We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a treasure among natives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victor's Cafeteria

Victor's Cafeteria
109 W Main St, New Iberia, LA 70560-3732
337-369-9924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in New Iberia
Restaurant details
New Iberia, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“this is a treasure among natives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

i love love looove breakfast here!!! the atmosphere is wonderful, staff are all very friendly and you'll always feel right at home! open for breakfast at 6 and also open for lunch with daily specials. located in historic downtown new iberia, right on main street. definite breakfast stop!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baton rouge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home Style Cooking and great low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Breakfast and Lunch Only
Home Cooking, Excellent Gumbo open seven days. big breakfst crowds Coffee and local people

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“You gotta love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a great breakfast here with some fun employee's who give the place a special feel. It's standard breakfast food done cafeteria style. Great location, great old building, fun stuff inside, and a staff with a great sense of humor. Great down home cooking! No wonder Dave and Cleate eat there!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“OMG the GUMBO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the food the Cajuns are referring to when they claim bragging rights. This "cafeteria" was made famous in the Detective Dave Robicheaux novels by local writer Jamie Lee Burke. They serve breakfast and lunch only but it's one of the three most memorable meals we've had in two months on the road. I choose Fried Chicken, Okra, green beans and beets that were so good --but hubby had Chicken and Sausage Gumbo that was mindbending! It makes gumbo in other places seem like dishwater in comparison. The selection of desserts made it hard to choose between Coconut Cream Pie and six others but the Pecan Pie was perfect. Not sickeningly sweet like most places but full of crunch pecans on a custard base with an almost savory crust. I took a piece of chicken home and it was still moist and crunchy with the skin on but not greasy. If I lived here, I, like Detective Robicheaux would eat here every day. Price tag. $17.00 for two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food! Service was cheerful and helpful.
Husband got a seafood bisque that was spiced perfectly for us Cajuns! I decided to get the vegetable medley plate. Blackeyed peas, green beans and squash casserole. Yum! I need to find the recipe. We loved our lunch here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Victor's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor's Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.