his mom called the Front desk and complained--- jeez before we knew it a very nice man was there to pick up the shot TV and - for real - inside of ten minutes, a new huge TV was put into the room and the maintainance guy was as nice as he could be, set the stupid thing up perfectly and all was well.

The rest of the night we spent playing Spades in the large (much lbigger then the other more expensive rooms around this hotel) and had a very nice time here.

I recommended TA folks giving this hotel serious consideration for value and service.

tom007

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NewIberia, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Iberia, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We are very happy to have made your stay with us a great one. We hope that you stay with us again when your in the area and thank you for choosing Super 8 of New Iberia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

My credentials: 3 bachelor degrees in business and a Master of Science in Hotel and Tourism Management from the University of New Orleans.

Dear General Manager (Ms. Anne):
This posting could have been avoided were you a good manager.

I was a walk in on a Saturday night. The young lady at the desk during my checkin has many qualities left to be desired. She "hates housekeeping". Uses politically incorrect language that could be considered offensive and was taken as such.
Here we go:
Housekeeping left trash cans from the hotel rooms in the public areas filled with trash.
Every cord was unplugged in my room.
The internet did not work as advertised.
Stains all over the carpet and bedspread.
Please put dressings on bed as follows: sheet, sheet, blanket, comforter and not sheet, blanket, sheet, because no one wants to put a unwashed blanket against their skin. I had to dress two beds.
Hairs on the sink, toilet, and bathtub.
TV was fuzzy on half the channels.

Checkout: 25 dollar extra charge added for a pet charge. I was not asked if I had a pet at check in. I was told housekeeping put the charge on the bill, they denied it and blamed it on the check in lady. The check out clerk was not empowered by Anne ( the general manager) to change a charge on a guest account. (Ritz Carlton empowers their employees with 2500 dollars per customer to ensure their happiness). Empowerment of employees is a standard practice in the hospitality world. I was told the charge would be removed when the general manager came in and my guest account sheet was signed as such by the desk clerk and housekeeping manager. I was also told Anne, the general manager would call me.

Monday morning I had two charges on my account: One for 75 dollars and another for 100 dollars. I called Anne to find out what was going on, but she hung up on me stating "There is a pet fee and the sign is posted". Did she know I had driven for twelve hours and couldnt hardly stand up when I checked in, must lest look for signs in Arial 12 font? I wanted to address the charges on my account ,but she rudely hung up on me. I called back and asked for the Haines franchise 1800 number and was told I could call, but Anne is the daughter of the owner and it would do no good.

I spoke to someone at Haines corporate who was empathetic to my grievances. She said she would straighten things out. I only wanted the pet charge removed. Said she would call back. She did'nt.

I had to dispute the charges with my bank.which was on listed on my debit card. They could have overdrawn my account taking two authorizations I never signed off on the mastercard slip, because I was not satisfied with my nights stay or the total bill amount.

I called corporate Best Western and reported my grievance to their customer service department. I am not sure what they did on there end, but I did tell them I would be posting on Trip Advisor.

So, Ms. Anne. Moral of the story. One customer can make a difference, so dont hang up on them. Listen to their story and do what you can to ensure they are happy. "The customer is alway right".....

I would advise against staying at this hotel. Use the one accross the street.

Warmest Regards,
An unhappy customer with a Master in Hotel and Tourism Management from an accredited university.

  • Liked — That I only had to stay there one night.
  • Disliked — Ms. Anne the General Manager whom I never met but rudely hung up on me.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NewIberia, Manager at Super 8 New Iberia, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review. We now have a new general manager who is very experienced in hospitality and would love to have you back at our hotel to give us another try. Since you last stayed not only have we gotten a new general manager, but we also changed brands to a super 8. We are also in the process of many improvements. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly to speak to our new manager next time you are in the area, her name is Pam Blanchard. Thank you and we hope that you give us another try.


Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We just spent 10 long days in the Best Western in New Iberia with a 10 under baseball team that played a world series tournament in Abbeville, LA. Unfortunately this was our best option within a 30 mile radius of the ball field and it was nothing more than a truck stop. The front desk people were less than accommodating and we are nothing more than an inconvenience to their day. Over the 10 day period we were never made to feel "the customer is always right" rather we had no idea what was going on and they had no intention of pleasing us. The breakfast duo were nothing more than nazis of the breakfast food who routinely closed the doors at 8:55 am and refused to restock items that were out as the food ration had been served for the day. The rooms were damp and musty although the suites were large and accommodating. The saving grace of the trip were the housekeeping staff who kept our rooms clean and stocked with fresh linens and towels. Another bonus were the roaches and ants that made their way into some rooms. Can't say I will ever have a return trip.

  • Liked — Angela the housekeeper
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We stayed here on the last leg of our Louisiana vacation, not looking for an expensive hotel but a comfortable night's sleep for our family of four. Our older children, ages 19 and 22 were very comfortable in the suite. We have stayed at similar properties before while on the road so we knew what we were reserving when we chose this hotel.

The suites are located towards the back of the property, away from the road (and traffic noise). They are newer and well maintained. There is a nice pool on the premises and the breakfast actually has protein foods like EGGS! It is a better breakfast than usual in this price range- the folks in New Iberia take pride in their businesses. This is a good launching point for visiting Shadows on the Teche plantation home and Avery Island, home of the Tabasco Sauce factory and bird sanctuary. If you want to see alligators, take this little side tour.

  • Liked — Convenience and Breakfast
  • Disliked — Front of the property
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

Rude, unfriendly staff, stood at the counter while hotel clerk was clicking away on the keyboard, dind't even acknowledge me or anyone else, no smiles.

Checked into the room, which smelled funny, stunk of mold and ammonia. The AC unit was clearly filthy inside. Shower dripped/ran non stop, beds were terrible, toilet had a chain that was too long and got caught under the flapper, causing it to run. I wouldn't pay 50 bucks to stay here.

Unacceptable. Sleep in the rental car. Its cleaner.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

My kids and I along with other family members stayed at this hotel in March of 2004. The hotel is terrible. It smelled and the ac didn't work. The front desk and manager were of no help. There a much nicer suite hotel maybe 2 blks. from this one. We should have stayed there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 New Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Iberia

Address: 2714 Highway 14, New Iberia, LA 70560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in New Iberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Iberia 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An indoor / outdoor access property located off Hwy. 90 on Hwy. 14. Comfortable spacious rooms, large vehicle spaces, outdoor pool with kid's pool. Great for family reunions and corporate guests. Great restaurant next door. Local cajun cuisine is fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 New Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Iberia Best Western
Best Western New Iberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 New Iberia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.